We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Food without the Formality”
Review of The Exmoor Beastro - CLOSED

The Exmoor Beastro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“5 Star Food without the Formality”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Whilst staying with friends in Dulverton they took us to the Exmoor Beasto. We were told it would be an informal evening but to expect a 5 star eating experience. Alex and Fiona, the owners, didnt disappoint. This very cool venue served up food that looked like works of art and tasted amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and Alex's descriptions of the foods he wants to cook for you leaves you in no doubt about his passion for food. An amazing gormet experience cant wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best thing to happen on exmoor for ages”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great new food ideas,a change from the norm, it's just got to be done. The food , the wine, the beer. We arrived late lunchtime on Friday , had a new experience in dinning. In all we ate four times, it was wonderful ,and we would have gone more but we had to spread out to some of the other good food available on exmoor. Not to mention that they were mostly fully booked. Even when they were they manged to squeeze us in .when we first arrived we were made to feel like long lost friends, when we left we felt like family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Bring some cash”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Took our friends out for an entertaining evening and dinner. Very hospitable owners who are obviously keen to impress and achieved success with some good food and banter. Couple of potential improvements include having a moveable board for the specials, as there was an itinerant crowd of other diners who were brought round to see the board, which cramped our table and conversation somewhat. Also suggest there is a clear indication that they have no credit card payment facility, so was with slight embarrassment I had to go around the corner to the cashpoint to withdraw enough of the readies to pay for our meals - good but by no means cheap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRMaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Greeted by the owner who helpfully talked us through the menu,which has a number of traditional Spanish dishes on it.My choice of Chorizo,roasted peppers and pui lentil was outstanding .The owners are so enthusiastic and dedicated to pleasing the customer, we were even shown the wood fired oven We will always try to visit the Beastro on future trips to Dulverton and II recommend it to anyone who reads this

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely Wednesday evening”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had our anniversary meal last night at the The Exmoor Beastro in Dulverton. it was the first we'd been there. A quirky establishment with matching owners. The chef, Alex, was superb and described each meal on the menu before we sat down. The food is essentially Mediterranean and is right up our street.

After a joint starter of cold pressed rapeseed oil with Dukkan and soda bread, Susan had a Spanish pork dish. I managed a chorizo and roasted pepper combo. Very tasty indeed.

Alex was good enough to show me the outdoor oven the food was cooked in (made locally in Bishops Lydiard).

A great night with two great owners, Alex and his partner; we will be back again very shortly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Essemmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Exmoor Beastro also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing