We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Isac789
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 2 Autumn nights in this fabulously renovated old school. Very clean and comfortable. Everything you need for a truly wonderful stay. Particularly like the the home made cake with tea and coffee facilities there to greet you on arrival. Plenty of lovely walks around and the local town only a short drive away. Felt really homely.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyr7
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality and total relaxation guaranteed”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've just got back from my second long weekend stay at Old School House in Brushford and once again, it was an idyllic and totally relaxing get-away-from-it-all break for my friends and I. Although it was over a year ago since I was last here, the house is still in immaculate condition and is spotlessly clean, with lovely touches all around (e.g. Egyptian cotton bed linen, soft & fluffy pure white towels, wood for the log burners, fresh flowers, scrumptious cake waiting for us, tea/coffee/milk etc).
I can honestly say that both times I've stayed here for a long weekend, I've slept better than anywhere else - even my own home! I'm not sure if it's the incredibly comfortable beds, the fresh country air, the really homely feel of the house, or the peace & tranquility of the surroundings - but I genuinely never want to leave, as it's so relaxing.
The house is really cosy and truly feels like a home-from-home, not rented accommodation and I highly recommend it for a relaxing weekend on your own (it feels very safe & secure), or a family/friends escape from city life. Dulverton is only minutes away and there's enough there for evening entertainment and shops etc, too, if you feel the need. But the place is so inviting, we didn't want to stray too far from it for long. Lovely walks on the doorstep, too.
Thank you, I'll most definitely be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its homely and familiar feel
Liked least: not applicable - everything was perfect
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique...
1 review
“Very good choice”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We found exactly what we saw on the website pictures. The house was very confortable when we arrived (flowers, drinks in fridge,..., beds already made...), all you need after a long trip !
It is very well fitted : kitchen (appliances ' instructions for use , dog's bowls !), living-room and dining-room (games, books...), hair-dryers and radio-sets in each bedroom, very useful local and tourist informations . Pretty efficient wi-fi, pleasant garden, fine environment ...
We felt good and cosy in the house.
We really appreciated the house and the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and comfort of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AandImj
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well presented house in small village”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Quality, clean house well presented and stocked with all the necessities. Cooker took a little getting used to, perhaps the instructions could be re-written a little simpler for complete numpties like us...but we got the hang of it eventually. Very enjoyable stay and our old dog very much enjoyed laying in the sun in the secure front garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: WiFi alittle slow but wasn't really a problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpi23
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing.”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

A very pretty cottage in a lovely area. It was such a shame that the cottage did not live up to expectations though. On arrival found that the food waste bin which was on the kitchen top had not been emptied and was full from the previous renters waste (which might explain why there were so many flies in the kitchen) and the top itself was extremely dirty, I did not expect to don rubber gloves immediately on arrival!! Tea, coffee, sugar etc were in the kitchen as stated in the details but I was surprised to find that these were in jars and not sealed and the milk in fridge was 5 days out of date - NOT good! Cake and flowers also stated in details were nowhere to be seen! Minor point. Although no dogs were allowed on the furniture or upstairs the sofas and bed runners were covered in dog hairs, even the dining room table cloth had hairs on it. The downstairs shower room was good to have but the toilet was uncomfortable to use, recommend a box of some kind to place your feet on so that legs don't dangle!! Even the tallest member of our party at 6'4" used upstairs. We were extremely lucky with the weather so spent little time at the cottage. There are great walks to be had and lots of very nice places to visit. It is a pity that I can not recommend this cottage but if more care was taken it would be a lovely place to stay.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, however we are shocked and terribly disappointed to hear of these problems .This is the first time we've had any issues like this in the years we've been letting the Old School House. As you can see from the other reviews, the house is usually immaculate and our housekeeper takes great pride in having the cottage perfect for our guests' arrival.

Obviously on this occasion there must have been a slip up in the schedule which is a matter of much regret to both ourselves and to our housekeeper. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope you will give us another chance to show you The Old School House as others have found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAP56
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

A very quaint cottage in a fabulous location. However on arrival we were very disappointed to find the property had not been thoroughly cleaned. The food waste bin which was on the kitchen unit had not been emptied, the kitchen work tops were covered in grime and crumbs and there were cob and spider webs all around the ceiling & window which must have been there for quite sometime. We were surprised to find that the sofas and the runners in the bedrooms were covered in dog hairs and the tablecloth in the dining room also had hairs on it. It's such a shame that these issues were overlooked. The area is stunning, great walks to be had and there are lots of things to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing