We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, awful service”

The Bell at Standerwick
Ranked #24 of 98 Restaurants in Frome
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, awful service”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Friday night, had a great starter, very good main, but then we waited and waited and waited. It appears once you have ordered and had your main that's it your are lost in the wilderness. After waiting 25 mins after finishing our main I went to the bar to pay and leave. Serval waitresses and and elderly woman behind the bar, shame they don't move. Avoid if you want a dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CiderMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    54
    24
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice sunday lunch”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Ate here for Sunday lunch as we were invited by friends. enjoyable lunch although our food could have been warmer. Service was good we will return but at a less busy time

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenknerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

had a lovelly meal here on Saturday (16th nov) lovelly people nice and quiet which was good as I don't like niosey places when im eating like to be able to chat and hear whats being said ,when the meal came it was really presented well and good portions and tasted fabulous well worth the money will definately go again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Return”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We returned to the bell at Standerwick on Sunday 22nd September 2013. It was our 2nd visit. There were 7 in our party. The food was very good and with the specials there was lots of choice. The service was very good. I would definately return again if in Frome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I've been here twice now in the past month or so for food. Both occassions very good. Friendly staff and tasty food and a good varied menu. My kids loved it too. It's just what you want for a pub meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HEA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell at Standerwick also viewed

 

Been to The Bell at Standerwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing