We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dulverton, you lucky village!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Exmoor Beastro - CLOSED

The Exmoor Beastro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Dulverton, you lucky village!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Oh My Word! A truly fantastic and thoroughly enjoyable culinary experience!!
A small but perfectly formed menu - a small but perfectly thought out wine list - Oh and the milk vodka!!
Visited last week, Alex took us through every dish before we ordered - explained, the why, the where the how of each one which made the task of choosing just one nigh on impossible.
I got it down to 3 and had to call for a second opinion!!
The food was superb, the recommended wine with each course, a perfect fit, the service from Alex and the waiting staff was great and all in all one of the best meals I've ever had.
Get to Dulverton and get to the Beastro before London, Paris, New York or Glasgow come and "kidnap" them!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refreshingly different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you are looking for a fresh approach to food give this place a visit. We loved it but as we were the last customers of the night some of the dishes had already sold out. Nevertheless I had the chorizo and puy lentils which was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We love this place although the price increase appears in line with some of the restaurants but may put some people off. However the food is excellent and different alex and Fiona make you really welcome and will change things to accommodate you. It is a special
Place love it .....

Helpful?
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One personal experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I only post if it's exceptional - a very personal style Beastro, run buy a brilliant couple who care about their food & service and it shows

Had the girls with me (7&9) and the grandparents (old&older) - they all loved it! Exciting rustic home cooked food, fun flavours, global influence. Looks a bit "wanna be flash" on passing, don't turn away, cos it's not - I almost did, and that would've been a terrible mistake

CASH (no cards) ONLY @ the moment, be prepared!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent food and wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The food in this delightful bistro well lives up to the enthusiastic descriptions offered by its proprietor/chef who immediately makes you feel at home. An unusual and tempting menu of dishes all cooked to order and served without delay. Complimented by a small selection of delicious deserts and a connoisseur's selection of old world wines, this bistro was a wonderful find in the lovely Exmoor town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Exmoor Beastro also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing