We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good choice”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dominique...
1 review
“Very good choice”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We found exactly what we saw on the website pictures. The house was very confortable when we arrived (flowers, drinks in fridge,..., beds already made...), all you need after a long trip !
It is very well fitted : kitchen (appliances ' instructions for use , dog's bowls !), living-room and dining-room (games, books...), hair-dryers and radio-sets in each bedroom, very useful local and tourist informations . Pretty efficient wi-fi, pleasant garden, fine environment ...
We felt good and cosy in the house.
We really appreciated the house and the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and comfort of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AandImj
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well presented house in small village”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Quality, clean house well presented and stocked with all the necessities. Cooker took a little getting used to, perhaps the instructions could be re-written a little simpler for complete numpties like us...but we got the hang of it eventually. Very enjoyable stay and our old dog very much enjoyed laying in the sun in the secure front garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: WiFi alittle slow but wasn't really a problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpi23
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing.”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

A very pretty cottage in a lovely area. It was such a shame that the cottage did not live up to expectations though. On arrival found that the food waste bin which was on the kitchen top had not been emptied and was full from the previous renters waste (which might explain why there were so many flies in the kitchen) and the top itself was extremely dirty, I did not expect to don rubber gloves immediately on arrival!! Tea, coffee, sugar etc were in the kitchen as stated in the details but I was surprised to find that these were in jars and not sealed and the milk in fridge was 5 days out of date - NOT good! Cake and flowers also stated in details were nowhere to be seen! Minor point. Although no dogs were allowed on the furniture or upstairs the sofas and bed runners were covered in dog hairs, even the dining room table cloth had hairs on it. The downstairs shower room was good to have but the toilet was uncomfortable to use, recommend a box of some kind to place your feet on so that legs don't dangle!! Even the tallest member of our party at 6'4" used upstairs. We were extremely lucky with the weather so spent little time at the cottage. There are great walks to be had and lots of very nice places to visit. It is a pity that I can not recommend this cottage but if more care was taken it would be a lovely place to stay.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, however we are shocked and terribly disappointed to hear of these problems .This is the first time we've had any issues like this in the years we've been letting the Old School House. As you can see from the other reviews, the house is usually immaculate and our housekeeper takes great pride in having the cottage perfect for our guests' arrival.

Obviously on this occasion there must have been a slip up in the schedule which is a matter of much regret to both ourselves and to our housekeeper. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope you will give us another chance to show you The Old School House as others have found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAP56
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

A very quaint cottage in a fabulous location. However on arrival we were very disappointed to find the property had not been thoroughly cleaned. The food waste bin which was on the kitchen unit had not been emptied, the kitchen work tops were covered in grime and crumbs and there were cob and spider webs all around the ceiling & window which must have been there for quite sometime. We were surprised to find that the sofas and the runners in the bedrooms were covered in dog hairs and the tablecloth in the dining room also had hairs on it. It's such a shame that these issues were overlooked. The area is stunning, great walks to be had and there are lots of things to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
phatwajon...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I was initially a bit concerned that there were only 3, albeit very good, reviews but decided to take the plunge anyway. I am glad I did, the house was really special. Very clean when we arrived, and very homely. The appliances and fittings are high-end and the owner(s) haven't skimped on anything. The location is also very good if you want to 'get away' from it, there are some good local walks and the church next door is an interesting find. The only downside is there is no shop in the village (or pub) but there is much more nearby.

I will be re-visiting Devon again in a few months and will be sure to check if the property is available to book again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Pure awesomeness”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Old School House must have been the best cottage we've ever stayed in. Perfectly located, cosy and stylish interior, dog friendly & a great experience over all. We stayed for six weeks and the cottage became a home to us. Helpful and friendly owners, great surrounding & worth every single penny - we'll definitely come back again. :)

Thanks for sharing this special place with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing