We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of cafe Love in a Cup”
Review of The Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Review of cafe Love in a Cup”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I come here often, to swim, and to the cafe, and to walk in the grounds. The food and staff are lovely, all is beautifully presented and clean. They cater well for dairy and gluten free diets, which is almost unheard of elsewhere, and food is presented with care. Its a beautiful location, peaceful, quiet, really wholesome.
The only complaint i have is that the driveway in and out of this place is ABSOLUTELY AWFUL! Like, the potholes wreck your tyres bad. It never seems to get mended effectively, which is such a shame because it puts you off coming, because when you get in, its great, its the getting in that's the problem!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eljaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    39
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
110
71
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Decided to have a break in the country so booked one night at The Lighthouse and was extremely pleasantly surprised at the beautiful surrounding countryside and the lovely, eager to help staff, my room was cosy and beautifully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable, I had a great night sleep and breakfast in the morning was to die for. I really cannot think of a single bad word to say about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imogen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Quickly booked overnight accommodation at The Lighthouse, booking in myself (Dad) and my seven year old. We had spent a very wet day at Longleat challenging our almost waterproof clothing.
We were greeted at Reception by Simon who could not have done more to help us get our clothing dried and comfortably settled for our stay. Although a little difficult to locate…the initial impression of the building was that of pleasant surprise …a lovely courtyard, with tasteful lighting. We were personally shown to our room in what was the original Cow Storage area. Again a nice surprise as the room was clean and cosy and immaculately clean. My 7 yr old was patiently listened to, even the variance of incense smells explained. Simon went on to show us the lounge areas where appropriate toys were located. This area was particularly impressive with large lounging sofas and open fireplace. The view out through French doors to the pool area and beyond (albeit dark) begged for an early rise to see it in all its glory.
A quick right turn from the complex and you find a great Public House for a hearty hot meal. Needless to say a very good nights sleep and very peaceful.
Breakfast at Love in the Cup was beyond the value we had paid for our stay (£70). I had smoked Fresh Haddock with fresh ground Fair Trade Coffee..whilst little person had everything a child would want…Cereals, wholemeal toast and fresh juices. We even tried a 'Cleansing Tea' which was surprisingly palatable. We bought some frozen takeaways at
We did use the associated swimming pool at an adjoining premise which proved very expensive as we had to take out a temporary membership and completing bureaucratic forms…that said it was a lovely clean establishment with great architectural beams and steel tetherings.
To conclude The Lighthouse was by far the best place I have stayed this year, excellent value for money, helpful happy yet calm staff and a great place to stay just 12 mins from Longleat. The breakfast amazing and the whole experience and pleasant and peaceful place to calm and enjoy for all.

Room Tip: So solidly built that all rooms are sure to give a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1sensibletrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I have stayed at the Lighthouse many, many times and each time the service is so supportive and caring. The staff are very friendly and will help you with any queries you may have.

The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable with lovely extra touches. The grounds, with the lake and the wildlife, are just beautiful. It's quite something to see the heron flying in to land. Very tranquil. During the summer the swimming pool which overlooks the lake is so refreshing. I love coming to stay.

The food is amazing and I often have take aways. It may not suit all but for a gluten and diary free diet it is AWESOME. No other resturants, let alone B&Bs, I've ever frequented have ever provided for such a diet in any meaningful way. Here the food here tastes great regardless of whether one is gluten and diary free.

There is also a little kitchen if you want to cater for yourself in the evening which suits me greatly. In the winter you can cook and then sit by the huge log fire, so cosy. I know I'll be continuing to make all my stays in Somerset there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Booked the lighthouse for its locaton and for a quiet stopover when in frome on work. Got a great deal via laterooms website and it worked out perfectly. Friendly staff, very clean and comfy room and a tasty, healthy breakfast that fitted in with my early schedule.
Would definitely recommend the lighthouse for an overnight business stay. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exyorkslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The Lighthouse is in a truely fantastic rural location. so peaceful and quiet. The owners certainly go out of their way to make you welcome and to accomodate your needs. I would imagine if you are lucky enough to stay in the main house the ideal would be complete, but if you are unfortunate as we were are are placed in the stable block, the shine dimmers a little.
The rooms are spotless and the bathroom immaculate, but even in the cooler weather the rooms were so airless and hot it was almost impossible to sleep (the pillows weren't very good either!!)
There is a small kitchen in the corridor which is for guest use and a lovely idea, but during our stay a group of young foreign guest who were staying in the main house, used the kitchen each evening leaving us with the dreadful cooking smells they left behind - some evenings it really turned the stomach!! A shame such a thoughful idea didn't include a window.
There is a lovely pub a short walk away but it seems to be very popular and you need to book in advance. Beautiful walk around the lake, and an outdoor pool if you are lucky enough with the weather.

Room Tip: Avoid the stable block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maurs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband, three grandsons and I stayed for one night as we were visiting Longleat the following day. I booked a family suite consisting of a double room, twin bedded room, separate shower and loo. A small bed was added to the main bedroom. All the rooms were interconnected and really great for a family. Every where was spotless, the main bed really big and very nice toiletries in the shower room. The surrounding field and lake are nice for a walk round. Breakfast the next day was plentiful and we all found something we liked but I really missed proper coffee and milk. A very nice place for one night but I couldn't stay longer as i need caffeine and the boys missed their usual type of breakfast.

Room Tip: We had rooms 7 and 8 which were great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank knackered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
1.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.4 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#10 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Property: The Lighthouse
Address: The Lighthouse Bulls Quarries Rd | Tytherington, Frome BA11 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lighthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse is a tranquil Country House set in 30 acres of Parkland offering 4 star Guest House accommodation, Conference Facilities, and a lovely Cafe serving healthy and nutritious food daily. In the rolling Somerset countryside, yet close to the City of Bath, Longleat, Bristol and Wells. In November 2015 The Lighthouse won a 4 star Silver Accolade Award from Visit England for the high quality of accommodation facilities and services provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing