We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food and lovely experience”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #32 of 98 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Stunning 16th Century traditional village inn with beer garden and courtyard dining, restaurant, log fires, child and dog friendly bar, private function room available for parties, events, private dining and licensed for weddings. Campsite open all year and 3 annual music festivals. Our menus change with the season and we use fresh locally sourced produce.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good food and lovely experience”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

After reading someone else's negative review I was a bit nervous about having lunch here - I shouldn't have been. Fantastic food,good service, good value an all round great place to eat. Good wide range available on the menu including vegetarian options. Compliments to the chef

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    8
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Appalling!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE! How this place has its rating I dont know? One of the worst places ive ever eaten. Food was unbelieveably bland, terrible quality and presentation was pathetic for a restaurant of any kind. But worse than the food was the manner the staff dealt with our experience! After a poor starters and giving up on the worse main courses we spoke to a staff member..who walked off!!! Then proceeded to 'moan' to the manager about us not being happy 5ft away from us! They then ignored us and gave us the bill OF THE FULL AMOUNT of £40+ absolutely atrocious DO NOT VISIT.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellatBuckland, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your meal did not meet your expectations.

You and your partner did eat all of the fishcake starter and gave no indication about a problem when your waitress cleared your plates and enquired if you had enjoyed them.

We have a company policy to check all tables 5 minutes after main courses are sent and your waitress duly checked your table half way through your meal and again you made no complaint. At the end of your meal when your waitress asked again if everything was ok only then did you complain to her. She apologised to you and said that she would speak to her manager.
On bringing your plates back into the kitchen she spoke to me and explained that you hadn’t been happy with the meal. You had ordered belly pork with Addlestones cider cream sauce for your mains – this is our number 1 best-selling dish and we have never received a complaint yet in over 600 servings. After checking your plates and seeing you had eaten half I instructed your waitress to offer you complimentary puddings, which she did – you both refused and continued to complain to her, causing a scene in front of the other diners. She then did exactly as she has been trained to do – in a professional and courteous manner she went to her manager behind the bar to relay your complaint. Her manager then came to see me in the kitchen to escalate your complaint and I duly came to see you at your table to discuss the problem and to see if we could offer you another meal, drink or anything else but you flatly refused all offers.

I did then instruct front of house to remove the cost of your starters from your bill as a good will gesture and this was duly done and explained to you by the waitress who presented your bill – You then tipped the waitress.

We pride ourselves on our quality fresh food and professional and friendly customer service and whilst we gladly welcome constructive criticism as we are always looking to further improve our customers overall experience, I do feel that on this occasion your comments (and your partners above) are unfounded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top Nosh”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very friendly staff serving a good selection of core meals and some very nice specials. The burger we saw come out is huge. Left very pleased and very full thank you.
Sat down to eat at about 7pm and it was quiet but an hour later most tables were full.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had an evening meal here with friends here last night. Food was really nice. The three times cooked chips were delicious & went well with the tender Rib-eye steak. Staff were friendly & helpful & the real ales & ciders were well kept. My only complaint was that the rare steak that I asked for was a little overdone....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pre-wedding evening”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We made an unplanned visit to The Bell on a Saturday evening in February when arrangements for our group of 20 were cancelled by another venue at short notice. We were in the area for a wedding the following day and the pub came highly recommended by the manager of the wedding venue. Arrangements were made to seat us in a semi-private area of the main bar so we still felt very much a group in this cosy, traditional pub. Surprising, given the size of our party and such a large number might have caused difficulties in any kitchen, but our food was brought to the tables in good time and served with a smile. There was a wide choice of reasonably priced dishes - everything from Chateaubriand to veggie options - with some interesting local dishes too. Our disaster was averted and we consider ourselves lucky that our first choice of venue let us down! Some great food, beers and wine served by friendly staff and good value to boot - The Bell at Buckland Dinham gets the thumbs up from us!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jil9015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 
Frome, Somerset
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing