We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem of a place”
Review of Moorleaze Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorleaze Farm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute gem of a place”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just returned home from our stay over the Mayday Bank Holiday and we had a wonderful time. Our kids are ten and seven years old and they really enjoyed the pool, table tennis and playground. Our hosts Ian and Gill were wonderful simply because they keep things simple - they provide wonderful accommodation in a beautiful setting with all the amenities you could possibly need!

While there we visited wonderful Longleat and Cheddar Gorge as well as trying out an Indian restaurant recommended by the hosts which was excellent.

We'll definitely return and for longer next time - thanks Ian and Gill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful week's break at Moorleaze recently staying in one of the three bedroom cottages. It was very spacious and clean and comfortable. The downstairs en-suite had no window and as a result smelled a little fusty so we preferred to use the upstairs bathroom.

The facilities on site are brilliant. The swimming pool is lovely and large with great changing rooms. And the games room was great. Me and my husband could play games of table tennis while our toddler enjoyed playing with the various toys.

It is really handy for Longleat and we enjoyed a day there and also visited Stourhead and Bath.

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the poor noise insulation between properties. On our first night we had neighbours and we could hear them very loudly. We ended up sleeping with ear plugs as it was disturbing our sleep. For the rest of our break though we didn't have anyone next to us which was great. But it would possibly put me off returning in case we weren't that lucky again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bears3130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here with 3 generations of our family. There were 9 of us including grandma and 4 kids.
The cottage we had slept 10 and was very comfortable with 3 bedrooms on 1st floor plus an ensuite bedroom on the ground floor - great for grandma! In fact the whole site was flat with no steps anywhere. Although grandma is not disabled, just elderly, the accommodation would have been fine if she had been. The cottage was really clean and well appointed apart from the carpets and rugs which were quite stained and could have done with a shampoo. It was the end of the season and I guess a lot of sticky drinks get spilled by the families these cottages appeal to.

The pool was large and nice. The changing area was very high quality indeed and even had a sauna. Our kids loved the games room, play equipment and the field where we played football, frisbee and boulle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trew68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Moorleaze in April with my grown up family. We stayed in 'Stonehenge' which had a lovely open plan living room/kitchen and 3 good size bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. I have never stayed in such well equipped self-catering accomodation - everything we wanted was there ( which is good because you are nowhere near a shop!). Very clean and comfortable. A lovely rural location and we loved the swimming pool. A very relaxing break.Hope to return soon with my grandchild.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Second time staying at Moorleaze and we had a great time. Lovely cottages and the kids (both aged 3) loved the pool and the playground. Stayed in Glastonbury cottage which was plenty big enough for us all. Already recommended the cottage to friends and hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SexyBeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Moorleaze's cottages are lovely - very modern, everything you need there, but what really impressed me was the pool and games room - the pool was indoor, a good temperature and good size, and the changing rooms were very good.

Games room was well stocked.

Only gripe was the fact the shower was so low in the upstairs bathroom in the cottage and had to be held, and also no shower curtain, but as the bathroom is part of a converted loft it's understandable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed in the two bedroom Nunney cottage on this farm which has several cottages of varying sizes set round a central courtyard adjacent to the owners' house. Very large, two storey, two bed cottage. Everything was very clean and new and the cottages were well equipped with all kitchen utensils, DVD player, two TVs. King size bed was very comfortable and the bedroom windows have blackout blinds.
The pool is lovely, about 15m long and quite shallow, with a large changing area and infra-red sauna. All spotless. Swimming towels are provided in the accommodation. There is also a games room and climbing frame and you can walk around the surrounding fields that are part of the farm.
A beautiful rural setting but quite a drive from the nearest shop which is Sainsburys at Frome however there are several local pubs. Would recommend a visit to the White Row farm shop at Beckington, a 15 min drive away. Very well located near the A361 for access to Frome, Bath, Bristol and the surrounding areas.
The owners of Moorleaze were very friendly but unobtrusive.
Only negative points are that the walls of the cottages are quite thin so you can hear the neighbours but this wasn't really an issue and also that it would be nice if each cottage had a screened off private outside area which there is room to do.
Would definitely recommend Moorleaze for couples, groups or families.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeplessUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
9.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
3.1 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#2 of 3 in Horningsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorleaze Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorleaze Farm

Property: Moorleaze Farm
Address: Witham Friary, Frome BA11 5HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Frome
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Moorleaze Farm Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing