We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Archangel
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
US$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel(Midsomer Norton)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
134
74
49
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
74
49
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall luxuryeggs florentinemy partnerroll top bathquirky hotelmodern touchesspiral staircasefresh milk in the fridgenooks and cranniesmain buildingdouble roomlovely toiletriesenjoyed my staybe visiting againlovely roomgreat nightbloody mary
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for our First wedding anniversary. We'd been given a voucher for 2 nights with dinner on one of them for a wedding gift. Upon arrival the staff were extremely friendly, and they'd even left an anniversary card in our room. We were supposed to be booked into the large luxury double room at the top of the hotel, but due to some flooding we had a smaller room for the first night. This was still nice, but quite noisy from the street. However, Eve, the manager of the hotel, did everything she could to make up for the room situation. The dinner we had was incredible, and we felt extremely special, which made for a beautiful weekend. The hotel itself is such an amazing combination of extremely old with modern touches, and it pulls it off perfectly. Breakfast was also delicious. I can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff were all so friendly, and it made the whole stay really memorable.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the large luxury double - it is a stunning, huge room and well worth the extra price!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have stayed before at the Archangel and would recommend it to anyone passing through Frome. This week sadly things went wrong. Perhaps it was the first time they had lit the fire this autumn. The heavy smell of burning that had been evident in the hotel in the afternoon manifested itself in to billowing smoke by midnight when the smoke alarms went off in the entrance, the upstairs landing and in our room on Thursday October 17. We opened all of the windows but were only greeted by a "very sorry" from the young staff that were available. We have thick smoke outside are room and smoke getting in under the door - enough to set off the alarm. We were not offered any alternative accommodation and spent the night in a smoky room with the window wide open. Nothing was said of it in the morning, aside from another apology, when this was mentioned in response to the standard "did you enjoy your stay" question. We left paying the full amount. Our warning would be, if you smell smoke then leave the hotel - it is unhealthy and unsafe.

Room Tip: Room 3 attracts billowing smoke but has an excellent alarm system in place.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Archangel is a lovely wee place with good design and friendly staff. The rooms are nice with fresh milk (in the fridge - like normal!) and real coffee, nice teas etc in the rooms, comfortable beds and generally very thoughtful. We were in town with a group of people for work and others were staying elsewhere - we definitely chose the right place! It was SO MUCH nicer than the other places and we loved it here. A great breakfast which was quick, really well cooked and presented and with real coffee rather than that horrid watery hotel coffee. Overall we were very very pleased with it and would definitely come back. The meeting room/private dining room upstairs is lovely. Our only gripe was the rubbish collection very early in the morning outside our windows at the back of the hotel (we were in the courtyard rooms) and then the Poundland delivery - but I doubt anyone can do much about that as we were in the middle of a town and the other hotels will have had similar noise and were not very nice. So we highly recommend this hotel if you are in Frome!

Room Tip: if you are in the courtyard go for an upstairs room as they have more light and air.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Being a local, i cant comment on the hotel service but if you are coming in here for a drink, the service experienced has been very poor. I have tried this pub again on numerous occassions, but the bar service along with the expensive drinks prices always let this place down. I have left this bar on two occassions from waiting for a ridiculously long time for any service and have given the place many second chances, but sadly i wont be coming back.
With a place of this ilk, offering a first class venue and service, its so important that the staff are well informed and trained. My last drinks took 10 minutes to be served by a very inexperienced barmaid who didnt have a clue when asked aboout basic wines or spirits. In the end i opted for a gin and tonic and was served this in a Pint glass! My friends lagers were served from the end of the barrel with literally half a pint of head on them! We had to return all drinks and tell the barmaid how to pour a pint and how to make a gin and tonic and by this time others waiting for drinks had started to leave!! This is really basic stuff and i just cant believe that managers are not hiring experienced people or if not - training their staff in the basics of bar service and drinks making! This is a sure fire way to lose business and give the place a bad name! I dont want this review to be all negative but i know of so many local people that have stopped using the Angel for these reasons and the management really need to take heed of these criticisms. When i have eaten here the food has been really fantastic, but again the waiting staff didnt seem to have a clue what they were doing! It really doesnt take a lot to train staff and give them and customers a better experience and it would be a real shame if no one takes heed of this!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights. It was our anniversary so we opted for the romantic package. we both agreed we could not have chosen a better place!!!!!!!!.

We stayed in room 1 on the first night which was in the main house. The room was stunning and a nice size especially the bathroom(lovely bath). as we had the R. package we had champagne on arrival in the room. Everything you need is in the room,fresh milk for tea and coffee which was a refreshing and welcome change.Also had a lovely sleep in the bed ,very comfortable.

we decided to stay at the hotel for the first night,so had drinks in the lovely courtyard and dinner in the restaurant(included in the R. package). The cocktails were great,my wife tried a few and gave great reviews her fave being the pineapple mojito.
The food in the restaurant was delicious,we had three courses and could not fault anything.
Breakfast in the morning was also great,nice surroundings to sit in and a menu full of choice.

After a day trip around Bath,we came back to the hotel and stayed in room 6 for the second night. This room was equally stunning,although smaller with the bath in the bedroom. would not advise for people who have trouble getting up stairs as the entrance has very small and tight staircase which may cause a hazard for some people. Also maybe not good for you if you like to retire early to bed as the room is opposite the bar and restaurant and could be a bit noisy if the bar was full.(We were informed that a wedding party were there that night,so this may not normally be the case) Although this did not bother myself and my wife at all.

For us the Archangel ticked all the boxes, with lovely rooms and great food. But I must add that the our stay was made so much better by all of the fantastic staff. The girls in the restaurant and breakfast were very polite and put up with my endless questions on the history of the building. And can't fault Shane the bar manager who from the moment we came through the doors made our stay exceptional, We were made to feel very welcome at the Archangel ....Thank you!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 if you are having a romantic break,
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews