We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant stay”
Review of Sun Inn

Sun Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Midlands
1 review
“Unpleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Upon arrival the first issue was parking and the lack of finding an available space on the street. Service was quick and helpful and the manager fulfilled all of our requests. The pub area, rooms, breakfast area and hall ways were of very poor cleanliness which made the stay uncomfortable for me. The shower pressure was very weak and the plug hole was heavily blocked thus water almost overflowed out of the shower tray. The bedroom door looked like it had been broken from its hinges as the frame was damaged and a lick of paint appeared to be the only remedy. Breakfast was satisfactory with a fair standard of bacon and sausage used.

The building is quite remarkable and a very unique and pleasant feature of the town. Frome is a very nice, clean and worthwhile place to visit and I am back this weekend working in the local area, unfortunately I have decided not to choose the Sun Inn as the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVUK00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    2
    3
    9
See reviews for
2
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Cleanliness poor, pub atmosphere so be prepared for noise late into the evening. No parkling available. Would have been nice to have seen a menu at breakfast and had choice of white or brown bread. Was cooked well and adequate. Very old building with a certain element of rustic charm, in need of some general maintenance. Polite friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AircooledDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frome hotels

Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Room was shabby and needed a good make-over, breakfast was minimal and very basic. The hallway carpet was filthy. If you want a lie in, do not stay here as the owners seem to have a small child who charges about upstairs across the creaking floorboards from about 6 in the morning! There was no car park or street parking as double yellow out the front. We did not have an en-suite, and it was overpriced at £60 for the quality of room and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireBlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Most enjoyable stay, warm and friendly arrival, smoke free atmosphere, good selection of hot hearty meals, Clean large rooms, Nice garden with heaters, will go again thanks to the staff.

Frome a nice area with lots of different things to see and do !

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — the steep hil to the town
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Anyone who is over 40 will remember the 70's sitcom Rising Damp and this is just what this hotel is like.

We were booked into this hotel by a Dive Centre as my husband was diving at nearby Vobster Quay. When they sent us the confirmation I checked the website and the room looked okay, but I think the picture must have been taken 20 years ago.

When we arrived they took us to the room, which was the most revolting room I have ever seen. The landlord said 'it's not en suite but the bathroom is only up the corridor and you're only sharing with one other guest' There was a towel on the bed that looked as though it was 10 years old, all discoloured and virtually bald.

The bedroom window was open and below was a very very noisy beer garden, where everyone was drunk, very loud and smoking, so all the smoke was coming into the room and this was at 3 o'clock in the afternoon.

When I complained that the room was not en suite, I was told that if I didn't like it, i'd still have to pay and go and find somewhere else. The landlady was so rude and when we walked round the back of the bar to go up to the room, she was slagging me off at the top of her voice.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world, some better than others but I have NEVER refused to stay somewhere as it is so bad. I have even written good reviews for places i've stayed that have had bad reviews as they were not that bad, but this place was the worst hotel (if you could call it that) I have ever seen.

Avoid at all costs, do not EVER stay at this horrendous place.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank jillyrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnFrome, proprietor at Sun Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2008
An unfortunate turn of events.

This lady and gentleman were booked into The Sun Inn with 3 others through a dive centre. It was clearly stated when the booking was made that 2 of the rooms were not en-suite so they would be sharing a bathroom with 1 other member of their party. We also explained our 48hrs cancellation policy. Unfortunately, it seems like the guests were not given this information.

The lady was mostly upset that the room did not have an en-suite bathroom but was more than happy to swap to another room if she could have an en-suite. We explained that we were fully booked and that she should speak to the dive centre regarding the booking.

The lady then asked if there was anywhere else she could stay so we explained that we were fully booked so it was suggested that she try one of the other local B&B's.

When she was told that the cost of the room would still be charged she was outraged and rather abusive. We explained that we held a strict cancellation policy to which the lady exclaimed 'what woman would stay in a hotel with no en-suite?' She was again referred back to the dive centre who had made the booking on their behalf.

We would like to add that all other members of the dive party stayed at our establishment and were more than happy with the standards and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
2.7 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#10 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bath Arms
Old Bath Arms
#19 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: 6 Catherine Street, Frome BA11 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Sun Inn Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing