We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully relaxing cottage on the edge of Exmoor”
Rainsbury House Exmoor and Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rainsbury House Exmoor and Cottages
Spacious Barn kitchen with granite worktops ... and spectacular views across the wooded valley The Barn (left) and Barn Owl Cottage (right) - available as one or separately
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Rainsbury House Exmoor and Cottages
Spacious Barn kitchen with granite worktops ... and spectacular views across the wooded valley
The Barn (left) and Barn Owl Cottage (right) - available as one or separately
Spacious Barn sitting room with large log burner ... and free logs to keep you nice and toasty
Barn Owl Cottage sitting room
Floor Plan for The Barn and Barn Owl Cottage
The Barn - galleried hallway
The Barn - top of the stairs
Barn bedroom 3, with large en-suite with bath, walk-in shower & under-floor heating
Barn bedroom 3 en suite bathroom
Barn bedroom 1 with ziplock beds as a super kingsize or two singles
Barn bedroom 2, a pretty twin bed room
Barn bathroom. Large shower and under floor heating. For exclusive use of bedrooms 1 and 2
Barn bedroom 4, with en suite bathroom
Well-equipped Barn Owl Cottage kitchen
Barn Owl Cottage bedroom 3, a pretty double aspect twin bedroom with views over the wooded valley
Barn Owl Cottage bedroom 1, with french doors to the courtyard garden
Barn Owl Cottage bathroom for exclusive use of bedroom 1
Barn Owl Bedroom 2, a cosy single bedroom with built-in wardrobe
Gambolling Rainsbury lambs ... Exmoor really does put a spring in your step
Wimbleball high wire - a thrilling experience
Fly fishing courses ... Learn from our expert
Another eye-wateringly stunning sunset on Wimbleball Lake
Wild seclusion on our doorstep ...  the 'Upton Arm' of Wimbleball - our backyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tricky240...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautifully relaxing cottage on the edge of Exmoor”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I stayed in Barn Owl Cottage with our 2 grown up children. What a beautiful place !! The cottage is decorated to a very high standard and is very comfortable with everything you could need included. A lovely touch being a homemade cake, eggs and jam on our arrival. Terry was very friendly and welcoming and happy to chat during our stay but never intrusive, and offered us advice on places to visit and eat out. We also had use of a hot tub, table tennis room and badminton court which were well used. We could walk directly from the cottage to Wimbleball Lake, which had good water sports activities, and the surrounding beautiful countryside, and we took trips across the moors to Porlock Weir and Minehead. Dunster Castle is also well worth a visit, and there is pony trekking near by. The Bridge Inn at Dulverton is also worth a visit for a friendly, good value meal. We would highly recommend Rainsbury House for a relaxing, peaceful holiday, and we hope to return again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and location of the Cottage
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. You certainly certainly picked some great spots to visit around Exmoor and we look forward to recommending many more to you on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzel69
Newhaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, lovely part of Somerset”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

An extremely well appointed holiday house. We had the big barn as were in a 3 generation family group of 8. Myself, husband and 2 boys had 2 of the downstairs bedrooms with a shared bathroom. All the beds were beautifully made up and really comfortable and the bathroom was roomy, clean and really nicely done - I had serious shower envy - the addition of a laundry basket was a really nice touch meaning our dirty laundry wasn't strewn about the bedrooms in various carrier bags as is the norm!
The kids particularly loved the hot tub and table tennis which kept us all occupied in the evenings - we even had a mini knockout tournament (be wary of those family members you hadn't realised were so competitive :-) !)
Lovely walks around the lake right on the door step with lots of paddling opportunities in the streams around it.
Overall a gorgeous house in a beautiful area.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillysill...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury accommodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Can thoroughly recommend a stay here. We were in Barn Owl Cottage which was spacious, very well equipped, comfortable and clean. The owners live in the main house next door and have a separate driveway and parking area so we were not overlooked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayaker_a...
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning large cottage”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage on the edge of exmoor. Beautifully appointed, really fantastic for 2 families or a even more couples. Terry and Angela have restored a barn to a stunning condition, but it feels completely practical and useable. Lovely features everywhere, double bedrooms rooms are all excellent, two with en suites. The house is huge and access to the garden is great. Fresh eggs, jams and baking greeted us. Terry was very professional to deal with before we arrived (confirming everything from overseas with us). Very very happy with our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: traditional but luxurious and practical
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will T
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A large group of us stayed as taking part of an event in the nearby Wimbleball Lake, a couple of the group arrived at the house earlier in the day and myself and my partner arrived later in the night in the pouring rain. Having arrived we explored the amazing house and the cleanliness. The overall impression you get when you walk in is brilliant, you just want to explore the whole house.

The kitchen had all the utensils and cutlery needed, the bathrooms were spotless and the bed was comfortable!

Had a great night sleep each night and it was just so relaxing to not be woken up by cars driving past etc. Waking up and just looking out the living room window of the Barn was incredible, this view was amazing both in the sun and when it was raining.

The hosts were so friendly and helpful, their dogs were fun and so well trained that they don't even attempt to get into the Barn or Barnhouse Cottage.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby W
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Amazing Place! ”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were a large group of rowers that were in the area competing at Wimbleball lake and had booked both sides of the barn.

When we first arrived Terry (the owner) was fantastic, gave the two of us who arrived first a tour and explained everything we needed to know about the barns, there was even a freshly made Victoria sponge that went down very well with the group.

The barns were immaculately clean and tidy, the rooms and en-suites were a fantastic size.

The living room space in the barn was great and a fantastic table for a large group of us, the pair of binoculars came in useful at our event!

The kitchen had absolutely everything we needed in terms of equipment, even to do a full English breakfast for 13 of us and a roast dinner!

The owners really couldn't do more for us to help, and there 2 labs were lovely! We will have to borrow them next time for a walk.

We hope to come back in the not to distant future!

Many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kate12345...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful family holiday home in rural setting.”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fantastic week in this superb, large, family friendly house. It is modern, clean, and comfortable and set in beautiful surroundings.
We had 2 young children in our group; they loved their stay as much as the adults.
Terry and Angela are fantastic. They are very welcoming and on hand if ever we needed them.
The homemade cake on arrival was superb.
We would thoroughly recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was beautiful
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing