We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai in a quaint village”

Tongdam Thai Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Dulverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai in a quaint village”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

You may not expect to find such a great Thai restaurant in such a little quaint village, but Tongdam is an absolute find. We managed to time it right on the Friday night, but I think we were lucky as it soon got very booked up and is clearly a favourite of the locals. The menu has some different dishes that I had not seen before, but the food tastes really fresh and is exceptional.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    45
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Erth Praze, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food was nice but over priced. Nice atmosphere if you sit outside”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have been here with friends on several occasions and the food is not always consistent.
The staff are friendly and relaxed.
The outside area is beautiful for a group to sit under the gazebo covered in vines.
The only real dislikes here is that sometimes the dishes taste the same and overall the price paid is fairly steep.
Never the less I would eat there again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TDFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unexpected brilliance”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

the lady at the bridge recommended here and we weren't disappointed. she said it was authentic Thai with a creative touch and that is exactly what we got.
Service. excellent consistent staff with great menu knowledge.
Food. stunning food beautifully presented.
Value. slightly expensive but worth it.
Atmosphere. a combination of Exmoor and Far East combined. subtle not kitsch which is difficult to do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were surprised to find a Thai restaurant somewhere like Dulverton. The lovely lady at the Bridge Inn recommended here when we couldn't get in there and we were really glad we came. Infact we visited twice during our stay. Wonderful, inventive, varied food (the trout is a must), lovely surroundings and (our big thing) great staff. They recognised us on our second visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Escaped here for a meal with husband, whilst the grandparents babysat. Atmosphere was great, you didn't feel rushed. Service was polite but the waiters engaged in conversation when you chatted to them. Food was amazing! Prices weren't low but reflect the quality of the food. We shared starters and had a main course each with 1 portion of rice and 1 of vegetables, sadly we could not fit in dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Korinne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tongdam Thai Restaurant also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Tongdam Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing