We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and a great stay”
Review of Taumata B&B

Taumata B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taumata B&B
Ranked #8 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited Taumata in April, we wanted to stay close to Bath but not very central and this seemed like the perfect setting. Andy had steeped in to run the B&B while his friends were away and he was doing a splendid job for a first timer. He was kind enough to reserve a table for us at a pub across the street which serves great food and good brew. The breakfast is decent and sumptuous. It is absolutely worth the price.

It is a place I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank AkhilLalwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilLanning, Guest Relations Manager at Taumata B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time time to provide feedback, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Taumata. Sorry we missed you on this occasion, but glad Andy & Sally took good care of you. Hopefully we'll meet should you be in the area again. Best regards - Neil & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Taumata B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent two nights in the Taumata B&B near Frome. It is a very friendly, well run family B&B with well decorated cosy rooms and great service! The bed is extremely comfy and we slept very well both nights. Modern and clean bathroom with shower and vanity, enough space for all your travel toiletries and a nice towel warmer too!

The breakfast was extremely good, all fresh local meat and food, with the eggs being laid by their own free range hens! Plenty of cereal, fruit and fruit juice as-well as a full English, what more could you want?

The B&B is very easy to get to as-well, being directly opposite the Bell Inn, with a large driveway to park your car on. I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in or around the Frome area, one very happy customer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilLanning, Guest Relations Manager at Taumata B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I rarely write reviews on places I have stayed at but with the Taumata guest house its hard not to write a review as its been a great place to stay whilst visiting and working in Frome Somerset. Its a bed and breakfast in the true sense, its friendly welcoming and an extension of a family home. Denise and Neil the owners have a real skill in making all their guest feel very welcome. The house is very conformable and clean, and the breakfasts are exceptional especially the eggs which are from the chickens that live in a tree near by but that a whole other story. Taumata guest house Frome Somerset highly recommended ( its also next door to a great pub too )

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I visited this B&B with a friend after a day of diving in a nearby quarry. From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel very welcome by the owner. The house itself is beautifully decorated, very nice and warm (it was very cold and miserable outside) and contained lots of smiling faces! We were even able to hang our wet diving gear in the garage.

The room was very clean, the beds comfortable, shower warm and the WIFI free and fast. Not much more we could have asked for, really. Also, apart from a (very) brief period thanks to the neighbours, it was extremely quiet and peaceful and we had a very restful sleep. The following morning we received a huge breakfast (and my friend received a bespoke vegetarian breakfast, complete with all the trimmings) - very tasty.

And to top it all off, the pub next door serves incredible food and we received a 5% discount as guests of the B&B.

All round a fantastic experience and I shall be recommending this place to all I know!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilLanning, Guest Relations Manager at Taumata B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time on Trip Advisor. Our neighbours are lovely, but mum and dad were away and the eldest had a party to celebrate getting a job after graduating. They were very apologetic the following morning, and I also thank you for your tolerance for the short time during the evening the their celebrations went on outside (not normal).

We look forward to seeing you next time you dive at Vobster.

Best regards

Neil & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Taumata is a lovely little gem and incredibly good value (I couldn't have had a better breakfast anywhere else!). Neil and Denise are lovely hosts who made me feel welcome and at home from the moment I arrived! They are genuinely friendly and Neil even made sure to pick me up from my dinner so I could have an extra glass of wine and wouldn't have to drive!
Thanks a million, I will always come back when in the area!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa_august
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilLanning, Guest Relations Manager at Taumata B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The room & house is lovely and warm (a priority for me). My room was clean and comfortable and, although I didn't need it this time, there is a refreshingly good amount of space for hanging clothes etc., so 2 people for longer would be equally comfortable. The bed was comfortable firm but not too hard as many are. The en-suite was small but more than adequate and shower easy to use and hot!
Mine hosts, Neil and Denise, were friendly and very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Little touches like fresh milk & iced drinking water placed in the room make a difference.
Breakfast was superb, tasty eggs from their own hens and local produce, plenty of it too, not to mention choice of cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit... all served with a smile.
I took advantage of the evening Lite Bites and packed lunches also offered and perfect for my requirements.
I thoroughly recommend Taumata, couldn't fault it, and it would make a perfect base for visiting Bradford - on - Avon, Trowbride, Frome, Bath etc all easy distance away. I was doing a course nearby and will certainly use them again. Excellent value. Thank you Neil and Denise :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThimbleBBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilLanning, Guest Relations Manager at Taumata B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with other travellers and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. You are most welcome to visit any time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chose this B and B based on the reviews. It is situated in the countryside and because of this we experienced a lot of flies in the room, they kept getting in somehow even with the windows shut. The room we feel was only average. There was an adjoining door in our en-suite to another bedroom and we could clearly hear another couple through it. The electric sockets consisted of an extension lead fed through the wall from an adjoining room. The bathroom light above the sink cut out after 15 mins as it got too hot so not too good if you are applying make-up.
On the plus side the breakfast was lovely and it was nicely situated for visiting Frome.
We didn`t get time to play one of the 42 board games in our room either!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squeaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilLanning, Guest Relations Manager at Taumata B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are obviously disappointed and somewhat surprised by your comments based on other guest’s reviews, and that you never raised any of these points with us at the time of your stay.

On the day you stayed with us there were a lot of flies. We are not sure why, and this is not normal. I can only guess that it was due to the weather changes.

With respect to the room, there is an adjoining door in the ensuite bathroom which leads into my office, and remains locked, and therefore the voices you heard was either me on the telephone or Denise talking to me, either way this would have been for a short time between 5 - 6pm, certainly no later and you were out all evening. Had you let us know that you wanted silence when you arrived, we would have postponed the activity in the office.

With respect to the electric supply there are 2 sockets by the dressing table. The extension lead has been put in to help guests to charge mobile phones / laptops etc. Following your feedback we will look at adding additional sockets built into the wall as opposed to an extension lead (which is an airing cupboard).

Again following your feedback, an electrician has been booked to look at the light in the bathroom above the sink. We test the light on a regular basis, but obviously not for 15 minutes. We will arrange for an additional light to be installed above the dressing table mirror to assist with the application of make-up.

There are board games in the room, but again these could have been removed had you requested. We hadn’t ever had complaints about this before as there is a double wardrobe, and ample other drawers that guests can use.

Thanks for the positive feedback on the breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
3.6 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
482 reviews
2.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 32 in Frome
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
355 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#1 of 2 in Beckington
453 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taumata B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taumata B&B

Address: Taumata Cock Road | Buckland Dinham, Frome BA11 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taumata B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly B&B set in a quiet Somerset village. Our en-suite room is spacious enough to fit another bed in for families. It also has a four poster bed. There is also a twin room & double room. Our full English breakfast is second to none, with free range eggs from our hens. There is ample off road parking, and we are situated very close to the Bell Inn for great aale and food. We offer free WiFi to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taumata B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taumata B&B Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing