We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One perfect meal....”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One perfect meal....”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

One great but the chips let it down. Popped in on a Saturday night, table had a few remnants of the previous persons meal which I eventually flicked off the table after getting tired of waiting. Food took a while to come. Menu was not clear my husband ordered the ham, chips and eggs and we thought it was £5.95. It was however £8.50 it turns out the other price was for a small portion. His meal was nice but the hand cut chips were vile. Looked old and reheated? Food took a while to come but mine was absolutely lovely. I had a jacket potato with bacon, Stilton and mushrooms and a salad with a lovely dressing. It was perfect. Was a fair price too. I think the ham egg and chips was over priced. Will eat again though it was only the chips that let it down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Evilkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    116
    41
    21
    7
See reviews for
55
129
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one Sunday night in May 2013. We were able to park in a secure parking garage just behind the hotel which was a plus considering that the hotel is in the centre of Frome. We were given a really lovely, spacious room which looked as if it had been recently refurbished. The décor and furnishings were first class and the room was spotlessly clean. The staff members we dealt with were extremely friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant in the early evening and the food was very good. The breakfast was good, too. As in another review, the outside of the hotel does look slightly shabby but this belies the interior. I would recommend this hotel. Frome is a lovely town and we will return to stay at the George - there are some shops I would like to visit, which were closed on Bank Holiday Monday!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie2537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked this hotel for one night in April,as it was in the centre of Frome, On arrival we at midday we had access to a locked parking area despite not being able to book in till 14.00. The hotel has a large bar and it was packed and the outside looked a bit shabby so was a bit aprendhensive what we would find !.
But we could not fault the room lovely white fresh sheets and towels,nice decor, bottled spring water .Bathroom clean and had amazing shower, we had a room at the front so it was a bit noisy until about 2 am.
Breakfast menu excellent and the food was cooked freshly the staff where lovely and could not do enough for you.
We also had lunch when we arrived which was also nice.The first Sunday of every month Frome have a massive street market , well worth a visit lots of treats and different items.
Thank you to all the staff at The George for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms or take ear plugs !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumblebee085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we were taking our 3yr old to a visit to Longleat the following day. The room was fine, slightly tired in places but it was clean and the towels and sheets were spotless. The family room had one double bed and one single, and an en suite with a bath as well as shower. Even though it was extensively a pub with rooms they were very accommodating with our little boy. They had put a fan in the room (as we're having a heatwave) but we also had the windows open, we were at the back of the hotel and we didn't have any noise disruption at all. Breakfast was fine and plentiful and staff were very accommodating. For a good value (£75 for 2 adults and a 3 yr. old) family stay whom are visiting Longleat (10- 15 mins drive away) I would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

One thing you expect from a hotel - regardless of the star-rating or price - is the ability to have a good night's sleep. This is not possible at the George Hotel. The pub, part of the same business, played dance music into the early hours, with thumping base just below our room.

We were also next to what must have been the staff room or upstairs kitchen as we could hear noisy staff talking loudly throughout the night. To make matters worse, they fired up the washing machines in the next door utility room at 7.30am.

When we surfaced, more tired than when we went to bed, I was told it would be a 20 minute wait for a continental breakfast!

It was fairly cheap and the location is good. But it's not enough to make up for this poor hotel.

To make matters worse, we got home to find that the booking agent had charged us and the hotel and then taken a separate payment for the stay. In the process of trying to get refund.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerner333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had a roast Sunday 23rd June lovely staff very friendly will be going again. The food was excellent and the children were welcomed and they had a bowl of proper home made chips. I would recommend the ice cream.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Had a quick lunch here on a Saturday; service was very friendly, and the menu was large and good value. It was nice to see you could choose a smaller portion size for a lower price. The service was very quick and efficient, and we managed to make use of a £5 off voucher for spending over £20 which we printed off via their website. Overall it was good value and we'd go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senorita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#13 of 32 in Frome
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#9 of 32 in Frome
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
339 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
444 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 5 Market Place, Frome BA11 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing