We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly find!”
Review of The Bell

The Bell
Ranked #29 of 100 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly find!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Driving back from the coast to the Midlands we had 3 tired children, the staff were instantly welcoming and the place had a warm friendly vibe. Staff chatted to the girls and the homemade lasagne was delicious all enjoyed meals, especially the delicious desserts. They even made a dessert tailored to my youngest requests. All customers looked relaxed and the bar was buzzing a great find.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHanson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    54
    26
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food very reasonable prices”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We choose the light bites from the lunchtime menu, service was good, food was good at reasonable cost, not 5* but for what we paid very good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Won't go there again!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have been to this pub for a meal quite often, and enjoyed the food.
But not last night!!
We have been going there to eat on and off for the last 4 years, all we expect is a reasonable meal for the price, but what we got was a disgrace! We ordered olives and bread to share, when it came out the olives were well past their sell by date, they were so stale and the brine they were in was thick, so they were left!
We ordered the Lamb Steaks for main and after 10 minutes we were informed that they had none left, There was only one other couple in there so they weren't busy!
We ordered the Rump Steaks instead and asked for them to be cooked Medium, well when they were served the waiter had his thumb in my husbands salad, the plates were cold and the steaks were very overdone and full of gristle, not once were we asked if the meals were okay. Staff were more concerned with having a laugh with customers at the bar, needless to say we paid and left, We did complain but all we were told was that the Chef would be told. We had to go elsewhere to eat, It was a waste of nearly £40.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antiguadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Great stop off pub new owners very friendly ,helpful value for money for food. , good service ,carvey all you can eat £10 worth every penny,grill section free bottle of wine when ordering two items ,happy days

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jensen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surely I have the wrong information!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have heard that the new management are discontinuing the 'Foods from around the world' on Wednesday nights. Surely not!! I heard that this is to be replaced by a Curry Night!! .. Curry Nights are so run-of-the-mill! You can go anywhere and find a pub offering a Curry Night! What are the new management thinking of? Why not include another curry dish with the 'Around the World' menu? Not everyone likes curry, but with the selection on a Wednesday, there is something for everyone! New management, Please rethink, and dont change something that has been popular. You could find that existing customers will stay away!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell also viewed

 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing