We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Long weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cowshed

Welcome to The Cowshed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Cowshed
Relax on the veranda Open plan Lounge and Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Welcome to The Cowshed
Relax on the veranda
Open plan Lounge and Dining room
Lounge area
Kitchen and dining area
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Private gated yard and views to Dartmoor
The Locals
Nosey Neighbours
Foal's Paradise
The Foal on the Hill
Family photo
Deer in the valley below the Cowshed
View along the Barle Valley
Exmoor ponies on the moorland
Tarr steps only 3 miles away
Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dorothy B
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Long weekend”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We arrived on Friday and was delighted with accommodation.
It was remote, quite and peaceful with lovely views.
Everything you could wish for in accommodation. With lovely lemon drizzle cake left for us,
Would definitely recommend and hope to go back some day,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil, comfortable, spacious.”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful tranquil location yet 5 minute drive to all amenities. The Cowshed is spacious with super comfy beds, beautifully looked after and excellent Wi Fi. What is there not to like!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh E
1 review
“A delightful place to relax”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We absolutely loved our time at The Cowshed. Every detail was covered to ensure we had a fantastic time. The accommodation is very comfortable. The location is amazing; so peaceful but also close to conveniences and the beautiful village of Dulverton.

We will definitely be going back again. It really is a perfect place from which to enjoy Exmoor and Devon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbie_lac...
abbie_lacey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just stunning”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What can I say. The Cowshed is just beautiful. Lovely homely feel, very well equipped, spacious. The setting was lovely, saw lots of wildlife - Exmoor ponies, swallows and an owl. So quiet and peaceful. Tania had left us some scones with cream and jam which was delicious. The directions and check-in details provided by email were detailed and made finding and check-in really straightforward. I cannot recommend the Cowshed enough, we had a wonderful weekend and didn't want to go home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Attention to detail was fabulous”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was booked as a birthday treat for me - and what a treat it was! The Cowshed was surprisingly spacious and extremely well appointed in a peaceful and picturesque location. It is clear that a huge amount of thought has gone into ensuring that everything we could need was supplied. A big thank you also for the cake which was waiting for us! It would have been lovely to have met the owner just to say how much we enjoyed our stay and that we appreciated how much effort has clearly gone into this holiday home from home. An added bonus was the neighbours - lots of lovely ponies looking over the fence at us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pavittsin...
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Exmoor is wonderful, but no more wonderful than the Cowshed. Top notch in every department. Plenty of space, plenty of facilities, just top notch

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purplevil...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greta bolthole to explore Exmoor...”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A really well equipped property situated on a quiet farm road. A lovely welcome was the lemon drizzle cake, bottle of milk and cupboard full of tea bags, coffee, sugar etc. No single packets in this property, help yourself to the jars of sundries which was a pleasant change to what you often find.
Its about 2 miles into Dulverton which has post office, bank, chemist and a lovely pub (the Bridge). From here you can walk along the banks of the River Barle along a National Trust trail. Lynmouth/Lynton are 45 minutes away and the drive there across the moor is stunning.
Great property, thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing