We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Archangel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Archangel
Ranked #9 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a lovely stay at the Archangel. I found the staff were helpful and very friendly. I loved the room, it was very different to anything I had stayed in before but I liked the wall art and the tin bath was unusual but very nice. The room was clean and had everything you need including a fridge, kettle, TV. I didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant but I did have breakfast and on both mornings I enjoyed a perfect full English. The only downside of the stay was parking difficulty and on one of the nights we stayed there was a function on so there was quite a lot of noise. Other than that I had a perfect weekend in Frome and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livkinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback we are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the archangel again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    70
    41
    18
    13
See reviews for
25
152
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Myself and my partner recently stayed at the archangel frome. It was in in the centre of town and perfect for our trip to longleat (4miles away) limited car parking in front of the hotel and cheap,parking behind M&S near by. The room lived up to expectations, as stunning as the pictures with a beautiful roll top bath made for 2 could have done with a good clean though as it didnt smell too good a bit of zofloria wouldnt have gone a miss. Was hot but we made good use of themfan provided, fridge in room was great for picnic food and came with complimentary drinks! Also had tv and cd player and hairdryer all very handy. Hotel itself was stylish and quirky
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The ONLY things that let the hotel down were the food, though i am not sure this was just the fault of the chef as it tasted good but was served partly luke warm and partly cold which may have been the fault of waiting staff on the night which were hopeless to say the least. However the reception staff in general and waiting staff Emma and Tia (who served us on another occasion, for drinks and breakfast were excellent and an asset to the hotel. The cheese board was the best i have ever tasted. In all we were very happy with our stay but they could do with a general manager to check service and oversee certain staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review on your recent visit to the archangel. we highly value our guests feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First off, I haven't stayed at the Archangel. I'm sure the rooms are lovely. Probably. I only went there for breakfast. And wish I hadn't bothered.

My partner ordered the full English and I ordered boiled eggs with soldiers. Despite the place being nearly empty, our food took well over half an hour to arrive. The full English was fine (albeit small) but at £12 it shouldn't be fine, it should be spectacular. Plus the toast had, at best, been waved in the vague direction of a toaster. It looked like dried out bread. It tasted like dried out bread, In fact, in hindsight, I suspect it was dried out bread. The boiled eggs (£6) were served with a few strips of cold toast (no butter supplied) made from the cheapest white sliced, and a knife and fork. The cutlery choice seemed baffling at first until I attempted to eat the eggs. Once I realised the eggs had been boiled for something in the region of 1 to 2 hours (ok, it was probably a lot less but frankly with eggs that small, anything beyond three and half minutes is insane), the knife and fork made a lot more sense. I refused to eat it. I wasn't alone either. The only other customers in the place had also ordered the boiled eggs for their children and had experienced exactly the same thing.
On the plus side, the waiting staff were very friendly and took my refusal to pay with good grace.
In summary, I would advise that the food is avoided here. We did pop into the Cheese and Grain afterwards and although we didn't eat there, I have to say that their breakfasts, apart from being much cheaper, looked amazing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Samm0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for you review on your latest visit to the archangel. We highly value our feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visited mainly because of the recent review in the Times and found it disappointing. Not bad, not good just about acceptable but at £140 B&B expensive.
The bedroom was a reasonable size and acceptable, although having all the appliances in one six socket ganger ( fridge, TV, radio, fan, kettle) may not meet legal requirements and looks ugly.
The bathroom is large and funky with a large tin bath. The concept is interesting but in practice does not work. The walls are rubbed down plaster which gives an unusual effect.
The courtyard is a positive area except that the tables are not cleared very often.
The bar is a large friendly area inhabited in the evening by large numbers of local young people.
The main restaurant upstairs overlooking the bar is in good taste.
The service in all areas was friendly, helpful but tending to being unprofessional. The staff have not been taught the thin line of being too friendly and jokey as against being distant and curt. They were keen to please but too jokey.
There were a number of fundamental management errors, no tonic water in the bar at 5.45pm, so the batman has to leave a full bar to go down to the cellar to bring up some, Pinot Noir out of stock in the restaurant although it is on the current wine list, no bacon available for breakfast "until fresh stocks arrive"- is this incompetent management or one can but wonder cash flow problems.
At about 9.30 in the evening in the bar another customer wanted to complain to the Chef, the batman told him all the kitchen staff had gone home, the customer then asked to see the Duty Manager, he was told by the batman that in effect he, the batman was the Duty Manager. The complaint was handled badly.
One got the impression that there was a lack of professional management and supervision. That having converted the hotel from a pub that the job was done and that managing was not required.
The food in terms of quantity, quality and presentation was very good.
This is a slightly shambolic establishment, which is nearly but not quite there but with professional management could achieve the standard required to justify the price tag.

Room Tip: Read the Times or the Telegraph review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. we highly value our guests feedback and always look for room for improvement in areas which guests don't feel completely happy with. were sorry to hear this was the case in your recent stay however if you would like to contact us directly at the hotel we can look into this more for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were there for a night over the second bank holiday in May and it was brilliant.

There was a big wedding on, which had taken over the place, but the owner and staff could not have done more to make us feel welcome. Very friendly all around.

Were the only people not involved in the wedding, but were still invited to the reception afterwards.

Rooms were very comfortable and so can't really fault anything. For just the night, it was extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. we are pleased to hear you had a great night here with us we look forward to welcoming you again at the archangel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The room we stayed in was boiling - which meant having a bath wasn't as enjoyable as it should have been, as you could never cool down!
But the food and decor was lovely and we had a really enjoyable stay, would go back again for sure (perhaps in winter! :) )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7242lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review on your stay we are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We have since put some electrical air conditioning units in the rooms as we are aware they can get rather hot. Look Forward to welcoming you back to the archangel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The good bits. Location is in the middle of town, car parking behind M&S is easy to get to. Some really nice design touches in the way the hotel has been built and stylish, quirky decor. Nice car area and restaurants. Some really helpful staff. Room was a good size.
But.
Room was dirty, smelt of disinfectant, shower was underpowered, windows don't open or the sash is broken so its hot, and incredibly noisy. The rooms are part of the courtyard where people are drinking and smoking. Not long after midnight but long enough to be a pain. Room 8 at the end of the row is by the back of Iceland. Morning delivery starts before 6 a.m. when the lorry backs up and deliveries are then unloaded. Even with the windows closed this was awful.
Breakfast was ok but soggy black pudding, undercooked tomatoes don't make up for the early wake up.
Its a shame because it wouldn't take much loving care to sort these things. Or to make people aware and price the rooms accordingly. £90 for a Sunday night was very poor value.
Wont stay again, would go for a drink. Its a bar with rooms.

Room Tip: Dont book Room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grs3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archangelfrome, Manager at Archangel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review from your stay with us we are sorry to hear that there were some bits of your stay you weren't happy with. we value are feedback from guests and ensure we do our best to resolve the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#10 of 32 in Frome
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Merchant's House Boutique B&B
3.1 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archangel

Property: Archangel
Address: 1 King Street, Frome BA11 1BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Archangel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First recorded as an Inn in the 14th century, the Archangel has an excellent reputation for its vibrant atmosphere, warm hospitality, top quality cuisine and quirky yet first-class accommodations. The ten bedrooms are decorated in deep, rich purples and golds and include luxurious details such as sumptuous velvet curtains, zinc roll-top bathtubs and gold Florentine headboards. Facilities include flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi and Branche d'Olive toiletries. The restaurant is built into a centuries old hay barn adjacent the main house. Ancient stone walls are simply whitewashed and embrace a free-floating glass mezzanine cube. The Archangel serves top quality food using the finest locally sourced ingredients and the stylish bar gives a buzzy atmosphere offering the finest local ales and original cocktails. The Archangel is located right in the centre of Frome, a historic market town with cobbled streets. Bath is only 25-minute drive from the Archangel.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Archangel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archangel Hotel Frome
Archangel Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing