We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Large rooms, decent bathroom, good breakfast, close to Bath - overall good value for money. Don't go expecting a 5 star hotel, they are a country B&B and don't pretend to be anything other than that. I was quite happy with my stay - recommended if you are travelling on a budget and don't want to spend a fortune on accommodation. You will get a comfortable room, good food and friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbieIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

We met up with friends and stayed here in February 2013. I was very impressed considering the cost. The room was a decent size and the bed was massive and very comfortable. Our friends had the four poster room which was lovely and large. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they were very friendly and pleasant. The food, both evening meal and breakfast were extremely good and tasty, and plenty of it. I think anyone who complains is expecting a bit too much for their money! Also, we changed our dates at the last minute due to bad weather which was no problem atall with the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailj_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Room was ok. ensuite bathroom was tiny. some of the decor needed to be sorted, peeling wallpaper and damp spots. breakfast was really nice. Parking was odd. Had to go behind the hotel and find the tight entrance into the secure car park after getting a key/pass from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikipedia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Took my disabled daughter to the George hotel. Although there are no lifts as it is a very old building the young staff went out there way to help make our stay as easy as possible. I look forward to using this hotel again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanw1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I took a group of 9 divers to this pub / hotel in Frome. I had to change people around and do a bit of room-shuffling beforehand but they were unphased and helpful. Over a very busy weekend (Christmas lights switch on in Frome) the staff were attentive and friendly. They found us a table for dinner even though the place was packed and they could not have been nicer.
The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noisy if there is anything going on in the Market Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AylesburyDiver_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

A very poorly signposted car park, to the extent that there are no signs at all until you are driving in to it did not provoke the best of moods on arrival. However, check in at the bar was quick and easy and we were initially pleasatly surprised with our room. At a very quick glance the room is large and had a balcony over looking the market town, the bed is clean and we can ignore the stains, peeling paint and old bathroom (its just for one night after all).

I had taken note of previous reviews recommending that the rooms at the rear of the hotel are given a wide berth because of noise, unfortunately although our room was at the front (purely by chance) I hardly slept a wink. I don't think the hard, lumpy pillows helped but the constant noice was beyond a joke. The noise from the road was bad enough, double glazing may be an idea to reduce the sounds of lorries deliverying in the early hours and general traffic?! There was also a couple of lads banging on the front door after hours to be let in and what sounded like a heavy trolley being wheeled around outside in the hallway and in the rooms above. Horrendous night,

The service at breakfast was fine and the full english was acceptable, although my opinion of this is probably tarnished due to my lack of sleep. I would not stay here again if the need arose and would advise others to think twice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Had to check in by way of the bar....No problem
Yes it is a little difficult to locate the parking garage, but got there in the end.
Room was single on the top floor, no view but this is a market town people!
Room was clean and had plenty of tea and coffee, bed comfy.

Breakfast was really good.
Would I stay again...without doubt. Great bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyluck788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
511 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
224 reviews
7.2 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#13 of 32 in Frome
164 reviews
0 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#18 of 32 in Frome
298 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 5 Market Place, Frome BA11 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing