We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring some cash”
Review of The Exmoor Beastro - CLOSED

The Exmoor Beastro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Bring some cash”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Took our friends out for an entertaining evening and dinner. Very hospitable owners who are obviously keen to impress and achieved success with some good food and banter. Couple of potential improvements include having a moveable board for the specials, as there was an itinerant crowd of other diners who were brought round to see the board, which cramped our table and conversation somewhat. Also suggest there is a clear indication that they have no credit card payment facility, so was with slight embarrassment I had to go around the corner to the cashpoint to withdraw enough of the readies to pay for our meals - good but by no means cheap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRMaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Greeted by the owner who helpfully talked us through the menu,which has a number of traditional Spanish dishes on it.My choice of Chorizo,roasted peppers and pui lentil was outstanding .The owners are so enthusiastic and dedicated to pleasing the customer, we were even shown the wood fired oven We will always try to visit the Beastro on future trips to Dulverton and II recommend it to anyone who reads this

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely Wednesday evening”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had our anniversary meal last night at the The Exmoor Beastro in Dulverton. it was the first we'd been there. A quirky establishment with matching owners. The chef, Alex, was superb and described each meal on the menu before we sat down. The food is essentially Mediterranean and is right up our street.

After a joint starter of cold pressed rapeseed oil with Dukkan and soda bread, Susan had a Spanish pork dish. I managed a chorizo and roasted pepper combo. Very tasty indeed.

Alex was good enough to show me the outdoor oven the food was cooked in (made locally in Bishops Lydiard).

A great night with two great owners, Alex and his partner; we will be back again very shortly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Essemmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Truly Memorable Meal”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As soon as you walk through the double doors into the courtyard to see Alex, flamboyant in apron and bandana, tending dishes of delicious looking food in the wood-burning oven, you know that the meal is going to be a bit special - and indeed it is.

Alex and Fiona are enthusiastic and passionate about what they do; about using only the best ingredients and making them into food of superlative quality that is full of flavour. Alex speaks eloquently and with infectious fervour about his ingredients and his philosophy; the couple used to operate out of a sort of pop-up gourmet street-food van before setting up shop permanently in Dulverton late last year. Their menus change regularly according to what is fresh and in stock, and Alex guides you through his daily blackboard list in mouth-watering detail.

When you book to eat with them don't expect five-star pretentiousness. Instead you will be assured of a friendly welcome and served a meal using wonderful produce cooked to perfection that lingers long in the memory.

The small village of Dulverton is indeed fortunate to have several really good eating places; the Exmoor Beastro is a welcome and valuable new addition to their number - it deserves much success.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matilda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exebridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh yeah!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wow, for a totally different eating experience, this is a must! It is small, intimate and genuinely friendly. Have you ever had the chef personally take you through the menu in such detail and with such passion that you are left salivating? This is what Alex does and it is just so helpful to know exactly what you are ordering, where it is sourced, how it is cooked and presented.

The food is unpretentious (- nothing thrice stuffed here) but refreshingly different with rustic overtones, wonderfully cooked and presented. My wife and I have now enjoyed a number of super Beastro meals since its opening and all have been really first class. On the last occasion, we both had the bavette steak - cooked to perfection, melts in the mouth and just so succulent. I also have to mention the hand cut chips; you might think “chips, what can be so different about chips?” - believe me, when you have had Alex’s chips, you’ll want to go back just for these little beauties! He did explain how he prepares this humble accompaniment but it should really be a closely guarded family secret - they are simply THE BEST I’ve ever come across and at 62 years of age, that’s saying something. As I have asked her to run away with me, I must also mention Fiona’s meringues - oh yeah! In fact, have two desserts, this charming Irish Colleen’s profiteroles are simply orgasmic.

You’re now thinking that its going to cost the earth. WRONG, the total cost of our last meal was just £47 - however, we did take our own wine which accounted for £4 of the bill as a very modest corkage charge. As it happens, the Beastro has just obtained its license and is now building up a range of good quality wines at reasonable prices but you are still very welcome to “bring your own”.

In short, a small intimate restaurant, a genuine welcome, a thoroughly enjoyable and very different eating experience and very well priced to boot! It is already getting an enviable reputation so I do suggest that you book to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Exmoor Beastro also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing