We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Cornerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cornerhouse
Ranked #13 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night & had a splendid night's sleep & a scrummy veggie breakfast with the Sunday papers this morning. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Checked in earlier than advertised - not a problem. Would definitely stay here again. Bar very lively (was Saturday night) but this suited us. Recommended A +++++

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzaminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    45
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
21
51
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The Cornerhouse is a small 10 bedroom upmarket pub with rooms. It is just out of of Frome centre but easy 10 min walk. The room was excellent, the food fantastic , the staff excellent, and free parking at the rear. The WIFi was free but had a technical glitch. Connected but did not not work! Frome is a lovely town to stay a few days in. Excellent shops ESP for books gifts and one of the few remaining independent CD and LP shops bursting with interesting finds.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Good service, attentive staff and great quality food and beers. From a simple sandwich to a 3 course, locally sourced seasonal fare, you will find value and quality in abundance; without being ostentatious or expensive for the sake of it!!
The Cornerhouse also supports local clubs and local artists providing variety, check out the web site for details.
Heartily recommended.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WheelieBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

A quiet night out for a young lady quietly sitting alone on her laptop, was made to feel most uncomfortable at a place that usually runs very well indeed. At least it is, when the boss is around. She had to endure a drunken oaf of a man making lewd and loud remarks to and about her, whilst still being served copious amounts of alcohol by the bar staff who ignored the whole thing. They did not once intervene and the young lady felt obliged herself to leave to avoid any more unpleasantness.
Very sadly it was us who recommended this particular pub to her.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank louiselee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie504128, Manager at The Cornerhouse, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Louise,

Firstly, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take all feedback, good or bad, extremely seriously and we appreciate your feedback.

We have emailed you several times in connection with the review in the hope of obtaining more information regarding your friends experience with us however sadly, we never did receive a response from you.

I would like to stress that all of our staff here are young women who would certainly never tolerate any lewd behavior of any kind and we certainly would not expect any of our customers to be subjected to this either. I would also like to make it clear that we do not allow "drunk" people to continue to be served and we have a zero tolerance policy towards anyone showing signs of this and service is refused immediately.

I have discussed your review in length with my management team and reviewed several days of CCTV around the date of your review being submitted in the hope of identifying the man that may have caused your friend distress however without specific details i have been unable to do so. Please be assured that if anyone is found to be disrespectful or lewd, an immediate ban would be placed and the name offered to our local Pubwatch in the hope of a ban being placed in all pubs.

I do hope this reassures you and your friend that matters such as this are taken very seriously and please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss this further.


Kind regards

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My wife and i stayed the night here for a friends birthday bash (a boozy afair for sure but very well carried off by the staff)
The pub itself is bright and welcoming with a great selection of drinks and of course food.
Our room was a double on suite which was absolutely lovely.
parkign off street to the rear so everything in place.
The town of Frome is just a few minutes away and we had the bonus of Chritmas market to wander around for a few hours.
Great place to stay fully recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We booked the function room in The Cornerhouse for my husband 40th dinner party. From the start of the booking a few weeks before hand the events team where really helpful, providing a wonderful set menu listing as well as being able to fully cater for friends who where cealiacs. I popped round in the afternoon of the birthday dinner to bring some balloons and again the team where all very helpful. The evening was a fantastic success, the food was beyond expectations and everyone loved it. The room was beautiful and atmospheric with music playing in the back ground, and the staff where so nice. All in all, I would not hesitate at all in returning to the function room for an event.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

What a lovely place the corner house, totally recommend, rooms, food, service ... All in total excellent, I ll be back very soon maybe when I ll go to Glastonbury :)
Fish and chips were the best I ve ever had, the ladies in the pub are good fun and very polite.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giusantis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.8 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#9 of 32 in Frome
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
339 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornerhouse

Property: The Cornerhouse
Address: 1 Christchurch Street East, Frome BA11 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornerhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornerhouse Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing