We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful country cottage in lovely quiet location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy S
Penryn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful country cottage in lovely quiet location”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Old School House. The cottage was very cosy and clearly a lot of love has gone into furnishing and decorating this lovely house. There was a slight issue picking up the key, but this was resolved quickly and easily so wasn't an issue at all. The sunny garden is perfect for eating outside, and the wood burner made the living room impossible leave as the evening got chillier. Perfect location near to Dunster and a great launch point for pretty walks. A perfect weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy living room and airy bedrooms
Liked least: The cooker - it was rather tricky to use!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mags m
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“It was the most relaxing stay I've had for absolutely ages”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage is so warm and welcoming - and so comfortable. We all loved it! The wood burning stoves are amazing - and work so well - first time too! The beds are the most comfy Ive ever stayed in, in a rental property. The sheets are of egyptian cotton and the duvets and pillows are like candy floss - so light and fluffy - I even took the details from the labels so I could get some for my own home! Its also the cleanest holiday let Ive ever visited - just spotless. The location is lovely too - on the outskirts of a little village but close enough to a main town with all the amenities you could wish. Yet still very much Exmoor through and through. The owners have clearly put their heart and soul into making this a really special place to stay. Loved it and want to come back really soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hard to choose it was all brilliant
Liked least: wanted to stay - wanted it to be my own personal holiday home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DandT452
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, warm, stylish home from home”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here to celebrate a friend's birthday and it was the perfect venue. Picture postcard cottage nestled in beside the church in a little village. Much bigger than it looks from the outside as there are 3 good sized bedrooms, dining room, farmhouse style kitchen, living room, snug, and two bathrooms. From the moment we walked in we felt enveloped in comfort. There was a home made cake waiting for us, tea in the jar, milk in the fridge, and logs for the two wood burning stoves, ( there's central heating too and it was really cosy, even in February) The muted colour scheme, thick walls, and stylish solid furniture give it a wonderful atmosphere of peace and wellbeing. Everything has been thought of to make guests feel at home, and all the appliances and bedding etc are new and top quality, so when I say it's a home from home, it's actually a lot nicer than where I live! We had the best time just chilling, chatting, cooking on the range cooker, watched a DVD one night, and going on a pub crawl in nearby Dulverton, Brilliant Thai restaurant there, where we treated the birthday girl, and a couple of really lively and friendly pubs. Despite our avowed intention to do a lot of walking, we only did one short walk but the countryside is stunning, and if we'd been able to tear ourselves away from the cottage a bit more, and not eaten quite so much cake, it could definitely have been an active and healthy break!!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Little touches like the cake waiting for us
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1962Sally...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A blissfully relaxing place to stay...”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I stayed at The Old School House for a weekend away with friends and I can honestly say that everything about it was just perfect. It really felt like a home and not rented accommodation at all and once we settled in and got the wood-burning stoves lit, it was a gloriously relaxing, cosy haven to unwind in. Every last detail has been thought about by the owners: from the lovely, homemade cake, tea, coffee and milk waiting for us on our arrival, to the top quality sheets, downies, towels, pillows and all the stylish house contents - the owners have obviously taken a lot of trouble to make the house feel like a real home from home. I slept like a log every night in the fantastically comfy bed, undoubtedly helped by the location being so peaceful. The area is spoilt for choice with a wide selection of lovely walks from the doorstep of the house - we did a stunning, 2 hour 'circular' walk from the house and only passed two cars on the road! Everyone we came into contact with during our stay was incredibly friendly and welcoming, too. Dulverton is a short drive away and is a lovely small town, having great restaurants and pubs, as well as a well-stocked Coop where you can buy everything you need. We had a really delicious meal at the Thai restaurant, the "Tongdam Thai" but there are lovely pubs and cafes that serve great food, too. I wish I could have stayed longer than just a weekend and really didn't want to leave by the end of our stay! Thank you, I'll definitely be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail of the whole house and its contents.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is a very well equipped pleasing and comfortable cottage in a quiet situation.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Old School House at Brushford has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The bedrooms are of a good size as is the kitchen and living areas downstairs. There is no garden at the back but the front garden is enclosed and the house is set back off the road. There is a church next door and other houses around but the property is not overlooked. Although parking is in the lane, there is a wider bit of lane in front of the church where we parked each day without inconveniencing anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing