We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local establishment”
Review of The Cornerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cornerhouse
Ranked #14 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed at the Cornerhouse to attend a wedding at Orchardleigh House. Great welcome from Tom who checked us in. Lovely spacious room, with good sized en-suite. Enjoyed a couple of drinks late afternoon, pleasant atmosphere with a number of locals. Not too busy for a Saturday. Good nights sleep followed by a smashing freshly cooked English breakfast. Would recommend as an ideal place to stay if going to Orchardleigh.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GMarkC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

The room was fine, the food excellent and the staff very friendly. Unfortunately, on one of the nights that we stayed, there was live music. It was right underneath our room, or at least it felt like it. It was so loud that the floor shook. We couldn't talk to each other - we couldn't hear the television - we couldn't even read. We had been warned that there would be music which was fine but we were not warned that, should we not want to listen it, we ought to go out until 11.15 pm when it finished which we would have been happy to do. It didn't end at 11.15 pm either - by 11.35 pm we were losing the will to live. I emailed the hotel twice to mention this but have not had replies, even though my emails booking the hotel were received, so I have given up and suggest you check if there is live music before you visit. Shame because apart from that, it was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Sleeping above the pub is new experience . Helen was the main staff member who we dealt with. She even moved her own car so we could park, helped find a hotel for us to stay the night after we left. Good food especially the salad. Slept well. Stayed two nights instead of the planned one. Left smiling....do wish there were phones in the room to call the desk in case there was an emergency.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31Jane222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for one night after visiting nearby Longleat (15 mins away). It appears to be a family run/informal style B&B, our room was on the top floor which was the family suite, plenty big enough and decorated nicely. We made several requests to sterilise our baby bottles and refrigerate the milk, of which they were very helpful. The food was lovely, and great friendly atmosphere in the bar/restaurant. Breakfast was also good. Overall I would recommend the cornerhouse for a short stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank lauraJpantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights. I cannot praise the staff enough, helpful, friendly and good at their jobs, nothing was too much trouble - a great asset to this hotel. The room was clean and had everything you needed for your stay. Toiletries, tea/coffee, biscuits all provided. Towels changed every day.

The food on offer here really is extremely good - in fact if it wasnt so far away i would come here for dinner every week! The chef is clearly very talented and deserves lots of praise for his hard work. Breakfast was a great selection with all the cooked items cooked to perfection and delivered within minutes of ordering. Cannot fault it. Would definitely plan to return at some point and am extremely happy to recommend this place to others. For the prices they charge you simply could not do better ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsb0jangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here after spending a day in bath. It's OK! that is all. Communal areas a pretty grotty and tired. Room we had was spacious and bathroom was standard. What improved my score for the cornerhouse was the breakfast - don't think I would have enjoyed 2 nights here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiffSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed in July 2013 - am happy to recommend this place to stay.

Stayed here as visiting Longleat the next day. It is around a 5 mile drive to Longleat so not bad at all.

The staff were welcoming and eager to help. There is a (free) car park out the back and never had an issue getting a space. There are plenty of nearby shops and restaurants or you can go for a drive and find a country pub. Alternatively, they offer dinner at the Cornerhouse although I didn't have it.

The room itself was very comfortable and clean. A good size. Nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. The only niggle is the outside noise - in hot weather if you have the window open then you get noise from the road traffic and drinkers in the pub downstairs. However, by the time I wanted to sleep they had all gone home and the traffic had stopped, so not an issue for me personally and did not affect my stay.

Breakfast very nice and set me up for the day.

Overall I was very pleased with my stay and would stay again. I would recommend it to others happily.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.8 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#4 of 32 in Frome
423 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#6 of 32 in Frome
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#17 of 32 in Frome
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orchardleigh House
Orchardleigh House
#2 of 32 in Frome
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornerhouse

Address: 1 Christchurch Street East, Frome BA11 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £66 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornerhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cornerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornerhouse Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing