We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we will be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“we will be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Spent one night last weekend at this Hotel as we were going to a concert at the Cheese & Grain, which is just a couple of minutes walk from there. The room was cosy & clean, lovely bathroom & very comfortable bed. Had a drink & something to eat in the bar before the concert & the prices were very reasonable & as the bar is open until midnight we had another drink to round off a fantastic evening! Breakfast very nice & plentiful. You can help yourself to cereals, fruit & yogurts (in date!) & then a choice of cooked breakfast. I had poached eggs on toast & my husband had the full english - both very nice. Lovely stay & great value.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 overlooking the main street which was slightly noisy but we don't mind tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    105
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
51
116
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in The George Hotel for two nights. The room was warm and comfortable , even had a balcony. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful.
All the staff are very pleasant, and nothing is too much trouble.
Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hughierhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

From the outside, The George looked alright and indeed the bar area seemed pleasantly lively.
We were greeted warmly and received our keys, but on going through to the accommodation, the state of the place deteriorated, with dirty, holed and threadbare carpets throughout.
On entering our room (221) we were confronted with a grubby carpet and a huge, floor to ceiling damp patch in the right hand far corner, next to the single bed in this family room.
The beds were, however, clean, neat and very comfortable.
The shower was hot and powerful.
After an admittedly sound sleep, my son and I headed to breakfast.
All seemed okay, until my son noticed that the use by date on his yoghurt stated 28th November - this being 7th December. On inspecting the other breakfast yoghurts, all were dated at the end of November. This was all photographed and is on my Facebook page.
As we checked out, we showed this to the receptionist, who proffered the explanation that the offending items had only been delivered this week and that they'd look into it.
If this is the George's kitchen inspection policy, I'd advise that visitors eat elsewhere.
No compensative action was forthcoming.
Fuzz Townshend

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzTownshend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for just one night to attend a concert at 'The Cheese And Grain' venue, which turned out to be only a few minutes walk away. We had found the free covered car park at the rear prior to checking in, and although we had arrived before the check-in time, we were able to have our room early. The reception area was not in use, so we were checked in at the bar, by the bar staff. Being a Saturday lunchtime the staff were very busy dealing with the bar and were unable to provide the normal type of service you would expect from a hotel. The staff were polite and efficient despite being under pressure. The hall and stairs leading to our room was in need of some TLC and we feared our room would be the same. There was no need to have worried, the room was lovely. A spacious, warm, clean room with a king sized bed, smart decor and a good bathroom. The room was at the front of the hotel which meant there was some traffic noise, and some noise from late night revelers, but it didn't last long. Breakfast was served in a section of the bar area and was generally very good. The busy staff provided a good service that was befitting of the location. We felt we had stayed in a pub, rather than an hotel, but that's not to say there was anything wrong with that. We would be more than happy to stay at The George Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are on the main road. We would request a room at the rear in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The George is a traditional hotel based in the Centre of Frome. It has character, particularly when compared to the similarly priced but soulless budget Travelodge and Travel Inn. My room was clean and comfortable with complimentary bottle of water and biscuits, the shower was new and very efficient. The secure Car Park at the rear is a nice touch.

It is owned by the Wadworths chain with good selection of beers and lager on tap. The staff are extremely friendly and obliging, breakfast officially starts at 7.30am but they will happily supply a cup of tea, toast , cereal etc from 7.00am, I also noticed some of my fellow guests skipped the cooked breakfast but were provided with hot sandwiches to go! An excellent service if you are in a rush.
When I booked my stay they had a £5 voucher on the website to use when you spend £20 on food and drink in a single visit.
The dinner menu in the restaurant is cheap and reasonably tasty. No evidence of home-cooking though, it is a pub-chain after all and 90% is straight from the microwave- so it comes very hot!

My only gripes were
1. Failure of pub staff to wipe the table clean of food and mess after clearing plates/glasses, and before setting down the food. This seems to be a recurring theme I noticed on other reviews and may be down to overworked staff, but no excuse as it looks slovenly and smacks of poor hygiene standards.
2. The "seasonal" fruit crumble contained mainly tinned apricots and a hint of apple, no evidence of any flour in the crumble ( sticky caramelised sugar on top) . The whole thing was oversweet and inedible, and microwaved to death. They apologised and took it off my bill without being asked

Overall about 7/10 , could be higher if they improved the hygiene in the bar, but I would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPTraveller241158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed for one night. It felt safe and secure- our car was locked away in the customer car park which we had a key for with our room key. It was a lovely building with lots of character, our double room was perfect size, very clean and nicely furnished, and the complementary cookies made it all the better! The shower was powerful, warm and clean, especially considering it was an old building. We ate in the evening in the bar/restaurant and the food was really nice, and good value for money. Breakfast was complementary, with a good variety and tasted great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even if they were a bit overworked in the evening! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollydeeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Pick from a random selection I should say this hotel lived up to the comments from previous visitors. As rated above the accommodation was very good, clean, spacious with a very good shower (not always the case in some hotels). Breakfast was excellent with a range that would I believe served everyone's taste (this included porridge). Only down side was that on arrival (6.30pm on a wet Sunday night) the request for an evening meal was turned down as the meal service was closing at 7pm despite the tariff stating evening meals served until 9pm. Not a problem if one is aware of this situation, has anyone tried to get a meal in Frome on a wet Sunday night, having received several directions to various restaurant's from our host that did not prove very helpful, finally we did come across a Pub/Pizza house called The Bath Arms (highly recommended). All in all good place to stay

Room Tip: Only had one room, assume all others were similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#11 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#9 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 5 Market Place, Frome BA11 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing