We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit, hit, hit, big miss, miss”
Review of Archangel

Archangel
Ranked #27 of 101 Restaurants in Frome
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Archangel is well known for its magnificent 3 storey restaurant built into an old hay barn adjacent to the main house. The ancient walls are simply whitewashed and embrace a free-floating glass mezzanine cube that seats up to twelve people around a single table. Our chef always uses the best quality and locally sourced ingredients. Our seasonal menus are unpretentious and aim to serve every dining experience. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wanted to like this place - contemporary decor good, light dining space upstairs, short menu all boded well.
Starters both good (something to do with roast pork and black pudding and I can't remember what I had but I liked it). Our eight year old really enjoyed her sausage and chips (very good chips).

Main courses missed for both of us though. Went for a burger as I fancied something simple.I was aware that it had blue cheese with it (big fan of blue cheese in general) but somehow they had managed to combine two things I really like to make something I really didn't like. Decidedly peculiar taste - couldn't finish it. Even large amounts of mustard couldn't mask it. My wife had something described as confit chicken burger with chilli (or similar). A simpler description would have been regular chicken burger. No evidence of effects of confit or chilli to distinguish it from anything you might get in 1000 other places. She described it as boring.

We were both puzzled by the side of spring greens we shared. Turned out to be peas, beans and leeks. Green yes, spring no. How does mis-describing stuff help anyone?

Beer good, food presentation good, service needs better coordination (two people came and asked us the same thing more than once) and someone needs to think about some of the menu descriptions.

This place could be really good but isn't operating at that level yet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review on your visit to the archangel we are sorry to hear about you disappointments. We highly value our guests feedback, .If you would like to discuss these issues further please contact a member of management at the Archangel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 265 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We went to the restaurant to have an anniversary dinner. The food was superb, beautifully served and presented. Service was sedate, not over rushed but efficient. We thought it was very good value for money.


We certainly will be returning to try everything else on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lizzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Archangel we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable anniversary meal and hope you welcome you back to the archangel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

As we were walking around Frome, we dropped into Archangel during the day as the doors were open. I immediately fell in love with the building and the space, so we opted to come back for dinner. Since they are dog friendly we decided to walk into town from where we were staying (20 min) for dinner. The bar was packed...it was some sort of summer festival and they had a band playing in the bar area. We realized when we got there that only the bar was dog friendly and since we were hungry for dinner we might be out of luck given how busy they were (no open tables to eat at). Thanks to the great/friendly staff, they found us a table in the upstairs bar to eat dinner with our pup.

The food was excellent and the server even brought our dog some treats so that he could snack too. We had a squid app and pasta for main dish. Both excellent!

I highly recommend stopping in for dinner, a drink, or perhaps a fun night out with some music if you are so lucky.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit with us. we highly value our guests feedback and hope to welcome you in the Archangel again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Families welcome, food excellent, staff all polite and friendly
Yummy cocktails. Nice outdoor area, plenty seating.

Thank frome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent visit. we highly value our guests feedback. look forward to welcoming you at the archangel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nice courtyard & interesting pub with lots of nooks & crannies. Expensive drinks. Not sure I like the layout of the courtyard now - don't like the shared tables. Have not eaten here to cannot judge quality of food.

Thank Fromeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for you review on your recent visit. we value our customers feedback highly and like to listen to their comments. we hope you welcome you at the archangel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archangel also viewed

 

Been to Archangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing