We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Haven”
Review of Streamcombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streamcombe Farm
Ranked #4 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil Haven”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our stay at Streamcombe was perhaps longer than is typical as I was involved with a building project near-by. It was lovely to know that, whatever problems I would have to deal with during the day, I was going to return to this Tranquil Haven in the evening. Karen and Ian always greeted us with a smile and words of encouragement were forthcoming when needed (they too have experience of renovation work). Our stay stretched over two weeks and in that time our party stayed in all three of the lovely rooms, all were beautifully clean and attended daily. Breakfast were comprehensive, generous and the perfect start to our day but the evening meals were the highlight of our stay. Having wonderful seasonal ingredients cooked (on some evenings) just for us was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenovatorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a lovely anniversary weekend stay at Streamcombe farm thanks to Karen and Ian. Ian's baking and desserts course was brilliant, got some amazing top tips and managed to make an unbelievable amount of treats. Ian takes care of all the oven timings etc so it's completely stress free fun cooking.
Ian cooked us a delicious dinner that night and likewise gourmet breakfast after a very peaceful night in the hay loft.
The farmhouse is impeccably done and I loved the local Exmoor china!

We can't wait to go back and have highly recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The breadmaking course we attended was excellent. It was suitable for all levels of experience and very enjoyable. The room was very comfortable & we enjoyed both our evening meal and breakfast. I would highly recommend Streamcombe Farm.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa Gallura, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We Stayed at Sreamcombe farm as a last minute Birthday getaway. We stayed in the gorgeous Shepherds Hut which was set in it's own paddock with a fire pit, BBQ and picnic table set next to the little river.
The hut was beautifully decorated, cosy and with lovely attention to detail whilst still keeping it's original feel.
Karen and Ian were fabulous hosts, kind, generous and attentive when needed.
We enjoyed a stunning meal produced by Ian in their guest conservatory which was as good as an good gastro Pub / restaurant. Our Gluten and dairy intolerances were effortlessly catered for too.
We would definitely return, in fact it was so lovely we stayed an extra night!

Room Tip: The Shepherds hut was divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maidment79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Streathcombe Farm for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Ian and Karen were delightful hosts and breakfast, cooked by Ian, was delicious. Our room was not the biggest but it was comfortable and extremely clean, the bath was the longest ever! When we arrived we were offered tea/coffee and cake, unfortunately there was no decaf tea on offer, but our hosts were extremely accommodating and it was available for breakfast!!

I have no criticisms but one or two observations that may help future visitors: we stayed in the downstairs room and found that we could hear everything from the room above. It didn't bother us, it wasn't noisy but could have been slightly embarrassing if the other guests had realised. It would have been nice to have a little snack in the room to eat after a day out, a biscuit perhaps.

Would we stay here again, if we were in the area, yes we would, no hesitation. It is a little off the beaten track, but we like that. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was delightful. Breakfasts and dinner in the conservatory were delicious - and we couldn't have asked for a more lovely setting, looking out over sunny farmland and watching the guinea fowl scrabble around while we dined. Our bedroom & bathroom (we were in the Stable) were comfortable and nicely appointed, and Karen & Ian were perfect hosts. Phone reception is patchy as it's so lovely and secluded, and this added to a feeling of properly getting away. There are lovely walks all around - leaflets with suggestions in the lounge so you don't need to plan ahead. We are trying to work out when we can get away to come again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stable which can be made up as a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirdavidattenborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our second time at Streamcombe. Spent three nights and as before our stay was a very pleasurable one. Ian and Karen always make you feel so welcome, offering refreshments upon arrival. We stayed in the Hayloft room which feels very luxurious with a comfortable bed, sofa, changing area, small outside space, but best of all was a huge roll top bath you'll want to soak in for hours! However all the rooms are beautifully decorated with expensive finishes. B'fast was relaxing and filling! You have to experience Ian's cooking one evening, just read all the other reviews if you need convincing. We look forward to returning again this year for another relaxing visit. Thank you Ian&Karen we wish you every success in the future keep up the good work x

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful but worth paying extra for The Hayloft as its larger with a roll top bath plus b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalisburyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
19.3 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
560 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
912 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
167 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
149 reviews
4.4 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#12 of 17 in Dulverton
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streamcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streamcombe Farm

Property: Streamcombe Farm
Address: Streamcombe Farm Streamcombe Lane, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural, romantic hideaway offering beautiful, contemporary accommodation within a converted stone barn, full of character and charm. An evening dinner menu is available on most days and cookery classes run weekly. A footpath leads from the garden to Dulverton, 2 miles, and the immediate, wild environment offers frequent sightings of wild Red Deer, buzzards and woodpeckers. A very unique and special place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Streamcombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streamcombe Farm Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing