We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for visiting area”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

stayed at the george for three nights whilst visiting the area, a great base for visiting longleat, stonehenge and bath etc.
fabulous staff, really friendly and helpful, specially suzanne, thank you.
breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice and cooked to perfection
Had a meal in the restaurant one evening and it was really good, in fact it was better than really good it was superb, and i would highly recommend the apple and strawberry crumble.
All in all i would recommend highly and would give staff 11 out of 10 for such fabulous service

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnec1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

A very nice and well run hotel. The bedrooms are well appointed, nice big bathroom with a perfect shower which is unusual. Try and get one of the 1st floor rooms overlooking the main rd. it has big French doors opening onto a balcony, saves going down to the street for a smoke, although they do have smoking rooms but I wpuldn't fancy that as they usually smell. Breakfast is served until 10.00 am, very civilised. The staff are friendly and the restaurant always seems busy, although I didn't have a chance to try it. The remarks on some of the reviews


about the car park are ridiculous, it is easily accessible and is free.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelevy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here for a function, had a large and comfortable room at the front of the hotel. Tea and coffee making facilities in room were handy. Tv etc. Roomy bathroom with nice toiletries. Comfy bed. Breakfast included which was lovely. Reasonable rates. Enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzieloo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Nice menu, different items from the usually pub grub. I had home made shortcrust pasty lamb and apricot pie love.

Thank sulby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Decent food at decent prices. Nothing special. Shame about the mass produced bread in the ploughman's: the bread should be the centrepiece of a Ploughman's, not an afterthought.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sampiper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in a small family room which could have done with a bit of TLC. There was evidence of water leaks on the external wall. Other than that the room was comfortable enough.
We had dinner and breakfast which were both very good and well presented.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Only down side was the noise from the street outside until 3.30 am. Gives some credence to the lager lout culture that grabs so many of the headlines in recent years. Shame because it spoilt our stay and it is totally not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
621 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#2 of 2 in Beckington
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#11 of 32 in Frome
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
368 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#1 of 2 in Beckington
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#18 of 32 in Frome
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 5 Market Place, Frome BA11 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing