We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a true loving experience, go!”
Review of The Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
“If you want a true loving experience, go!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My favourite place in the whole world, so much love and care and the people who work there are amazing. Great place for a short trip, enjoy the surroundings, the food and if you have time, book a healing session, big present to yourself..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetjekroketje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    39
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
110
71
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I love staying at the Lighthouse, it is so warm and friendly and very family like. Accommodations are very clean and beautifully decorated with an eye for detail. Yes it is dairy, gluten and alcohol free and the food is delicious.
I will come back again.
Alexandre.

Room Tip: All rooms are really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alexandre-Putney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Recently me and my partner stayed for a week in the Lighthouse, an old farm modernly converted with the newest equipment, situated near a lovely little lake in the middle of hilly Somerset. We were welcomed very lovingly by one of the host. Our room was in a part called 'The Stables', which had very nice ambiance.
Everything was put in place as it should be, attention payed to every detail. You could feel the love which was prepared in making the room.
The Lighthouse has a café were they serve home made food, made from healthy ingredients (no gluten, dairy or sugar).
Very much recommended, good value for money! A kind of service and dedication never seen before.

Room Tip: "The stables" rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Willem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I didn't really understand this hotel. It was very quiet and peaceful, our room was lovely and they had prepared our additional child bed in advance (lots of hotels could learn from this!!!) however as a family using the hotel as a base for longleat it didn't really work for us, my 5 year old felt that gluten free cornflakes and coconut milk was not a good combo! I think perhaps this element of the hotel was not as clear as it should be when we booked. Maybe it would be better for the lighthouse to concentrate on the 'holistic retreat' angle and therefore avoid a breakfast room full of perplexed children who prefer their day to start with a more conventional menu, or if this does not generate enough revenue day to day, just concentrate on offering a beautiful location with great food that does appeal to the longleat masses. Sadly I can only recommend to the gluten/ dairy free - even then you have to venture to the decidedly less gluten/ dairy free pub down the road if you fancy a snifter of alcohol. Confused!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie19741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilliams, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our younger guests and families are very important to us, and we are looking to provide some new ideas for childrens' breakfasts to appeal to all taste buds. We already have a great kids' lunch menu with familiar choices such as sausages & beans, pasta etc.

Our Longleat guests generally love the place, so no doubt these additions will be enjoyed by everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The accommodation choices for this area, which includes Longleat, fail to specify that this is NOT a Hotel, it is a health spa with a no-alcohol policy, glutin free, etc. The advertised swimming pool is NOT open due to 'health and safety' reasons. The rooms are converted horse stables and are incredibly hot, with no external ventilation. All very nice if you want a health spa, not so useful if you think you are booking standard accommodation. Beware - this is misselling by Venere and other comparison sites who have either been mis-informed or don't know what they are selling.
The place is, however, very peaceful and well run, in an excellent location, but you need to know what you are buying! If you want gluten free and peace, 100%, if you want a drink and a smoke, forget it!

Room Tip: Read the web site before booking this - this is not an hotel, it is a health/faith spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilliams, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
The Lighthouse does indeed offer a particular ambience and quality of service which is different from the norm. As a health and well-being centre, we welcome anyone who is looking for a tranquil, beautiful environment with great facilities - be it families, business visitors, couples or individuals looking for a place to relax and unwind, or simply a base from which to explore the area.

We do our best to advertise the unique qualities of the Lighthouse as clearly as possible on our website and other marketing material.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
253 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My room was great although lacking of natural light and more to the point ventilation as the roof window is very small and difficult to open.
My room was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The place is quiet and I had a great night sleep. I only realised once I had checked in that the place is actually a retreat and therefore some rules can put people off. No alcohol allowed on the premises, no caffeine, no dairy products and only gluten free products. This is stated on the B&B website but not on the lateroom website where I booked so can understand some of the comments made here.

Saying that I had a great night sleep and a lovely breakfast. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThierryBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I am a local and enjoy popping in for lunch on my days off. The food is fresh and healthy and I feel very price comparable with many other places I have been to. I love the fact there is no wheat or dairy in the food as I have found that the older I have become the more intolerant I am to these products, so I can eat here without feeling bloated or uncomfortable after a meal. I love the variation of herbal teas that are on offer. i would recommend it to everyone but especially if you have wheat or dairy allergies.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
1.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.4 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#10 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Property: The Lighthouse
Address: The Lighthouse Bulls Quarries Rd | Tytherington, Frome BA11 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lighthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse is a tranquil Country House set in 30 acres of Parkland offering 4 star Guest House accommodation, Conference Facilities, and a lovely Cafe serving healthy and nutritious food daily. In the rolling Somerset countryside, yet close to the City of Bath, Longleat, Bristol and Wells. In November 2015 The Lighthouse won a 4 star Silver Accolade Award from Visit England for the high quality of accommodation facilities and services provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing