We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely hotel and restaurant pub”
Review of The Cornerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cornerhouse
Ranked #15 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

What a lovely place the corner house, totally recommend, rooms, food, service ... All in total excellent, I ll be back very soon maybe when I ll go to Glastonbury :)
Fish and chips were the best I ve ever had, the ladies in the pub are good fun and very polite.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giusantis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked a twin ensuite room for one night in this B&B. The location is ideal, with just a short walk into the centre of Frome and ample parking.
We checked in quite late and even though the restaurant was busy the young lady on duty was very friendly and welcoming.
My first impression of the accomodation i must admit, was not great, the carpets leading upstairs were in definate need of a good clean.Our room was a little small, but clean and tidy, with a well stocked tea/coffee tray and a fridge outside containing complementary sparkling water. The bathroom too was clean and well kept. The only mirror in our room was mostly hidden behind the wardrobe however, which proved a little annoying when you are wanting to get ready to go out.This said the beds were very comfy and warm with enough piollows too.
There was a good choice for breakfast but unfortunately they had run out of white bread which for my friend was a little disappointing. The young lady serving breakfast was lovely and very apologetic and offered other alternatives but really we did feel that this was a very strange basic thing to of run out of so early in the morning and should of been replenished quickly.
There was a little confusion over the bill as my friend had booked our room online through late rooms at a special rate. She had thought that by providing her credit card details when booking the room online it meant she had paid before arrival but it became apparent this was not the case. Again the young lady was very apologetic and helpful.
Before we stayed here i looked at The Corner House website, i do feel they have hyped it up somewhat as it is definately not a 4* accomodation in my opinion, but a pleasant B&B with lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLMWestSussexU_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Booked a night here with two twelve year olds so we could get an early start for a day at Longleat. The hotel is an understated building on a street corner (the clue is in the name...) which it took us a couple of circuits to locate. Ground floor bar/restaurant has a smart contemporary feel in spite of the age of the building. We had a very tasteful, good sized family room with comfortable beds (a king size and 2 good singles.) Our only criticism of the accomodation was the huge heated towel rail in the small bathroom being permanently on during what was a very warm couple of days. I gather this is due to the age of the heating system. It did make visiting the bathroom most uncomfortable. The bedroom was generally too warm but the hotel has made adjustments with fans and an air con unit. Not much more they can do.

The restaurant dinner menu looked very interesting but wasn't really 12-year-old-friendly so we only had breakfast in the hotel. There was a good menu and the kitchen accomodated picky children. The milk in the hot drinks, which came from the bar, was off, but was replaced promptly. These things happen and it's the manner of the correction that counts.

My daughter left a vital cuddly toy which the hotel has rescued and are sending home to us. The staff we met were lovely, friendly, polite and helpful people and overall we were very happy with our choice of overnight stop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjthompson1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were on a shot visit as we had a funeral to attend and selected the Corner House for our stay. Our rom was at the top and at the back, o problem with noise at all the room was clean well furnished a little bit small but overall it was fine. The big surprise was dinner, especially reading some of the reviews here, we had an excellent dinner. It was not busy which we felt was a shame as it deserved to be better patronised. All in all we had a good experience and would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Visited the restaurant on a Friday evening. Arrived at 7.30 pm. Despite booking a table for three people we were shown to a table for two with only two places laid ! Once this was sorted we were shown the menus and ordered some drinks - 20 minutes later these still hadn't arrived. We ordered our main courses at 7.40 pm and were still waiting for them at 8.30 pm. The waitress was delightful and friendly but it was obvious that the staff were completely overwhelmed. My lamb dish was totally inedible - I couldn't even get my knife through it. Although the waitress was very apologetic it would have been a nice touch for the manager or the chef to come to the table and offer some sort of apology. I never complain in restaurants but my food was truly awful. The sweets were OK but the portion size was very small given the large price tag which accompanied them. We had to ask twice for our bill - all in all we were there for over two hours and came out hungry! This could be such a lovely restaurant - but the lack of attention to good service and the quality of the food means that sadly we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank r0z1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The bedrooms are contemporary, neat and trendy. Some rooms were clearly for storage and the doors were left open to these, giving a bad impression as you walked through the house. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly, could not be faulted, and we were made to feel very welcome indeed.

Breakfast was adequate, varying temperatures on the food and drink, and a few items on the menu were not available so we had to go without these items - not offered alternatives, but she was very apologetic.

A word of caution, the hotel is on a main road junction and the traffic is noisy all night. There was a chap talking very loudly on his mobile for about half an hour outside my window, at 4.30 am, so if you sleep lightly would perhaps suggest a quieter location.

Also, confirm your pricing before you stay, as we too had to query our final bill. All was fine in the end, but it did involve quibbles.

Room Tip: The family room states 3 beds, but can fit in 4 if you ask - it's a big enough room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyLado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were visiting Frome yesterday as part of the Frome Festival and were due to attend the Brenton Vs Brenton play being held upstairs at the Cornerhouse (which was absolutely fabulous by the way - in fact we might try & get along again later in the week if there are any tickets left).
As the performance was due to start fairly late we thought we'd have a meal at the Cornerhouse first and were very pleased that we did. The staff were warm and friendly and the food really was very good. It was quite expensive and the portion sizes were quite small and we did have to order veggies as a side dish as we quickly realised that none of the meals come with that automatically which I always find annoying (especially when the main meals are already expensive), but the food was good quality so would be worth considering for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Did not use any of the other rooms - but the ladies toilet was clean (although a bit of a maze to fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.8 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#4 of 32 in Frome
422 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#6 of 32 in Frome
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#17 of 32 in Frome
297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orchardleigh House
Orchardleigh House
#2 of 32 in Frome
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornerhouse

Address: 1 Christchurch Street East, Frome BA11 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornerhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cornerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornerhouse Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing