We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gourmet B&B to put others to shame!”
Review of Streamcombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streamcombe Farm
Ranked #5 of 17 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here over a weekend whilst we explored Exmoor and the surrounding coastline. We stayed in the Shepherds Hut which was a fantastic experience. It is a lovingly restored original hut which has all the creature comforts. It was super clean, as was the wet room in the stable, which further added to the experience. Karen and Ian were always on hand to make sure we were comfortable and having our fresh breakfast hamper delivered to our door both mornings was a real treat. We had dinner on the Saturday night which really was delicious and it was lovely to only have to stumble down the drive to our hut! We felt very well looked after the whole weekend and would highly recommend this unique B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottC449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We held a party at Streamcombe. We booked the B&B accommodation, hired the lovely old and sensitively restored barn and arranged for guests to camp if they wished. Karen and Ian Jarmarkier, the owners, as well as being wonderful hosts , were enormously helpful in making the necessary arrangements and produced a fantastic barbeque with lovely salads as well as a delicious communal breakfast next morning for those who stayed. Guests in the B&B rooms and shepherd's hut enjoyed their stay as did the campers. Everyone who came commented on the beauty of the surroundings, the unspoilt meadows and other wildlife and the relaxed atmosphere. I would not hesitate to recommend Streamcombe. They also do cooking courses - having been on one earlier in the year I would thoroughly recommend them too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a lovely time we had this weekend at Streamcombe Farm. My brother in law had his 50th birthday party there and it was perfect for the 120 or so people who came to celebrate with him. We booked all the B & B rooms and quite a few people put up tents and camped all over the generous grounds. My husband and I stayed in the little Gypsy Caravan, and we both thought that it was wonderful. The bedding was very high quality and the room quaint....it's an original caravan decorated in the traditional fashion. No electricity, so if you want light, it comes by way of a candle in a lamp, and your coffee or tea from the pot belly wood burner.

We had plenty of room to mill around in, a barn, an enclosure next to the rooms, a marquee and lots of lovely tables and seating solutions - bales of hay with home spun quilts to sit on - scattered around everywhere.

They did us a barbeque with sausages and burgers with top end restaurant sides to go with it (the home made mayo and relishes were very tasty!) The next morning we all tromped back in to the barn for a 30 person sit down to coffee, tea, juices, croissants, pan au chocolate, and then the best bacon sandwiches ever. Sausage sandwiches were on offer as well, I just didn't have room! All the meats came from a local farm and we all commented on the quality of the food.

I've come away with amazing photo's of the gorgeous grounds, the barnyard guinea fowl, the roosters and chickens...a shy cat...and four of the 60 deer that roam the hills right beside the farm! I got a few pictures of rare orchids on the hillside across from the stream as well...quite chuffed about that!

It was a lovely time and the family who run it are unflappable professionals who deserve applause for the environment they've created. It was lovely! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Tip...book it! The mattress in the caravan is quite firm, so if you need soft, maybe not. But it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you like peaceful surroundings, friendly and welcoming owners, who immediately look after you with a tea or coffee, and a taste of things to come with homemade cake or biscuits, on arrival, clean and well furnished bedrooms with great powerful showers, or for a treat, a free standing deep luxurious bath in the hayloft room, the best cooked food at very reasonable prices, and locally sourced, in an intimate space shared with other guests. A space where you can stop the world and get off, look no further than this pretty little bed and breakfast in Exmoor. No need to look anywhere else!

Room Tip: The Hayloft is a split room and has a balcony to sit out on and is the only room with a bath. The Va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It's in a beautiful & quiet location.
The room was perfect & spotlessly clean and the meals were brilliant. Only 5 people there the night I stayed, and the chef/owner Ian offered three courses for the evening meal, with a choice of 2 for each of the courses - excellent.
Will go back again when I get the chance.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank GretschPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our stay at Streamcombe Farm was organised by my partner as a Xmas present and he has picked up some serious brownie points in the doing. Having lived in Devon for 20 years, but having little experience of Exmoor I can't believe I haven't seen more of the area until now. Streamcombe Farm is a beautiful B&B located just outside the very pretty town of Dulverton. The location is serious idyllic Devon stuff. Ian and Karen were the perfect hosts/hostesses with the 'right' amount of attention given to us as guests. We arrived to a fire in the woodburning stove in the guest lounge area where we sat and read for two hours with tea and homemade meringue and almond biscuits. My gluten-free diet was catered for beautifully. We were the only guests and received Ian's private chef treatment on the Friday evening - the meal was the best I have had in any restaurant in a long time, with a focus on local produce. Our room was full of character, immaculate and comfortable with a luxurious edge (not too self-consciously luxurious which I personally don't like). We would stay at Streamcombe Farm again in a heartbeat. Even in January with torrential rain we loved every minute of it. I'm keen to try one of Ian's cooking courses in the future. Thank you to Ian and Karen for your top class hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealFoodStore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 1 glorious night at Streamcombe Farm. We were the only guests, so it felt all the more special to have such delicious food prepared just for us. We stayed in the Hayloft which was very comfortable and clean, and took advantage of the lovely claw foot tub. Upon arrival Karen brought tea and (homemade of course) lemon cake to our room, and later that evening Ian cooked us an exquisite dinner. We slept very well - it was quiet, the bed was very comfortable and the linens were plush! I cannot recommend Streamcombe highly enough, and we certainly can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizah108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dulverton hotels
4.0 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
189 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Witheridge Farm
Witheridge Farm
#2 of 5 in Dulverton
11 reviews
5.5 mi away
Highertown Cottage B&B
Highertown Cottage B&B
#9 of 17 in Dulverton
5 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Wimbleball Holidays
#5 of 5 in Dulverton
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streamcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streamcombe Farm

Address: Streamcombe Farm Streamcombe Lane, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural, romantic hideaway offering beautiful, contemporary accommodation within a converted stone barn, full of character and charm. An evening dinner menu is available on most days and cookery classes run weekly. A footpath leads from the garden to Dulverton, 2 miles, and the immediate, wild environment offers frequent sightings of wild Red Deer, buzzards and woodpeckers. A very unique and special place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Streamcombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streamcombe Farm Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing