We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed 1 week in September 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lion Hotel

The Lion Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulverton
Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed 1 week in September 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was my 2nd visit to The Lion. The staff were warm, welcoming and friendly, My room was very clean and comfortable, although dated.(you must remember this place was built in 1822) Radiators were turned on at my request, and TV was replaced. One reviewer on here said breakfasts were awful!! This is just not true. The breakfasts were wonderful, well cooked and fresh with a good variety and excellent service. The Lion has character with olde worlde flloors that creak, oak beams and steep stairs with no lift. But, it's comforts are modernized to a good standard...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midget159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    12
    12
    6
See reviews for
13
44
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed recently at the lion Hotel in Dulverton. The room was a bit dated but spacious, bed was comfortable. The evening meal was home made and very tasty. My only fault here was the awful breakfast served. I didn't bother having breakfast on my last day as there are plenty of other places to eat.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vooman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brushford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have just tried some of the new range of Pizza that the Lion are offering, they are good. I ate mine in the office and - as I was busy I didnt get time to eat them - they went cold. They still tasted good and the thin crust didnt go soggy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Myself and my partner have returned to The Lion Hotel two or more times a year for twenty years. Not only is it in one of the most beautiful parts of the country, it is also as welcoming to holiday makers, (dogs included) and business people as does the town of Dulverton. The resturant food and breakfast is freshly cooked to a very high standard. We highly recommend this hotel. Alan, Sue and Daisy the dog

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Lovely place, welcoming Thai lady who seemed to be reception, cleaner, barmaid etc
Comfy beds, could do with central heating on a cold night and showers were very hopeless
They've obviously just redecorated - our room had a sash window painted wide open , then manager seemed completely unaware of this, but did offer
to sort it out . ( do owners EVER stay in their own rooms ?)
Didn't eat there, looked a but dull, nicer restaurant up the road

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswithhairdrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Welcoming staff, hotel appeared to be having a new coat of paint upstairs could do with a general make over lacked a bit of atmosphere.However excellent service good food,clean rooms what more do you need.Those who like a drink need to be aware of the local licensing hours close at 3 open at 6 for the 4 pubs in the village (except for the Rock Inn).Excellent location to visit the Tarr steps 6 miles by car also 6 mile footpath.Thought room was over priced compared to those stopped at on the 3 night road trip and didn't make the best use of space in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have been to the Hotel before and loved the stay. It was the same again, this time around. Although I didn't eat in the Hotel like last time because it was too busy for my dog (he hates lots of people around), I stayed for 1 night (sat) - the room was the same as before.

Had another great stay, with the owners being very friendly to me...and my dog (gave him a few treats).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesA164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulverton
7.5 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
17.3 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town Mills B &B
Town Mills B &B
#3 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: 2 Bank Square, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulverton
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Dulverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing