We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all bad”

The Horse and Groom
Ranked #37 of 100 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 17Th Century Country Pub with Traditional values. Large Garden with seating and Smoking Shelter seats 12 on three tables of four. Beautiful setting with walks, rides, drives through lanes and woods. 2 Miles from stunning Longleat House, 12 miles Bath and Trowbridge, 2 miles quirky and arty little town of Frome. Local ales and ciders straight from the cask. Eight wines by the glass or bottle. Great choice of non alcoholic hot and cold beverages. Huge menu with loads to choose from for vegetarians and fish lovers. Meal deals with two set courses for a fiver Monday to Thursday lunch and evening, and Friday evening. Saturday night is Steakout Night with excellent steaks served with Chunky Chips, Peas, Mushrooms, Onions and Tomatoes, at silly prices. Roast Lunches must not be missed Sunday lunch and evening, although there are plenty of other choices on offer. A warm welcome is extended to all customers by staff and regulars
Mere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not all bad”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We popped into the Horse and Groom this week for dinner. It was a lovely evening so sat outside it what is a lovely garden. We both enjoyed the meals that were presented to use and portion sizes were just right.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddieoz0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    9
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get the basics right please”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This pub has so much going for it. On the edge of Longleat, dog/horse friendly and an amazing setting, but gets so many things wrong it is a crime!

I see a recent review makes a reference to "use it or lose it" which this pub mentions on their (not great) website, menus etc. However, they will lose it, unless they make a few improvements.

Firstly, employ decent quality staff. People don't want to be served by in-experienced, not particularly welcoming, scared/uncomfortable looking staff behind the bar - probably because that's exactly how they feel! A happy looking, confident and experienced person would dramatically improve things. Yes, they may cost more per £ to employ, but you get what you pay for! A small cost for the benefits they could bring.

Secondly, sort out the service! Kind of relates to the staff issue, but for goodness sake, don't have people waiting hours for their food! Why should the customer have to wait an un-reasonable amount of time?

Thirdly, re-think the menu - Some pubs may think it is great to have such a wide selection of food on their menu. However, this is no doubt one of the reasons people are waiting so long for their food. Have less things on there and get them right and served efficiently. Instead of having a long list of things which are often served too late and not high enough quality.

Finally - for now - stop using this "begging" type of message. Use it or lose it. That is a massive turn off for the consumer. If you get the above right, you might find people will naturally use it. Plus, no point getting more people to use it, if you can't keep up with the demand anyway!

Once the above improvements are made, then you could start to try and attract the Longleat visitors, sort out the website and that hideous looking conservatory!

This isn't intended to be rude. Just some suggestions I hope helps. Good luck.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank hnkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“EMPLOY MORE STAFF !!!!! PLEASE EMPLOY MORE STAFF…..”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I write this review in order to save the horse and groom.First off its a great pub have eaten and sunk many a pint here over the years.The food is of a high quality the beer good so what do i have to complain about.?
On the pubs website they encourage people to use the pub with USE IT OR LOSE IT..well i would like to use it but i can't get served.To open a business on bank holiday Monday with one person serving food and serving drinks and a young lad trying to help out is a joke.If this was the first time staff ill etc then i understand but this happens all the time.Even one of the regulars said no chance of getting tipsy today.If i come to eat i will arrive as the pub opens then i am guaranteed to get served in a normal manner on time.
If you want your pub to flourish employ more staff who know what they are talking about.You are losing a lot of business and a mean a lot of business.Summers coming up so its a busy time of year its not too late. Hopefully this will be a wake up call you need ask your regular customers what they think….Good Luck

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorable for all the wrong reasons”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Terrible service, two and a half hours to get two courses. Took a full hour for the starters to come, as only 2 of us had starters, the other 2 had to just watch and wait! However, it got worse, whilst the starters were ok, not as advertised though, the mains were the WORST food me and my sister-in-law have ever eaten, or not eaten, as it was inedible! To balance this review, whilst not the best food they have eaten, my husband and brothers mains, were ok. Will not return, shame as local to us. Perhaps this pub relies on visitors to the area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chezm377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surly lack of service at The Gruesome Horse”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I called in this pub today whilst on my first cycle ride of the year. I stopped outside and asked a lady working outside (the landlady, I believe) if they were still serving. "Oh yes", she said. "But we've stopped doing food". It was 2.55pm and I didn't want to eat, so that was fine. However, on entering the bar and squeezing past the 3 or 4 locals stood at the bar with their pint glasses 3/4 full, I asked for a pint of Butcombe.....
"Sorry, we stop serving at 2.30", said the surly barmaid with a barely concealed smile. I politely pointed out that the lady outside had said that they were open but not doing food. "Nope. We stop serving at 2.30".
At this I shrugged and walked out. I grabbed my bike, helmet and gloves and, on walking past the lady who I had first spoken to, told her what had happened. Just then a voice called out from the pub door. "Kaff!" For I think the landlady must be called Kath. "Kaff, did you tell this bloke we was still servin'?"
"Yes, but not for food. Did he ask for food?"
"No, just a Butcombe".
"Well, give him a pint of Butcombe, then!".
At which I continued past the confused landlady and rode home to Frome, where I am now sat in the delightful Three Swans and writing a scathing review of the Gruesome Horse.
Business must be very good in East Woodlands for them to be able to employ staff who not only don't know the pub opening times, are surly and think it's funny to turn away customers while their friends are stood at the bar drinking.
I won't be going back there in a hurry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ganesfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horse and Groom also viewed

 
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Frome, Somerset
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing