We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for Improvement”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Room for Improvement”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Was on a business trip, got a twin bedroom for £70 a night.
Beds were OK, bedroom floor when walked on creaks. The noises generated after flushing the toilet and for the tank to refill again took just under a minute. Very disappointed with Wi Fi signal in room, literally no signal at all. The strongest signal you will get is in the breakfast room which does give very good speed. The wall power sockets are situated away from the beds, which causes inconvenience if you wish to charge your phone while having it beside your bed. The car park does need a bit of improvement and when I turn up there was no proper parking space due to a number of cars parking in between two spaces. Breakfast is not massive portion but of pretty good quality. Staffs are friendly.
Overall considering the price I paid I probably am expecting more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curious0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    120
    45
    22
    8
See reviews for
55
137
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The staff could not be more friendly and welcoming. However, we arrived with 4 kids and had to go into the bar to get the keys. Our room was stiffling with heat and opening the windows welcomed in the load hum of a generator. Our plumbing was not good - the toilet did not flush - and the cold tap in the bath did not work. Although these were pointed out they were only partly sorted out. The location was great - but the car park was unusable (my Landrover was too high - and I would challenge anyone to use it unless they have a tiny car) - and parking in Frome was a challenge. Make sure you read all the signs about the market !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The George Hotel is situated in the centre of Frome, which is a beautiful little town full of historic buildings. A very warm welcome awaits you from the staff and the bedroom was light and airy,well presented and very clean with a comfortable bed. The hotel has a good menu and the breakfast was very good with a great choice of options. The public rooms are a little basic but as the hotel is old it is acceptable. The hotel has its own secure parking which is great as the town centre is lacking in parking although there is disabled parking outside the front door of the hotel. I can recommend it as a good B and B which has a good following from the local people. We had a smoking room which did not smell of tobacco, no standing in the rain....great!

Room Tip: Request your needs at time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed overnight in a single room at the George in Frome, whist my mum and dad had a twin room, as we were going to a party at the Frome Rugby club.
Both bedrooms were quite large, nice and clean, with everything in fine working order...
My mum and ada enjoyed staying in their room, no complaints from them, in fact they said the bed was very comfortable
At 45 pounds for my single room this was not bad value... it also had breakfast thrown in as well.
The George is on the main High street, with a pub next door, so there was a lot of clanking of bottles at around 12:30am, when the pub next door was putting its bottles out for the night..
The George is right in the middle of Frome, so ideal if you want to walk around the shops. the rugby club was only a 6 quid taxi ride away... so it wasnt too bad..
There is undercover and locked parking behing the hotel, so your car will be very safe..

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave9960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingfield
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Town centre location, ideal for staying overnight when attending concert at Cheese and Grain - literally a two/three minute walk away. Staff extremely pleasant (service with a smile), food good and varied choice of menu. Only gripe is that it was a little noisy trying to get to sleep, but fully expected due to its location on the "high street". No problems with room (bigger than anticipated, with a balcony) and everything there to make our stay comfortable. Also a bonus was the secure car parking, no hassle trying to find a space. Thank you "George" for a very pleasant stay and we look forward to returning when next in Frome.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiloLingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsdown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at The George during the Frome festival. For both work and leisure I stay in many hotels in the UK and I have never encountered such friendly and helpful staff as I did at the George. The hotel itself may be a 3-4 star but the service is easily 5 star. It was good value for money and the room was clean and well equipped. It was a bit noisy which meant we had to have the windows closed despite it being hot but you can expect to pay the reasonable prices they charge and have air conditioning. Breakfast was lovely and I have already recommended this hotel to family..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madbird2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#13 of 32 in Frome
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#9 of 32 in Frome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
343 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
448 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 5 Market Place, Frome BA11 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing