We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gift shop”
Review of Tantivy

Tantivy
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Dulverton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Small cafe/restaurant & delicatessen in market town on edge of Exmoor
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great gift shop”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Lovely place for local gifts and more. Coffee shop too. Friendly helpful staff who let us use their bathroom while shopping and helped with directions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 72vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    50
    29
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Excellent Tea rooms in a beautiful village setting offering homemade cakes , scones and amazing sandwiches

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bennynorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Food is well presented and tasty. It's a nice clean café with friendly staff, I had a coughing fit, very embarrassing, but immediately the waitress brought me a glass of water and asked if I was OK, very thoughtful. The shop is nice too, with some lovely cottage industry food produce to buy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penarth
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly and unwelcoming”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

There were 5 of us in our party so we chose a circular table and pulled up an extra chair. Whilst perusing the menu, a waitress came up and very bluntly told us to find another table upstairs because we were blocking the wheelchair access to the one and only toilet. Whilst I agree this is totally unacceptable, there are ways of telling people this politely and with a smile. We'd never been there before and had no idea where the toilet was. As we were frozen, very short of time and desperate for food and drink with young children we stayed and found another table. If I'd been alone or with other adults I'd have left immediately. Service with a smile costs nothing but makes the world of difference. Food expensive but quickly served. We asked for more hot water with our teas and were refused. We were told they don't provide top-ups - we should pay for another pot of tea. Cream tea delicious, jam really good. Such a pity they don't like customers in this cafe. We shall never return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank louiseholistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing.”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Staying nearby we popped in for a daily paper and stayed for a coffee.
Delightful staff clean and well presented. Can buy almost anything in the shop and the menu in the café was tempting. Latte and white hot chocolate came with a 'Tantivy' wafer. Good value and very warming on a cold day. Lots of the locals use it so gave us the feel of a good community. Definitely planning a return visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tantivy also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Tantivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing