We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out.”
Review of The Cornerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cornerhouse
Ranked #11 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Spent a fabulous evening at The Cornerhouse celebrating with a party of 20. The food and service were excellent. No one kept waiting. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Lovely spacious room upstairs ideal fro private party.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

A great place for a quiet meal, a professionally poured drink, a friendly chat. The manager, Helen, lends the Cornerhouse a well needed professional approach lacking in so many other Frome eateries and bars. Highly highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed at The Cornerhouse for one night. The hotel is in the centre of town and has free parking onsite. We were given Room 2 which, like all the rooms I believe, looks out onto a fairly busy road junction. The room was light, airy and well furnished. The bathroom had an oversized shower, sink and loo. It too was a good size room. Even though the weather was very warm the windows opened wide enough to catch whatever breeze there was so it wasn't unbearably hot. The downside of having the windows open was that the traffic noise flooded in. During the night this wasn't a problem as the traffic died down to next to nothing, but by about 6:30am when Frome started to wake up, we had to close the windows (which did keep the noise out very effectively). The service from all the staff we encountered was friendly, we had a couple of drinks in the bar before going out for a meal and the bar was well stocked and well run. There were lots of locals drinking in there which is always a good sign I think. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Cornerhouse for just one night but must say I was very impressed. The staff were very attentive, room was very nice indeed and although out room faced out on to the main road this was not a problem.
The entertainment in the bar was in fact a practice for the Frome Festival but was amazing and very enjoyable.
The food was very nice and the full english breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. All in all we had a very enjoyable time and would recommend The Cornerhouse. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here for more or less the same weekend every year for the last 5 years at least (including its previous incarnation as The Lamb). The welcome is always warm - friendly staff who are willing to carry your bags up the stairs (even though she was half my size!). Rooms are a nice size and I have always found them to be clean. Decent water pressure in the shower and a great cooked breakfast (if you fancy it) in the morning. Very minor quibble about having to ask for toast this visit, but otherwise efficient service at breakfast. Bar downstairs is lively - great beer and cider on tap and a friendly crowd. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting this part of the country.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E14_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My sister, cousin and I recently stayed a night here for a family reunion. We had a fabulous spacious room for the 3 of us, decent shower. Food was great - the breakfast sandwich was a delicious hangover cure the next morning. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: For us 3 girls, we booked the triple room: 2 single beds and a double - more space than we needed! A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bargill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It was a strange time to want to eat,1500 hrs on a Saturday,obviously strange as quite a few cafes in town were either shut or not taking orders for food so on the way home we thought we would try The Cornerhouse and are we glad we did cos we had an excellent lunch,washed down with a nice glass of prosecco .The meal was lovely and the service excellent and just a nice place to chill .....just what lazy afternoons call for.....TRY IT!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Phillicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
0.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 32 in Frome
394 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#18 of 32 in Frome
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#1 of 2 in Beckington
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
5.9 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornerhouse

Address: 1 Christchurch Street East, Frome BA11 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £66 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornerhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Cornerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornerhouse Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing