We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cowshed

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Deb095
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Very clean and well equipped cottage. Set in a peaceful location, but within a 10 minute drive to Dulverton with plenty of good places to eat. Lovely walks from the door of the cottage, we would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffAW
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend VSCC event”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Excellent accommodation, very helpful owner. Would use again without doubt.!
Parking was good for car and trailer.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elayne K
1 review
“peaceful”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Very attractive and well equipped cottage. Excellent location for a bit of peace and quiet. Our only criticism was that there was no provision for recycling.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnappe...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Cow's Head”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great cottage, loads of space for a two bedroom place. Great location over looking the Barle Valley. Best equipped place I've ever stayed at, even milk provided.

Two thumbs up.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesmZ72...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked our stay at the cowshed at very short notice, and having never stayed in the area weren't sure what to expect. The accommodation was excellent it was lovely and clean, fitted out to a high standard with leather recliners and wi-fi.
There was a relaxing atmosphere to cowshed and the surrounding views were excellent at making us all feel at home and more importantly relaxed.
There was a plate of cookies waiting for our arrival and the owners were friendly and quick to reply when dealing with our short notice booking.
I'd highly recommend to anyone (and have done to many friends already) Who values a peaceful location, and would visit again.
Ps the local chippy and Thai are both excellent!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
1 review
“The Cowshed, near Dulverton”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fabulous place, beautifully appointed and situated, excellently equipped and extremely peaceful, with the natural world right on the doorstep.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmt24
Camberley, Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a peaceful, tranquil location”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is situated just outside of Dulverton. It is ideally located for travel to the coast or further onto Exmoor and the outlook is so tranquil. We saw deer in the fields opposite whilst out on an evening stroll. The birdlife was plentiful. It made for a very relaxing holiday. A great deal of thought had been put into the furnishing of the cottage and to a very high standard. Everything that we could have wanted had been catered for. Really comfy bed and pillows. It was so spacious and the layout was great. Excellent value for money and we will definitely be going back for a return visit. Thank you also for the strawberries and cream - they were delicious!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.