We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family stay”
Review of Windwistle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windwistle Cottage
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely family stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

From arrival to departure we were taken care of by Joy and Alan. Our room was superbly furnished, equipped and clean. Little touches like the freshly baked biscuit selection in our room and flowers was lovely. We also had a microwave and fridge in our room which was stocked with a selection of drinks. You don't need to have lunch when you've eaten one of Joy's wonderful breakfasts. A great selection of cereals, juices, fruits and yoghurts followed by cooked of your choice and toast and home made jams. All in all a perfect stay, I wish all B&B's would be like this one, a real gem. We will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here on 2 July 2012 and from the welcome tea and home made scones on arrival to the lovely comfortable bed and wonderful breakfast this was the perfect place to stay.
Joy and Alan make you feel like welcome guests in their home.
We hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyW1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in the Annex for 3 nights during September 2011. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we were made so welcome. Nothing is to much trouble for Joy and Alan to help you out. The accomodation was lovely and with all the personal touches like rock cakes, shortbread and the wide selection of cold drinks and hot beverages in our room made it an extra special stay. We loved seeing the animals outside our bedroom window in the mornings and every morning we looked forward to the absolutely outstanding breakfasts.

Location is great for visiting Longleat

The previous comments below are true. We shall be back soon, Thank you so much Joy and Alan for making our long weekend extra special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEMMA2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We were traviling as a family of four (2 adults, 8yr and 2yr) and stayed at Windwhistle for an over night break after spending a day at longleat, before heading to nearby Centre parcs. A VERY warm and freindly welcome. Joy took time to show the kids the animals (especilaly loved Pongo and Polly the pigs) and we settled in to our "room" for the night. I say "room" as it was more like a small self catering cottage, with a kitchen type area with a stocked fridge (milk, juice etc.) a microwave, plates, cups, and HOMEMADE biscuits. Staying with children in the same room can be difficult but it with space big enough for all the beds and a sofa too, it made the night very relaxing. The next morning....what a spread of a breakfast. Homemade bread, jams and perserves. A good cooked breakfast and all very informal and friendly with Joy chatting from the kitchen and serving. I can not reccommend Windwistle enough. A joy to stay.....so much we stayed a week later after a day in nearby Bath. We run a guesthouse, so can more than appreciate the work that would go into making Windwislte such a great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

From the welcoming cup and tea and cakes (homemade of course!) it was clear that our stay in this B & B was going to be a little different. Joy and Alan Chant go out of their way to make you welcome in their lovely accommodation. Each of their two rooms has a seperate entrance which for those, like us, who are a little chary of bed and breakfast, this seperation makes everything very easy.

The attention to your needs, comfort and happiness is present throughout your stay. Nothing, absolutely nothing, is too much trouble for them. The breakfast table would put many five star hotels to shame and the quality of cooking and ingredients was first rate. The little details in your accommodation show the level of care: a brand new sealed toothbrush, proper sized toiletries, lovely deep big towels. There is a thought for you every step of the way. Oh, and I forgot to mention the fridge with water, squash, myriad teas, chocolates and coffee!

The little idiosyncracies are charming: the view of the goats, pigs, chickens and ducks. The lovely garden and the garden furniture.

This is hospitality at its best. Joy and Alan love what they do and it shows. There are a good few hotel managers who could do with a stay here to show them what "hospitality" is. We arrived as strangers; we left as friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valleytravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
252 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
448 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
462 reviews
1.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#14 of 32 in Frome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windwistle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windwistle Cottage

Property: Windwistle Cottage
Address: 42 Blatchbridge | East Woodlands Road, Frome BA11 5EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Frome
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Windwistle Cottage Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing