We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and quirky”
Review of Archangel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Archangel
Ranked #15 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Lovely overnight stay with friends in this lovely quirky hotel. Food was excellent service always with a smile and attentive. Not much to fault with the service, location or style of the hotel. Bar and restaurant staff very very friendly and easy to please.
Only downside to this hotel was the room in which we were located in a strange order in the bathroom but a little spray of deodorant soon sorted this out however do you think the hotel should look into this! The food was lovely and the service first class. I would recommended this hotel for anyone looking for something a bit different and enjoy a little bit of luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Archangel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived around 2pm on NYE and it wasn't totally apparent where to check in and we then stood at the bar ignored by staff until we drew their attention. When we did have their attention they were all very friendly and quite helpful actually, this is where the worries began!

We had originally been informed when booking that a NYE party would be taking place but it would end around 1am and might be a bit noisy. When checking in we were asked if we would be joining the party, as they had a 24hr license and it usually goes on until 6am and with 6 dj's arghhhhh! Not quite the relaxed and romantic NYE we had imagined. The guy who helped us to our room seemed a little confused that rooms were being booked for the evening due to the noise levels, more worry!!!! Our original room was directly opposite the dj/speaker section so we asked to move rooms, which the staff very helpfully did to a 3rd floor room, a sigh of relief!

The room was very nice actually, the roll top bath was just as imagined and as per the photos. We thought the fridge and table of teas etc looked a little out of place with the quality of the room, but we are quite fussy. Also a few light bulbs were out and the room is quite dark anyway. I would also say that we didn't realise there wouldn't be a shower in addition to the bath, but for one night we could handle it. I would have probably given the room 4 stars if it had a shower.

We had dinner at the near by Talbot, would recommend hugely and without a hesitation, I think we are very fortunate we made that choice, extremely civilised and as imagined.

On our return the Archangel had been transformed in atmosphere and was a bit cheesy as a party. At the bar there was lots of lads imminently about to start a fight, the bar staff looked like they were struggling to cope. We decided to have a round of drinks anyway, at first we were told that they had run out of glasses, which seems a bit crazy for a bar. When they did find some one of them was very dirty but at this point we couldn't be bothered to argue it and didn't drink that one. After 12pm we decided we couldn't stand the party any more and went to our room, think we were there about 30mins. When we returned to our room wow was the music loud! We did appreciate it was NYE though, however I think this party and if anything allowing it to go on as late as it did is very detrimental to the business and image this type of hotel should be purveying. So we went to bed around 1:30am and the music gradually got more intense with more bass. We are not that old and I really like dance music but I would describe it as dark drum and bass and it felt like we were in a night club even on the 3rd floor. We thought the music went on at a loud level until 3-4am and then it was turned down to a low level. As per the previous review we were woken by the fire alarm in the very earlier hours and was told in the morning it was because someone was smoking in their room! Eventually we must have fallen asleep but didn't get much.

In the morning we both woke up very annoyed. When we went down to breakfast we were asked by what I think was the manager if we had a good evening and I said no as the noise was terrible and the music shouldn't have gone on until 3-4am at that level. The manager said that she was there and it had definitely been turned off at 2am, so we thought how can we argue that but we were both sure it had gone on longer and referring to the previous review it looks like it had. When we checked out we were given a £40 discount, which we thought was ok at the time, we actually wished now that we had refused to pay at all, as £100 for a bath and 3-4hrs sleep isn't that much of a deal.

Its a shame things worked out the way they did, I think if it hadn't been for the party this review would score quite highly, the hotels not bad at all, the staff seem very good if not a little unorganised, probably due to sorting out the party. Perhaps whoever is in charge needs to rethink their business strategy, as this type of evening does nothing for the image of what prevails to be a mid-high end boutique type hotel.

Whilst this review is mostly negative and not very much to do with the actual hotel I am sure if you avoid NYE and any other mad type party here you will probably have a very nice stay, unless you like very late parties in boutique hotels, then it will be right up your street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bisky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked to stay here for New Years Eve having seen the baths at the end of the beds and the seven course tasting menu. It looked to be a nice laid back event and place to stay... We were a bit wrong..
On arriving at around 5.30pm the hallways were full of boxes of decorations and musicians equipment with a few staff running about and looking disorganised. If it hadn't have been for one of the waitresses arriving at the same time we would have been stood outside the locked front door in the rain.
The room was cute - but smaller than they appeared on the website. We were 'greeted' by a barman who showed us to our room, but seemed confused and not quite with things - we were essentially just left to it... I had asked for non feathered pillows when making the booking, and, on checking, had all feathered ones and a feather duvet - which I stated I was allergic to when booking.
There was then more chaos as the waitresses tried to find non feathered bedding from other rooms. In the end they could only find two pillows and a duvet.

The tasting menu with wine flight was however good. Each course was well prepared and well presented. The waitresses were friendly and served each course with a smile... there was however another, but....
I had asked for fish courses to be swapped on booking and told this wouldn't be a problem. With both of the fish courses I had to send the plate back as they had forgotten, with one dish it had to go back twice.
Up until this point we were actually reasonably contented and put the mishaps down to the busyness of NYE.
On going to bed at 1.30 we noticed that there was a loud disco party in the pub, which has very thin floors, our room was in a prime location for the bass of this, and also loud shouting outside the front door. We assumed that the party would end about 2.00am and so waited, unable to sleep with incredibly loud noise.
This continued until 4.30am when the disco stopped, at this point incredibly loud. We then had a smoke alarm activation which went off for several minutes leading us to get out of bed and dressed - we then heard people shouting that it was because of the dry ice from the disco. The party continued, and we were again kept awake... It then took until 5.30am until the loud partiers left the building all holding shouted conversations throughout the building. At one point there was a fight that sounded like it started in the hall way and moved outside our room window. (We were told later that morning the police had been called - we weren't surprised when we had seen some of the people arriving for the disco party earlier in the evening that already looked like they wanted some bother, in our opinion.)
In the morning we mentioned the above to the receptionist - she took £20 off of the bill which seemed a poor compensation given an overall pricetag of around £300-£350, but having had literally no sleep the night before we just wanted to move on.
Overall we did feel a bit like we had been sold a false image of what the evening and target customers were. We had been sold what appeared on the website to be a quiet tasting menu and quaint accommodation to see in the new year, but received this, plus loud and numerous thuggish characters shouting through the night around the building - not relaxing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the Archangel for two nights. Loved the superior room with zinc bath and rustic unfinished style of the walls, squeaky floor boards added to the charm. Outside noise of the traffic was constant, until late evening, but bearable.
We had dinner the first night, which me and my wife did enjoy, it was a little expensive for what we had, not to busy and friendly waitresses.
Breakfast was the worse that i have ever experienced when stopping in a hotel.
Cheap food cooked very badly, receptionist doubling up as server, who lacked experience and know how.
if i was the manager, i would look very closely at breakfast the serving, this would put me and many more off, from stopping here again.
if you want a really enjoyable indian meal, try Classic Spice, on the main road, overlooking the river. very friendly and really good food.

Room Tip: room 1 is over front doorway, traffic noise, great bath,
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ensang3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just home from the most AMAZING stay in the Archangel. We went for our first wedding anniversary and loved it SO much we extended our stay by a further day!!

The staff are all fantastic, food was delicious, location is fantastic!!

The room was amazing, so comfortable and spacious. The bath was amazing!

Overall I have NO complaints!! Will defo be returning!!

xx

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

On a work visit to Frome last year we stayed elsewhere but were shown the Archangel and after seeing their beautiful rooms were keen to stay there this time round, and so we did.
From the very moment we stepped through the door, we found every member of staff to be absolutely lovely and extremely accommodating.
Firstly Shane greeted us and helped us with our bags, then as we made specific requests regarding our room, Luke (the landlord) came to greet us personally and help with our request.
As we had to go out and work during the dinner hours, we were sad to miss the opportunity to sample their fantastic looking menu but Luke and Eve very kindly made sure that we had a cured meat platter waiting for us on our return.
The room was gorgeous, with a zinc roll top bath, lovely toiletries, and bath robes. The staff warned us of possible noise from the street but since the bathroom window was well glazed we found the room surprisingly quiet, even whilst the bar downstairs was still open and busy.
I slept like a log in the bed which had duvets made of fluffy clouds and marshmallows (not really, but it certainly felt that way!).
The next morning, we enjoyed our complimentary paper over a delicious eggs benedict breakfast and very reluctantly checked out.
Special thanks to Luke, Eve, Shane, and Craig who were all so attentive and really made our stay such a special experience. We will most definitely be returning again, and anybody else visiting Frome would be missing out if they stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to stay in the luxury rooms with the roll top baths.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in the Archangel. They've gone through quite a refurbishment, and have created a really beautiful space out of several separate buildings - very innovative, and comfortable.

The food in the restaurant was inventive and well cooked, though the menu is quite short. The bar was quite noisy - and their selection of wines was not as good as their wine list suggested!

The room was very comfortable - quite quirky, but a beautiful space, and a very good bath (no shower). It was quite noisy - lots of noise from the street, both in the evening and (surprisingly) in the morning.

The one major disappointment was the breakfast. The cooked breakfast may have been good - we can't comment. However we wanted the continental, which was very lacking. Slow to come, inconsistent (I had porridge, which one morning was too stiff to cut, and the next was sloppy). There were no pastries, no fresh fruit, no muesli - in fact very little as a continental breakfast. When we asked for toast, we got a single slice - even if we asked for more toast, we still just got another single slice!

One other small thing we didn't like was that they cleaned the floors every morning with a strong bleach solution, which my wife in particular finds very difficult.

If they can get the breakfasts sorted, this'll be a lovely place. At the moment I don't think I'll be returning.

Room Tip: We very much liked the suite - especially room 1
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewgbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
482 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 32 in Frome
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#9 of 32 in Frome
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
1.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
272 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archangel

Address: 1 King Street, Frome BA11 1BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £82 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archangel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First recorded as an Inn in the 14th century, the Archangel has an excellent reputation for its vibrant atmosphere, warm hospitality, top quality cuisine and quirky yet first-class accommodations. The ten bedrooms are decorated in deep, rich purples and golds and include luxurious details such as sumptuous velvet curtains, zinc roll-top bathtubs and gold Florentine headboards. Facilities include flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi and Branche d'Olive toiletries. The restaurant is built into a centuries old hay barn adjacent the main house. Ancient stone walls are simply whitewashed and embrace a free-floating glass mezzanine cube. The Archangel serves top quality food using the finest locally sourced ingredients and the stylish bar gives a buzzy atmosphere offering the finest local ales and original cocktails. The Archangel is located right in the centre of Frome, a historic market town with cobbled streets. Bath is only 25-minute drive from the Archangel.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Archangel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archangel Hotel Frome
Archangel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing