We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bar with rooms”
Review of Archangel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Archangel
Ranked #9 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A bar with rooms”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The good bits. Location is in the middle of town, car parking behind M&S is easy to get to. Some really nice design touches in the way the hotel has been built and stylish, quirky decor. Nice car area and restaurants. Some really helpful staff. Room was a good size.
But.
Room was dirty, smelt of disinfectant, shower was underpowered, windows don't open or the sash is broken so its hot, and incredibly noisy. The rooms are part of the courtyard where people are drinking and smoking. Not long after midnight but long enough to be a pain. Room 8 at the end of the row is by the back of Iceland. Morning delivery starts before 6 a.m. when the lorry backs up and deliveries are then unloaded. Even with the windows closed this was awful.
Breakfast was ok but soggy black pudding, undercooked tomatoes don't make up for the early wake up.
Its a shame because it wouldn't take much loving care to sort these things. Or to make people aware and price the rooms accordingly. £90 for a Sunday night was very poor value.
Wont stay again, would go for a drink. Its a bar with rooms.

Room Tip: Dont book Room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grs3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review from your stay with us we are sorry to hear that there were some bits of your stay you weren't happy with. we value are feedback from guests and ensure we do our best to resolve the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    70
    42
    18
    13
See reviews for
25
155
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Archangel on Saturday and it was incredible!! From start to finish Eve and Luke made the whole process completely stress free and totally enjoyable! Me and my husband live in London and were getting married in a church in Warminster and we were struggling to find a place that we loved for our reception. As soon as I walked into the Archangel I loved it. Eve then took us up to the Naval Room and I was sold! They have got the decor spot on at the Archangel with its gorgeous hanging lampshades, polished back concrete and the rooms are stunning! We booked out the whole hotel, apart from one room and everyone commented on how comfortable the beds were and how gorgeous the rooms are. The roll top tin baths and archangel wall paper are beautiful.

On our first meeting I told Eve what we wanted for our wedding and any worries we had about budget, where other people could stay etc She was brilliant she came up with lots of different ideas and solutions to all our little worries. A true professional it was obvious she had loads of experience in weddings and we left feeling completely confident that our wedding was going to rock!

Over the next couple of months we got down to the finer details and they came up with a brilliant menu to fit in with our budget, when we had our food tasting we were blown away by the food, It was completely beyond our expectations as our budget was not huge but what they produced is what we would be used too in a top london restaurant. The presentation was stunning and it tasted even better! On the actual day the results were the same, we had 60 guests and the food was of the same level. We had comments from our guests of "best food they had ever has at a wedding" Mass catering done right it can be done!

When we arrived we had canapés and then a 3 course meal and a evening buffet. We had the whole of the top floor of the hotel, the Mezze, Library and Naval Room. Our reception started at 1pm an finished at 4am! Yes thats right because we had the whole hotel booked up we could be up until when we wanted the music was going until about 3am in the Naval Room and then we finished with shots in the bar with Luke one of the owners. This was one of my favourite things about our wedding we could party as long as we wanted loads of our guests were still dancing at 2am. All our friends commented on this as most weddings have to finish at 11/12pm. It was the right mix of relaxed canapés, sophisticated dining and a brilliant party afterwards.

One of the most impressive things was Eve and Luke the owners. They completely excelled our expectations, nothing was a problem including organising my friends with places to stay at the last minute, working until 4am in the morning and then being there in the morning at 9am to cook breakfasts for all our guests, and oe the best things ever , putting on a complimentary live band for our canapés, this blew me away!!!!! and just genuinely being amazing. Constant professionals while being completely personal at the same time. We left feeling like we had gained some new friends I can't count the amount of times I hugged Eve!

Eve, Luke and the brilliant team at Archangel thank you so so so much for making our wedding the complete success that it was. It was the best day of our lives.

Jacqui and Adam

Room Tip: If you are thinking of having your wedding at the Archangel go for it! You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Where do you start - This wonderful Hotel - Restaurant - Bar - Reception venue is steeped in history and was fabulous. Fantastic building with its covered courtyard corridor with nooks and crannies all along the passage giving entry to coffee lounges, bar areas, breakfast room and dining areas and leading to a lovely courtyard with tables and chairs with plenty of space.

Our room number 10 was reached up a lovely spiral staircase off the courtyard was excellent with plenty of space, well equipped, comfortable bed, nice shower/wash/toilet room all combined with lovely room service. Room facilities included Tea, Coffee, free mineral drinks cabinet, papers etc.

We were members of a Wedding Party of 60, not everyone stayed at Archangel, but they did come to Reception for Drinks, Dinner and Evening Buffet. Everyone in our group had a fabulous time, had plenty to eat and drink. The food was presented wonderfully and was superb with the service being first rate. The all round Quality provision was exceptional. First Class throughout.

The staff lead by Eve were great and they couldn't do enough for us. One of our party missed the Reception Dinner, so the chef cooked him up a Steak Meal free of charge.

Thank you Eve and all your staff so very much for providing us with such a Fabulous Venue, Wedding Reception and a weekend to remember. Truly outstanding throughout.

Next time we are in the area there is only one place for us to go ..... Archangel.

Many Many Thanks

Richard & Eunice

Room Tip: Marvelous Throughout. We stayed in Courtyard Rooms which were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardJD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you want an early night its not the place for you. We thought the music was coming out the speakers but it was downstairs in the bar. We stayed in room 3 and we thought the room would be large looking at the pics but it was quite small. Floors were very squeaky and ours squeaked when people were walking outside our room. Didnt appreciate the glass collector outside twice at 6am though.

Good parts:
Bar man was excellent at making cocktails when I said I wanted fruity and vodka! Was lush and he took time to perfect it. Service was quick at the bar. Bath was the best part of the room and was plenty big enough! Offering newspapers and an alarm service was a good gesture. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. As the hotel was quiet I was offered a free upgrade which is a lovely touch and I really appreciated it. They also arranged room service for me even though it was quite late. I'd got back after a long day filming so I was hungry and very grateful! The food was really nice. The bathtub blew my mind! I'll be back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasleenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horndon-on-the-Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

we could not fault our stay at the archangel.
we stayed in small double at £100 and we was number 10, upstairs in the back garden of restaurant, there was birthday party and several other people in garden til late at night and after reading all reviews we was very aware that noise seems to be an issue, coming from Essex noise to us is normal, however, we had every window open tele on low and we didn't hear anyone or anything, so I think people who wrote reviews were being very harsh, it is in village it is part of restaurant your bound to get mumbling noise but really nothing to complain about it was 25 degrees when we stayed we had fan in our room all windows open, cleanliness spot on.

100% worth the money.
staff very friendly and professional.

food was superb, breakfast was amazing dinner was a winner and not overpriced, highly recommended.

we had long journey and a very long day at longleat so when we checked in we wanted to relax freshen up n go for dinner and its such calm relaxed atmosphere 100% go again,

excellent job guys.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here on the Saturday of the May Day bank holiday. Our room was quite noisy as the weather was so beautiful the courtyard was being used and people were sat right outside our room talking and laughing. So it isn't a place we could have had a romantic getaway! We decided to join them and have a drink and read of the papers in the sun. Our room was small but really well decorated and the shower was powerful. The price was good for a bank holiday weekend and the breakfast was excellent - so all in all I can't complain. However if I was coming back i'd probably ask for a room in the hotel as I do like to relax when I am away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
2.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#13 of 32 in Frome
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
1.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
250 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archangel

Property: Archangel
Address: 1 King Street, Frome BA11 1BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Archangel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First recorded as an Inn in the 14th century, the Archangel has an excellent reputation for its vibrant atmosphere, warm hospitality, top quality cuisine and quirky yet first-class accommodations. The ten bedrooms are decorated in deep, rich purples and golds and include luxurious details such as sumptuous velvet curtains, zinc roll-top bathtubs and gold Florentine headboards. Facilities include flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi and Branche d'Olive toiletries. The restaurant is built into a centuries old hay barn adjacent the main house. Ancient stone walls are simply whitewashed and embrace a free-floating glass mezzanine cube. The Archangel serves top quality food using the finest locally sourced ingredients and the stylish bar gives a buzzy atmosphere offering the finest local ales and original cocktails. The Archangel is located right in the centre of Frome, a historic market town with cobbled streets. Bath is only 25-minute drive from the Archangel.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Archangel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archangel Hotel Frome
Archangel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing