We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Country Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Evergreen Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Evercreech, Shepton Mallet, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
osbornfam...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy Country Cottage”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Rob and Naomi have built a perfect, cosy, cottage. With oak beams and woodburner it is a lovely, welcoming place to return to after a long day exploring the delights of Somerset.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thanks Cindy, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort803...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect for a short break in the area. Although traditional looking from the outside, the cottage was very modern inside, nicely decorated with a well stocked kitchen and comfortable furnishings. There are many really nice pubs nearby (with good suggestions given in the welcome book from the owners) as well as a few local wineries and the Westcombe dairy and Wild Beer Co brewery for picking up local treats. We really enjoyed our stay - it was everything we needed and we would definitely recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Many thanks for your review Caroline, so glad your enjoyed your break.
Naomi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsy198...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We would highly recommend this holiday cottage, great location for exploring the Mendip hills with Wells, Street and Cheddar within a short driving distance. The local area also has plenty of pubs, shops and countryside to explore! The cottage itself is down a quiet lane were there is no through traffic, and set in a tranquil area! The cottage has all you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay, the owners go the extra mile to make your stay stand apart from others, with there little touches around the cottage. The kitchen has all the utensils you could need and there is underfloor heating throughout! As a bonus there is also a wood burner for those colder evenings. All in all a very enjoyable stay at a lovely cottage at a reasonable price to! Would defiantly stay again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for a lovely review and we really hope to welcome you back again some time! We enjoy hearing when guests have had a lovely time. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J d
Tolbert, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A holiday apartment with class and style”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apartment was the best we had this year. And the first one we stayed was more than good as well.
We (a Dutch couple, 57 and 62) stayed here for a week and everything was great. Didn't see the landlord much, but Naomi, his wife, was very pleasant to talk to: just like you and me.
The apartment was well equiped and had a lot of class! A nice welcome packet awaited us on arrival: great. I hope we will be able to come bach once. Next year??

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the cosyness and 'modern old fashioned' building
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay; we are also glad that your return journey worked out well in the end. We would be delighted to welcome you back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reg2540
Shoalhaven, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We missed an opportunity to enjoy a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We Visited during beautiful summer weather, but could not enjoy the outdoors. Gardens were out of bounds for a glass of wine in the evening, had to sit indoors, may be perfect in the winter. Facilities may be ample for local visitors. But if you are a a long time travellers you need washing facilities and the use of an iron,not just when at the whim of the owner when she is available.
Got to say, accommodation at the very highest standard. If you did not like the presentation,,, you may as ell stay at home... As to the comment of an other reviewer..... sound of a babbling brook.. must have been during the hight of a flood with his hearing aid turned up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude
Liked least: Restricted within the building
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
It is a great disappointment to ourselves that you did not fully enjoy your stay at our cottage. We do not advertise the cottage as having an outdoor space but it offers walks in the Somerset countryside on the doorstep.
The cottage primarily caters for short breaks between 3 and 14 days and again our advertising does not include for a washing machine. We provide ironing equipment which is kept in the owner's property so as not to clutter the cottage. Previous guests have not had issues with this arrangement but we take on board your comments.
Perhaps the recent good weather and lack of rain had reduced the babbling brook to a trickle.
Again apologies you were not happy with your stay. We trust your return journey to Australia to meet your new Great Granddaughter was as wonderful as you were hoping it to be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnnymer...
1 review
“The perfect get away”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This gorgeous cottage across the lane from a babbling brook, just far off from the busy highway to be totally peaceful, I couldn't recommend the location high enough. The decoration and style is faultless & underfloor heating makes it cozy too!

I'm certainly keen on returning!
john

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jac0835
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“BRILLIANT”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We thought this cottage was brilliant - the décor was good and well equipped in fact it felt like home. The cottage was in a quiet location, which we found was very relaxing. It was a good starting point to visit various places around the area. The directions given by Naomi and Rob to find the place were perfect - we didn't get lost, for which we thank you for.

A great find and would strongly recommend to anyone wanting to visit the Somerset area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the property felt like home!
Liked least: There was nothing - the stay was just perfect for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Thanks for your review Cindy. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing