We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely little meeting place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantivy

Tantivy
Ranked #12 of 19 Restaurants in Dulverton
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely little meeting place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

The Tantivy is essentially an up market newsagents with a coffee shop within. It has a charming exterior and you will find everything from the Daily Newspapers to Exmoor gifts, cards & produce. The menu at the cafe is not large, but appropriate for the size of the Kitchen/Deli area.You will find things like Breakfast, Brunch, Sandwiches and Ploughmans on the menu. The Coffees, Teas & Hot chocolate are freshly made and presented with care and there are a selection of Cakes & Pastries available.
The one small negative is that service can sometimes a bit slow in preparing food, however it is understandable when there is only a small prep area for the staff to work in and generally only 2/3 staff on. The staff are always polite & helpful to everyone, so you are in good company whilst you wait. All in all a lovely place to meet for a catch up & coffee or read your Sunday papers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieGEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    42
    29
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Me and my wife popped in on sunday, into a very busy cafe, we orderd 2 latte coffees to the young man behind the till who seemed friendly even though there was a lot going on. we waitied 10 minutes for the coffees which we didnt think was to bad.. concidering, the staff all seemed nice and i cant really understand the rest of the comments that have been said, maybe we just got lucky and arrived on a day when nice staff were working! but overall lovely cafe/shop. twenty first centry has arrived in Dulverton!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Smart Deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Well laid out deli, cafe and general store.
Coffee, tea, Cream Tea, and Teacakes were all lovely. Indoor and exterior seating areas in bright modern setting, in the centre of dulverton.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcd81bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Fry Up-Super Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

My husband and I dropped in on a busy saturday lunchtime purely because the outside looked inviting and we were feeling peckish.
The interior was clean and bright and the staff were instantly friendly and helpful. We ordered tea for two, one fry up (sausage, bacon, egg, tomato and buttered toast) and one plate of scrambled eggs and bacon. The quality of the produce was excellent. My only very minor grumble was that although my scrambled eggs were ok, I'm fairly sure that they had been cooked in a microwave so they were a bit uninspiring.....cooked gently in a pan with some salted butter might have been nicer but my hips aren't complaining and the bacon was great.
There was plenty of butter to go with the toast, the tea was good (thats unusual!) and everything was spotlessly clean.
I have just read the other reviews and really can't state firmly enough that the service was helpful, fast and friendly. We normally go to another tea room in Dulverton but the arrangement for service is so confused and hopeless that we have now swapped our loyalty. The menu is quite small...but this is a CAFE not a RESTAURANT. They do it well. Give it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winterfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I thought that £8 was too dear for 2 cappoccinos and a milk shake for a 2 year old. Waited for half an hour for drinks to arrive which was too long as have already said had 2 year old and a baby with us. Then had to query the milk shake as it had icecream in it to be told they can't make them without ice cream. Seems stock needs to be reconsidered if this is the case. Staff seemed uncertain of what they sold and disinterested. No baby change facilities and the toilet floor was wet from an overflowed sink. Would certainly not visit again as don't like being ripped off!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tantivy also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Wiveliscombe, Somerset
 

Been to Tantivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing