We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cold food, expensive, rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Court - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Imperial Court
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cold food, expensive, rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

6 of us went for the 'buffet', the place was dark (no lights on) freezing cold (no heating on) very complicated method of ordering, you have to order a few dishes and eat them before ordering more, so if you want a starer with the main you cant ? the food was bland, greasy and tasted full of MSG, the guy who served us was rude, charged us adult price for children (they were under 10) and had a massive argument when we refused to pay the adult price for them, I didnt realise when kids reach the age of 10 they become adults ? would rather starve than go back there !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angeladylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We discovered this restaurant on our way from stonehenge. Extremely excellent service, friendly people, good decors. The food was amazing. We had noodles, rice with chicken n mushroom dishes. Delicate taste and perfection. Must try Duck.
Indeed had some beers outside , since it was a warm day. perfect !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stenz_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food and friendly staff :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My family and I have been coming here for years, we love the new management as the new staff are always friendly and helpful. My daughter is a vegetarian which can be a problem at some restaurants but here she always has plenty of choice which is GREAT. The portions are generous and the food always tastes great. I would definitely recommend the chicken with ginger and spring onions !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Used to be a great Chinese restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

what a change! this used to be a great typical Chinese restaurant, now run by Indians who substitute stale peanuts for cashew nuts in dishes, and only scatter them on the top!
The Ginger and spring onion lamb had ginger powder not pieces of ginger. Alas the last time we go there, used to be a regular haunt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jq002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“did i go to the same place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

read reviews and really did not know what to expect.\booked a table for 4 and was suspicious when, upon arrival, we were able to double the number of patrons ie 8 people in a large restaurant. Were the reviews right and was this going to be a disaster? Staff were very friendly and helpful when taking our order and advised/ suggested courses to cover both carnivors and herbivores .Could not believe the number of dishes which made up our order, Food was EXCELLENT The size of the bill certainly did not reflect the amount or the quality of the food.
We would have no hesitation to use this restaurant again and to recommend it to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brutoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imperial Court also viewed

Frome, Somerset
Beckington, Frome
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing