We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Ritz but quite adequate in the annex” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Boar Inn

Blue Boar Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Boar Inn
Ranked #30 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz but quite adequate in the annex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed in the annex again in July during the Pigeye Jackson 2013 UK Post and Pre re-rehab tour which I manage. To get away from Pigeye for all of the day is a great relief, but the annex is ideal since it's off the High Street yet a block away for easy access. It's relatively quiet and very roomy. To walk from the most gratifying pub in England after Pigeye the Horrible's karaoke performances to a quiet room with a bath en suite and plenty of room is ideal. Sue runs a superb pub with all of the excellent staff (Paul is an expert on American baseball!) and wonderful locals (many who sing so well) including the great karaoke comperes, Marion and Rob. Excellent. While the mattress in my room was a bit old but I find this to be true in many hotels and b and b's in England. Other than that, it was more than adequate for the price. It's so difficult to find quieter sleep even in rural parts of England these days and the annex does so well, especially for someone like me who has sleep difficulties anyway (especially having to put up with Pigeye). I dare anyone to find a better location and service for the price near Frome. If Pigeye survives another rehab and returns, I'll stay at the Blue Boar again. If you're not staying there, for any reason, at least do go to the pub. Great people, staff and karaoke.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aftatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
2
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

well what can i say.
The pub looked very nice apart from the locals around the bar so tightly packed you could not get a drink.

The rooms in the out house , thats funny the rooms in the out house were just like a toilet. Even rats would not live in these rooms.

lets start with my room:-
Dirty Cups
Telle that will not work
Bed that was falling to bits
Toilet seat that was falling off

One of my friends room:-
As above but these extra
no bulb in light
bath was 2" 6in long

second friend:-
the same as mine

Breakfast:-
not very good

Will never stay here again.

God help any one that thinks of staying here .DON'T DO IT

Room Tip: "Do not stay here"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frome hotels

Watford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Much too long to write everything, but please take my word for it. The worst place I have ever stayed. DO NOT under any circumstances go and stay there. £80 a room, they should have paid us to stay there. Stayed in the out houses at the back of the pub rooms 6 and 7, fortunately, only for 1 night. Absolutely filthy, old, shabby and dirty from the minute we walked in the door. Damp on ceilings, cracks in walls, dust and dirt everywhere. Towels were worn and ripped, would be OK to use for your pets, but not for humans. Couldnt even use the bathroom cos it was too gross. Had to clean the mirror before we could see our selves in in. Mattress terrible, were only good for the dump. No website for this dump, probably cos if anyone saw it, they'd be sure not to visit. The only good thing was breakfast the next morning. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

visited the blue boar during a short break in frome visiting nearby attractions. pleasant staff,extremely friendly, good beer good service but let down by shabby interior and badly kept outside drinking area.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnec1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We popped into the Blue Boar for a drink to get out of the snow. We enjoyed a nice pint of local ale however our experience was let down by loud garish locals and the barmaid talking and flirting at the tops of their voices. We left after one drink.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I should have realised something was wrong when I mentioned in my act ( I'm a standup comic ) that I was staying at the Blue Boar ( the bIggest laugh of the night )
I'm wary of slating hotels, inns etc for the sake of it, but this was an absolute Hell hole
Admittedly, I booked late, but nothing prepared me for the dump I had to endure. £40 (without breakfast ) gave me a room 200 hundred yards from the "inn", across two badly paved car parks and alley ways, it wasn't en suite, the key wouldn't lock my door so it was left open all evening.
You know I've always sympathised with my Eastern European comrades and the accomadation they endure when they come to the UK to work. I never thought I'd have to empathise with them too.

The bedroom was dank with pillows like gossamer. The room was cleanish and devoid of any decoration or warmth. I asked if the heating could be switched on, it wasn't.

Just avoid the place, if your Yell. Com or Booking.com throws up a Premier Inn and it's a few quid more, pay it, it's got to be better than staying at The Blue Boar.
Lazy lazy Landlord taking our money and lying to us about what they can offer. A fre more years of Trip Advisor will get rid of them all.
People, stop complaining about trivial stuff, OK your bacon wasn't so well done etc, let's get rid of the real charlatans in this business
Mark Rough, Comedian

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed in the annex. Lovely rooms with great service. A stay I will always remember!! Cozy!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0ntmatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#9 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#7 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
Old Bath Arms
Old Bath Arms
#14 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boar Inn

Property: Blue Boar Inn
Address: 15 Market Place, Frome BA11 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Hotel Frome
Blue Boar Inn Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing