We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most luxurious B&B eating experience...EVER!”
Review of Streamcombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streamcombe Farm
Ranked #5 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 1 glorious night at Streamcombe Farm. We were the only guests, so it felt all the more special to have such delicious food prepared just for us. We stayed in the Hayloft which was very comfortable and clean, and took advantage of the lovely claw foot tub. Upon arrival Karen brought tea and (homemade of course) lemon cake to our room, and later that evening Ian cooked us an exquisite dinner. We slept very well - it was quiet, the bed was very comfortable and the linens were plush! I cannot recommend Streamcombe highly enough, and we certainly can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizah108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stremcombe Farm had been recommended to us, and we were glad it had. Along a quiet, narrow drive we finally arrive to be met with a cake fresh from the oven, good, strong coffee and a room upstairs tastefully presented and very comfortable. We had booked in for dinner that first evening. A small but enticing menu that is worthy of bringing your best wine to the table. Our host had been the senior tasting and testing chef for a major food company. He also runs cooking classes at Streamcombe Farm, and is a cheese judge. On our first night there, we were the only guests, and we felt very special and spoilt. It was as if we had our own personal chef. We booked for dinner the following night too. We were joined by two other couples then, one coming from Wales a couple of times each year to sample healthy local walks and excellent food. The use of local produce from the farm, the attention to detail with both accommodation and food, was impressive. We simply had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here in June for 6 nights. Karen and Ian are perfect hosts and Ian is a superb chef. We stayed in the downstairs room which has it's own entrance when not in use as a twin. We had it as a twin which does make the room smaller but that is not a problem. It was spotlessly clean and very nicely presented. The bathroom is lovely and very modern but could do with a more powerful fan. The dining room is fabulous and the perfect setting in which to enjoy Ian's first class breakfast/dinner. The setting for Streamcombe is very rural and surrounded by peace and quiet. It is an ideal place to chill out and enjoy the beautiful countryside and first class hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AME47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Cosy, welcoming and super relaxing...we just wish we could have stayed longer.
No wifi or mobile signal makes this off the beaten track B&B a truly superb break from the daily grind. We arrived ahead of our cookery course on the Friday evening after a long week at work, it didn't take long for us to relax.

The guest accommodation is elegant, comfortable and charming with a lot of attention to detail. Lashings of hot water, luxurious Turkish bed linen on a firm and very comfortable bed and glorious peace and quiet, combined with beautiful food, expertly cooked and served by Ian and Karen - it really feels like nothing is too much trouble.

The cookery course (Game this time) we find extremely relaxing as well as enjoyable and informative, Ian manages to cater for all levels of expertise. When we left on Saturday evening it felt like we had stayed for a long weekend - so chilled

Thank you Ian and Karen, we will see you in February for a fish course

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_warw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our stay at Streamcombe was perhaps longer than is typical as I was involved with a building project near-by. It was lovely to know that, whatever problems I would have to deal with during the day, I was going to return to this Tranquil Haven in the evening. Karen and Ian always greeted us with a smile and words of encouragement were forthcoming when needed (they too have experience of renovation work). Our stay stretched over two weeks and in that time our party stayed in all three of the lovely rooms, all were beautifully clean and attended daily. Breakfast were comprehensive, generous and the perfect start to our day but the evening meals were the highlight of our stay. Having wonderful seasonal ingredients cooked (on some evenings) just for us was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenovatorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a lovely anniversary weekend stay at Streamcombe farm thanks to Karen and Ian. Ian's baking and desserts course was brilliant, got some amazing top tips and managed to make an unbelievable amount of treats. Ian takes care of all the oven timings etc so it's completely stress free fun cooking.
Ian cooked us a delicious dinner that night and likewise gourmet breakfast after a very peaceful night in the hay loft.
The farmhouse is impeccably done and I loved the local Exmoor china!

We can't wait to go back and have highly recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The breadmaking course we attended was excellent. It was suitable for all levels of experience and very enjoyable. The room was very comfortable & we enjoyed both our evening meal and breakfast. I would highly recommend Streamcombe Farm.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dulverton hotels
4.0 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
189 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Witheridge Farm
Witheridge Farm
#2 of 5 in Dulverton
11 reviews
5.5 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#9 of 17 in Dulverton
5 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Wimbleball Holidays
#5 of 5 in Dulverton
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streamcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streamcombe Farm

Address: Streamcombe Farm Streamcombe Lane, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural, romantic hideaway offering beautiful, contemporary accommodation within a converted stone barn, full of character and charm. An evening dinner menu is available on most days and cookery classes run weekly. A footpath leads from the garden to Dulverton, 2 miles, and the immediate, wild environment offers frequent sightings of wild Red Deer, buzzards and woodpeckers. A very unique and special place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Streamcombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streamcombe Farm Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing