We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive sourroundings, facilities and service”
Review of The Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Impressive sourroundings, facilities and service”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My family and I stayed at the Lighthouse in Frome after a day's visit to Longleat Safari Park. After doing a substantial amount of research prior to choosing to stay at the Lighthouse, we were not disappointed.

The facilities were excellent, the service was of the highest quality and the countryside surroundings and views were simply admirable. If you wish to escape the city noise and pollution, then I highly recommend staying a few nights at the Lighthouse. There is peace, tranquility and harmony in this hotel. Also, if you are visiting the area for business or personal reasons, then the Lighthouse is the perfect stop for the night or weekend.

Summary: The Lighthouse combines modern facilities with traditional countryside surroundings. Five stars

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSingh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    39
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
114
71
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Just feel it when you drive in. The rooms are great, the 'Love in a Cup' cafe awesome (the granola goes down a treat with the children) and the sense of space is delicious.

Hang out on the lawn, swim in the outdoor pool, walk/boat around the lake (check out the goslings at this time of year), snug up in the library, book yourself a session with one of the practioners and have fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matildaclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed at The Lighthouse in Frome in May, great food, great service above and beyond what I've received anywhere else in the world and I have been around, I've been across the world, I haven't experienced anything like this They also made me a lovely and tasty brekfast-to-go as I was leaving at 6am. Outstanding service and such a lovely place to stay, tranquil.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

A beuariful place to stay. A warm welcome awaits! Food lovingly prepared and presented is delicious. Served in cafe with views to the lake and surrounding countryside. Rooms are comfortable with supplies of herbal teas and spring water. Highly recomended.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank leonardo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I found the staff to have great sense of responsibility and humour ,it was so easy to request what ever I needed .
So do not be afraid to engage the staff as they are delighted to make your stay a time to remember.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahaoaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Lighthouse is set in beautiful peaceful grounds. The house is tastefully and thoughtfully presented, the bedrooms are comfortable, cosy and clean, and the 'Love in a Cup' tea house / cafe serves up delicious gluten and dairy free food and nourishing, healing herbal teas. Service is friendly and welcoming but not overbearing, and privacy is respected. I would recommend the Lighthouse as a perfect place for a short relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccaturner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I booked short stay - weekend only at Lighthouse as a gift for my partner. The place is just half and hour by car from Bath. It is a bit isolated however the view over the small lake, quietnes and short distance to good restaurants is what we were looking for. The Lighthouse is a healing centre however I would more recommend using it as a short stay only. The breakfast is delicious - all gluten free. Rooms in old converted barn house are cozy and well equipped, although small fridge in the room is missed ( can be quite hot in the room). The living room is fantastic, great if youcome with few more people - great for socializing, fireplace, high ceiling - very cozy, friendly, homy. The courtyard does have a small fontain in the middle - looks a bit frenchy. This 4* B&B is worth staying. The bones, joint massage - I didint like simply because it was done through clothes and was more for spiritual rather thatn for body. Massage should be for body though. Paying £50 was not worth it.
restaurant: definitely The Grange - cooking classes and restaurant as well as Archangel ( although the service isnt the strongest there).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marekgldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
1.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
464 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#12 of 32 in Frome
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Property: The Lighthouse
Address: The Lighthouse Bulls Quarries Rd | Tytherington, Frome BA11 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lighthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse is a tranquil Country House set in 30 acres of Parkland offering 4 star Guest House accommodation, Conference Facilities, and a lovely Cafe serving healthy and nutritious food daily. In the rolling Somerset countryside, yet close to the City of Bath, Longleat, Bristol and Wells. In November 2015 The Lighthouse won a 4 star Silver Accolade Award from Visit England for the high quality of accommodation facilities and services provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing