We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for a peaceful getaway in fantastic...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cowshed

Welcome to The Cowshed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Cowshed
Relax on the veranda Open plan Lounge and Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Welcome to The Cowshed
Relax on the veranda
Open plan Lounge and Dining room
Lounge area
Kitchen and dining area
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Private gated yard and views to Dartmoor
The Locals
Nosey Neighbours
Foal's Paradise
The Foal on the Hill
Family photo
Deer in the valley below the Cowshed
View along the Barle Valley
Exmoor ponies on the moorland
Tarr steps only 3 miles away
Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bmt24
Camberley, Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal for a peaceful getaway in fantastic surroundings”
Reviewed 17 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This was our second stay at The Cowshed and it was just as wonderful as the first. The property is equipped with everything you need for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. This is combined with the fantastic surroundings and wildlife in abundance. During our stay this time, we saw house martins and pied wagtails on a daily basis and just as dusk fell, the bats came out. There were also a group of about 6 deer in the field. It is centrally located for exploring the surrounding area and there are a number of places to eat close by. You couldn't ask for more. It's always a delight to stay, and we feel so relaxed, we never really want to leave. I know we'll be back again, as we love the place so much.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHacker
1 review
“Second visit, jus was stunning as the first ”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We visited the cowshed the same time last year and it was the best trip of 2017. Our return trip was just as lovely. The accommodation is spacious and the best appointed of any self catering place we've every been to. It really is a home from home. Location wise there are plenty of great walks on the doorstep, surrounded by lush green countryside and peace and quiet. It's a good base to explore the national park, see exmoor ponies and access to the coast. The owner leaves all the kitchen essentials which you always need and never remember to bring with you e.g oil, herbs etc. I love the peace and quiet and watching the swallow zoom about the place. The cowshed is stunning, we'll definitely be making a third visit.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb095
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Very clean and well equipped cottage. Set in a peaceful location, but within a 10 minute drive to Dulverton with plenty of good places to eat. Lovely walks from the door of the cottage, we would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffAW
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend VSCC event”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Excellent accommodation, very helpful owner. Would use again without doubt.!
Parking was good for car and trailer.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elayne K
1 review
“peaceful”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Very attractive and well equipped cottage. Excellent location for a bit of peace and quiet. Our only criticism was that there was no provision for recycling.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnappe...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Cow's Head”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great cottage, loads of space for a two bedroom place. Great location over looking the Barle Valley. Best equipped place I've ever stayed at, even milk provided.

Two thumbs up.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james m
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked our stay at the cowshed at very short notice, and having never stayed in the area weren't sure what to expect. The accommodation was excellent it was lovely and clean, fitted out to a high standard with leather recliners and wi-fi.
There was a relaxing atmosphere to cowshed and the surrounding views were excellent at making us all feel at home and more importantly relaxed.
There was a plate of cookies waiting for our arrival and the owners were friendly and quick to reply when dealing with our short notice booking.
I'd highly recommend to anyone (and have done to many friends already) Who values a peaceful location, and would visit again.
Ps the local chippy and Thai are both excellent!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing