We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Fry Up-Super Service.”
Review of Tantivy

Tantivy
Ranked #10 of 19 Restaurants in Dulverton
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small cafe/restaurant & delicatessen in market town on edge of Exmoor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Fry Up-Super Service.”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My husband and I dropped in on a busy saturday lunchtime purely because the outside looked inviting and we were feeling peckish.
The interior was clean and bright and the staff were instantly friendly and helpful. We ordered tea for two, one fry up (sausage, bacon, egg, tomato and buttered toast) and one plate of scrambled eggs and bacon. The quality of the produce was excellent. My only very minor grumble was that although my scrambled eggs were ok, I'm fairly sure that they had been cooked in a microwave so they were a bit uninspiring.....cooked gently in a pan with some salted butter might have been nicer but my hips aren't complaining and the bacon was great.
There was plenty of butter to go with the toast, the tea was good (thats unusual!) and everything was spotlessly clean.
I have just read the other reviews and really can't state firmly enough that the service was helpful, fast and friendly. We normally go to another tea room in Dulverton but the arrangement for service is so confused and hopeless that we have now swapped our loyalty. The menu is quite small...but this is a CAFE not a RESTAURANT. They do it well. Give it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winterfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    47
    29
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very overpriced”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I thought that £8 was too dear for 2 cappoccinos and a milk shake for a 2 year old. Waited for half an hour for drinks to arrive which was too long as have already said had 2 year old and a baby with us. Then had to query the milk shake as it had icecream in it to be told they can't make them without ice cream. Seems stock needs to be reconsidered if this is the case. Staff seemed uncertain of what they sold and disinterested. No baby change facilities and the toilet floor was wet from an overflowed sink. Would certainly not visit again as don't like being ripped off!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“New cafe really good”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Lovely new development at The Tantivy. We stopped for coffee and cake soon after arriving in Dulverton. Only comment would be the staff need to clean the wooden table tops as they are all a bit sticky.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tig121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Erth Praze, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A nice place for a coffee.good straight menu”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I have had coffee here on a few occasions and I think what is done is produced well.
The shop (souvenir & news paper) is well stocked with normal touristic gifts and some really nice top of the range gifts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“just yummy!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

try there sandwiches,their breakfast,their hot chocolate,in fact go in hungery and thirsty so you can sample many delights!!
I am local and know what i like and ..don't... this has developed into a gem in dulverton. may the owners keep their feet on the ground,and prices resonable to the all customers,reminding themselves that the locals will continue to return,even when the last of the holiday maker return home.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank countrygirlSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tantivy also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Tantivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing