We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a Steak.”

The Full Moon at Rudge
Ranked #51 of 100 Restaurants in Frome
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to have a Steak.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Four of our family went for a lunch time meal mid December 2013. Never been to this Pub before. What a great welcome from the staff. Very old world interior. Food was served with a smile, Chef was interested in our satisfaction. Had to be the best steaks ever from pub/restaurant. Very fair price as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    8
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The worst carvery we have ever had”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Avoid this place like the plague. We have never had a worse carvery anywhere than what was on offer on Sunday (22nd December 2013). The 'chef' was belligerent, abusive, sullen and downright rude to two members of our party. The veg were inedible to say the least, carrots and red cabbage were the consistency of mushy soup, the peas were like marbles, the sprouts like bullets, no fork was strong enough to penetrate them, the parsnips were dry and stingy and there was no gravy left, this was at 1pm. We declined any pudding and left, refusing to pay for one of the meals. The 'manageress' was not interested at all in our complaints and we were basically told to 'wind our necks in' and tough... Charming!!! We shall never, ever set foot in this dreadful place again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheStarofWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fullmoonsomerset, Owner at The Full Moon at Rudge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. We took your complaints seriously (why ever would we not?), in fact I personally asked you for details and investigated as soon as I could. We agreed that you would not pay for your meal, as you had eaten very little. The rest of the party cleared their plates and we have good feedback from other tables.
We have a reputation for good food and service, and have no reason either to serve poor quality food or to be offhand with customers. We are proud of our staff and our carvery but we are sorry that on this occasion you were unhappy with your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had pre-booked and paid for a Christmas meal for 11 people. Terrine for starters was tasteless, the smallest piece of sea bass that you could imagine and the cheesecake was frankly awful. Complained to the management who argued with us claiming that there was nothing wrong with it. Three people can't be wrong!! Others, had a chocolate tart, with no sign of chocolate apart from a drizzle of sauce on the edge of the plate and pastry that needed a steak knife to cut. The management were very much stand offish and were more than happy to argue their case knowing full well that we had pre-paid £25 for the meal. No sympathy, no empathy, no offers of another dessert. Tough luck. Plenty of other nice places nearby.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fullmoonsomerset, Owner at The Full Moon at Rudge, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are of course sorry that some of your party did not enjoy the evening. We've had a lot of positive feedback from the parties this year both at the time and via e-mail and phone calls afterwards, and would have liked you all to have had a good time too.

There was initially an issue with payment for a twelfth guest, who had booked at short notice, and then cancelled as the food was being served. We should make absolutely clear here that the payment was made in full, so thank you for that. For the record, the £25 for the evening as mentioned in the review includes a disco until midnight.

The cheesecakes were made freshly the previous day, other tables cleared their plates and we tasted them ourselves so think it was a matter of personal taste rather than any problem with the desserts. We didn't offer alternatives but the party were given a round of drinks at the bar after the meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Where locally sourced means exactly that”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

After reading a lot about this new chef and food in our local Wiltshire magazine we decided to pop in on the way to bath. The meal was simple but exceptional quality and taste. surroundings perfect for a winters afternoon . But the best thing was a sign on the wall offering locals credits for their locally grown or sourced organic produce, when we asked the staff they told us about the jams, game and fruit all brought in by the locals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geof a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good last minute stay!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Myself and my partner booked a last minute weekend stay at The Full Moon a couple of weeks back. Luckily they had a room for us, which was light and airy with a lovely cosy bed - perfect for the winter weather! We went to the restaurant for dinner and also for the Sunday roast. The burger we had in the evening was easily the best I've ever tasted (and I've eaten a few!) - succulent and full of flavour, and served with delicious chips and onion rings. The carvery was also very good quality, with plenty of choice of veg and good quality meat - makes a nice change from the 'normal' carvery you can get!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Full Moon at Rudge also viewed

 

Been to The Full Moon at Rudge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing