We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel that time forgot”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The hotel that time forgot”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After reading other's reviews on here I remained optimistic about visiting The George in the hope that we'd been assigned one of the refurbished rooms. To my horror, we hadn't. We were met with dirty, stained walls and carpet, light fittings hanging off the walls and rather unsafe looking fixtures and fittings. The hotel itself felt very unloved and unkept, with the carpets on the staircases peeling off (that should've been the first giveaway that the room was not going to be of any standard) and I dreaded pulling back the duvet on the bed. However, the story has a semi-happy ending, after requesting to move rooms a few times, on the third attempt we were given a semi-decent room right at the front of the hotel. It was alright, slightly cleaner than the last two rooms, but still - i'd request to stay in the newer/refurbished part of the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    114
    41
    21
    6
See reviews for
55
127
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

For the money paid (single room, one night, weekday) you can't really complain, but the tiredness of the decor really lets this hotel down.

I was in 217.....The carpet has stains, damp marks above the window, old fixing holes in the walls (simple to polfilla and paint), torn wall paper above the radiator, bathroom floor trim come away, shower adjustment fittings very wobbley. All of these are small easily fixed and relatively inconsequential things, but they would be enough to put many people off this hotel.

Fundamentally, it is just fine for the price paid.
The bed I had doubts about when I first sat down, but it was firm and actually quite comfortable. ....way more so than for travelodge for eg. .... and clean. The veggie brekki very tasty. Orange juice average and from concentrate. Real heinz tomato sauce (yes, that does make a difference!). Friendly enough staff. In room tea and coffee making facilities beyond the minimum often found.

The room was stifling, but it is summer. The windows open....you just need to convince the morning pigeons to keep it down a bit.

This is not a 5star hotel, but it doesn't pretend to be, and the price tag suits. A bit of attention to basic general decor would improve the feel good factor immensely. I would not discourage anyone from staying here, but equally I wouldn't rave about it to anyone wanting anything more than a clean bed for the night until a bit more tlc was given to what is fundamentally a very old building. It wouldn't take much to make a dramatic difference.....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is not the first time I have stayed here with my wife and whilst I would not describe this as the best Hotel we have used it certainly is not the worst. It is very much in need of a makeover and yet it exudes a certain gentile charm, probably because of its genuine age.( built 1750 ) Some of the decor looks as if it could be from the last remodeling in 1874!
The owners have taken energy reduction very seriously, the 7w bulb in the bedside light was insufficient to read by. Having turned the lights off to sleep the light pollution coming through the curtains appeared to be just as bright as having the lights on.
The car park is certainly a challenge! It is best to go past the entrance and reverse in. Coming down the ramp and turning back left on yourself is almost impossible.
Would I stay here again? Certainly. It is cheaper than the rack rate of the Premier Inn up the road and much more interesting.. Just accept you get what you pay for.!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had the front room with a 4 poster, Room 205. Noisy during the evening if the doors to the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Forget the free car parking perk (in a town where there is no other reasonable all day alternative close by - nearest if 5 minutes walk and restricted to 2 hours except at night) if you drive a Landrover, Discovery, Range Rover, other 4x4 or large people carrier owners. The free car park is accessed via a warren of low beams and ceilings and the hotel management haven't signed minimum clearances at all! There is no warning in the literature and no warning was given by staff when I telephoned beforehand to locate the car park. In any case don't trust the entrance as there is a drop off at the very final pinch point, the shutter door, which is so steep it lifts the back of the vehicle to above your kerbside max height anyway. All this despite extremely low entry speed and a helper watching for clearance. If you are going to stay here factor in car parking charges and a long walk with your bags as there is very little space for drop off.

We may have stayed, despite the damage!, but the management had double booked the feature room we had booked specifically so we couldn't stay in it!!!! 100 mile pointless round trip.

Room Tip: Unaware of the room/s because we didn't get to see inside it because the management had double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidf8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend while diving at vobster. I had such a bad nights sleep it almost ruined my weekend.

Room
The room i stayed in was fairly shabby. The chair and bed throw had white stains on. Yuk!! The walls were dirty. There was mould in the bathroom. Didnt fancy taking my shoes off looking at the ingrained dirty carpet.
The bed linen was at least clean and bed was ok.

The stair leading up were terribly thread bare give you a foreboding feeling. No security door from street to rooms.

Food

The breakfast was ok. I didn't eat in the evening.
Breakfast isn't served early (after8:30)on sundays, not even a bowl of cereal, not good if you have an early ish start

Noise
From the toilet flushing next door to their conversation, people wondering to their rooms, drunks singing my way at night and market traders dropping scaffolding at 6 am. I heard everything.

Parking
There wasn't any parking available, apparently it was full. Not what you want to hear after driving 4 hours

Staff
Ok not rude, but not exactly welcoming either. Didn't get a hows your stay or any civilities. Just the bare functional minimum. More smiles at mcdonalds

Room Tip: Avoid top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Having viewed hotel website was expecting better .... but unfortunately a tatty hotel in need of refurb. Stains on walls, dirty woodwork, cracked bathroom tiles, cracked window.
Service ok. Breakfast was quite good, but given the state of the public areas, the thought of what state the private areas (such as the kitchen) might be in kind of put me off my food!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampton7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for weekend loved the hotel lovely room clean nice bathroom great shower and bath .The breakfast and evening was very good as well.Matt and all the staff were great and very friendly.We will look forward to staying here again in the future. Well done George Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbeehan146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#10 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#9 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 5 Market Place, Frome BA11 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing