We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing venue for a wedding”
Review of Orchardleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchardleigh House
Ranked #3 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Amazing venue for a wedding”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Orchardleigh House was an absolute dream venue for our wedding!! The service was impeccable, the food was delicious and authentic, and every need was met to the satisfaction of our guests. The entire year leading up to the wedding, the staff there (Nicola, Claire) was always patient, polite and responsive, and our wedding planner Karl was amazing on the day and before it!! We highly recommend this venue for a memorable and wonderful wedding day. Thanks again from Christie & Jon

Room Tip: All of the rooms have unique features, so make sure the one you choose has the features you would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianaMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    30
    11
    12
    8
See reviews for
114
87
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our overall review was that Orchardleigh was an excellent venue for your wedding day, nothing was too much trouble and the staff was courteous and very helpful at all times, a lovely few days.
As a guest, I was amazed at Orchardleigh House and grounds on our arrival. We arrived the night before my nieces wedding and a lot of us stayed in the cottages around the estate. Everything was ready for us and included tea, coffee etc. in each cottage. The provision of an iron and ironing board was appreciated, even in the hotel bedrooms. We were met at the Island Church by the vicar to have a quick rehearsal with the wedding party. We checked out the wedding room and added some touches ourselves; the staff were very helpful in attending to our requests.
We moved into our rooms at Orchardleigh House on the morning of the wedding and were helped to our rooms. It was busy with the flowers, cake, table and chair decorations being attended to whilst we were having our hair and make-up done. The men met at the Golf Club for breakfast giving us time to prepare for the wedding. Karen the wedding co-ordinator made sure that we had everything we required, nothing was too much trouble including providing us with champagne buckets and glasses for the Moet to help the bride and bridesmaids chill as they got ready.
The bride & father were taken to Church in one of the Orchardleigh House Rolls Royce’s whilst the bridesmaids were attended to by a family wedding car. The chauffeur was attentive and waited during the wedding ceremony before taking the mother & father with bridesmaids to the house.
Our highlight was the helicopter again from Orchardleigh House landing in readiness to take the bride and groom to their wedding breakfast. Everything having been kept a secret by the bride’s parents made the surprise a real wow factor. The helicopter flew over whilst all the guests looked and waved in amazement at the bride and grooms enjoyment. Following the drop-off, the bride & groom were greeted with champagne in the gardens of the house. The pilot Chris then took the father and brother of the bride for a fly over the Estate, they filmed and were able to make a small video before they landed at the house.
With the Toastmaster addressing the bride and groom, we had the wedding breakfast. It was lovely and the food tasted so good. Again nothing was too much trouble if you asked for something that was a speciality to you it was done. The presentation was excellent.
In the evening a live band entertained the guests and the evening buffet of roast pork, lamb, stuffing, rolls sauces and a cheeseboard was again superb. A firework display to music was a real hit with all guests, another surprise from the bride’s parents. The bar was attended by excellent staff all evening where anything you asked for was within reason, available. Again, nothing was too much trouble and the evening management excelled with helping where possible with all queries and requests. This was even down to making cups of tea and providing de-caf late in the evening.
We went to our 4 poster bed in The Tower room which was very comfortable and I enjoyed the views from the galleries on the 3rd & 4th floors.
Breakfast was delightful with a selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and a selection of jams together with a large array of cooked bacon, sausages, egg, tomatoes, mushrooms and beans. I have most probably forgotten something as there was so much on over, something for every taste.
We were helped out with everything and the staff were helpful even though they were starting the day again for another bride and grooms dream wedding.
The only problem we could say was not 10/10 was the shower heads needed to be de-scaled. A small issue that I am sure will be resolved easily. Overall we had a lovely stay at Orchardleigh and my niece the wedding of her dreams.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie022014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I got married at Orchardleigh House last week.

We cannot thank the staff at the venue enough (particularly Karl) for making it such a wonderful day.

We filled the house and the nearby cottages so it was busy with guests however the staff all went out of their way to ensure all of our guests were well looked after and could not do enough to help.

The fact that all guests are able to stay over at the House or in the nearby cottages is such a bonus and really makes sure everyone is able to make the most of the reception and party.

We would both highly recommend Orchardleigh to anybody considering it as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had Christmas lunch at Orchardleigh House and what a wonderful day we had. Our day began in the morning watching a helicopter land in the picturesque grounds and to our delight and more importantly our children's delight, out stepped Santa. He had presents for each of our children, it was such a special treat for the whole family to experience. We went for a walk before lunch and took in the amazing scenery and wildlife and were so lucky to see the Deer in their natural habitat just meters away, it was such a lovely sight. We then had our Christmas lunch to look forward to which was as we had all hoped, tremendous! The room we ate in was absolutely beautiful and each of the five courses were delicious, the staff were also very attentive. We can't wait to come back to Orchardleigh House!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My partner and I attended a wedding here at the weekend and stayed in the Master Bens building, on the ground floor. We reserved this room with the bride around a year prior to the day of the wedding as we were travelling from Hampshire and wanted the convenience of being able to walk back to our room rather than getting a taxi to and from another hotel. The price of this room is £110 per night and we were really looking forward to staying there, however we were very disappointed to find that it did not live up to our expectations at all. Some points about the room in particular:

1. The mugs provided for tea and coffee were unclean. One of the mugs even had dried drip of coffee running down the side of it. The bowl in which the coffee, sugar and tea sachets were kept was also dirty.

2. There was hair in the shower cubicle (head and pubic) which I had to wash away. In the morning, we discovered that one of the sliding shower doors was not actually attached so it had to be propped up against the wall of the cubicle whilst taking a shower so as to avoid soaking the bathroom. The shower itself is not particularly good but it did work.

3. The pillow cases appeared to be moth-eaten.

4. There appeared to be an infestation of ladybirds. A clump of them were nestled in the top corners of the window. We were not sure if they had crawled there to die or if they were still living.

5. There were at least four live ‘bluebottle’ flies in the room.

6. There were two ironing boards, both of which had stains on the covers.

7. The heating was on full when we arrived so we turned it down to 1 on the actual radiators. When we came back from the evening do our room was still sweltering so we had to turn the heating off completely at each radiator.

8. There is an aerial socket which has become unattached from the wall. There was wiring for this and another aerial socket on the opposite side of the room, just left lying around.

9. There is what appears to be an electrical fuse box on the wall next to the bed (we did not check inside it) from which water stains are running down the wall.

10. There was a very dusty plastic bottle cap underneath one of the radiators so we were not convinced that the room had been thoroughly cleaned for some time. On top of another radiator was a button left by a previous occupant.

11. The room has access to a cupboard under the stairs to the rooms above, which is not locked. Inside this cupboard are dirty rags, extra bottles of water, the second ironing board and various other items.

12. The bed was, fortunately, comfortable but I did feel that I needed to check it was clean underneath the duvet before sleeping in it considering the general state of the room.


The main house is beautiful, with the exception of the corridor leading to where we were staying. This corridor leads to the kitchen and along the way is a staircase leading to a lower ground. This staircase appears to be a dumping ground for various objects such as dirty sheets, wellington boots, pillows. Considering that guests regularly walk along this corridor to their accommodation, I would have expected this to have been clean and tidy.

The staff were very polite and courteous throughout the day and evening. The food provided for the wedding breakfast was good (the sausages are especially brilliant), however the breakfast provided the next morning was not as appetising. The bacon was particularly salty and the toaster did not seem to toast, even after a member of staff attempted to rectify this. The hash browns were overdone. My partner and I felt unwell later in the day so I would recommend that others opt for the cereal and fruit option rather than the cooked food.

A lot of the wedding day is spent in the corridor outside of the ‘ballroom’. If you have any guests who would like to sit down in the time spent between the service, the food and the evening do then please bear this in mind. There are sofas and a couple of armchairs but seating is limited. There is a bar, which we felt was slightly overpriced. Our bride had provided nibbles so I cannot comment if there is anything other than the bar to keep you entertained when waiting in this corridor.

We did not want to upset the bride as she was staying on an extra night after the wedding so we did not make a complaint whilst we were still at Orchardleigh House. We have heard great things from our friends who stayed in the local Premier Inn after the wedding so I would recommend that others stay there rather than at Orchardleigh if you can.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fedupports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie P, Marketing Manager at Orchardleigh House, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Response from Owner: Firstly thanks for the feedback so important to us. On the morning you arrived at least half the Guests arrived at around 10.30 not after 12.00 as we request and all our literature states. This early arrival meant that the cleaning was not completed not an excuse but maybe a reason. With hindsight we should have turned everybody away and asked them to return at the proper time, then the cleaning would have been completed. It was our fault and we do apologise please call us we would like to make a refund. The heating is controlled by a thermostat on the wall not on the radiators this is documented in the Welcome Pack. I think it a little unfair to say our bar is overpriced we only charge £3.50 for a pint and most shorts, these prices are cheaper than some Pubs and we do serve till 4 or 5 am. Our room prices start at £50 for a double this is £20 cheaper than Premiere current price and without two taxi rides costing around £25-£35 depending on the time you leave the reception sometimes taxis are not available especially after 12 o clock Again thank you for your important feedback. Please contact us we were wrong and would like to refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for a wedding at the end of October and had a lovely time.

The house is amazing and full of character.

The food was nice, especially the breakfast. The staff were very attentive.

Best room we have ever stayed in, would love to come back :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSE1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I recently attended a evening do at Orchardleigh. The venue was beautiful - very tidy & felt very cosy with the open log fires.
Management (Chris) was very attentive. Day guests of the wedding raved about the wonderful food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
4.3 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brookover Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
444 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchardleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchardleigh House

Property: Orchardleigh House
Address: Orchardleigh Park, Frome BA11 2PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchardleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South West's ultimate fairy tale Wedding Venue! Nestled at the heart of 500 acres of exclusive Parkland and Lakes, Orchardleigh House is situated on a gated and private Estate, 10 miles from the historic city of Bath. This elegant 19th Century Victorian Stately Home provides the ultimate fairytale setting for your Wedding Day, surrounded by a breathtaking countryside landscape, beautiful gardens, a Croquet lawn and an 18 hole Golf Course; and offers luxurious accommodation for up to 172 guests. The enchanting array of backdrops make Orchardleigh the perfect spot throughout the seasons, with stunning gardens for basking in the Summer sunshine and cosy open fires in Winter. Within the grounds of the Orchardleigh Estate sit two magnificent Churches, for which you don't need to be from the local Parish to marry, and Orchardleigh House is fully licenced to hold Civil Ceremonies for up to 144 guests. St Mary's Church is perfectly situated on it's own little Island and, due to its secluded spot, there is no electricity supply to the Church, so Wedding ceremonies are lit purely by candlelight - sounds rather magical doesn't it? St Mary's also the only Island Church in the World that has its very own helipad! There is plenty of accommodation on the Estate, for up to 172 guests, with 44 opulent rooms in the main House and a variety of splendid Estate Lodges and Cottages. The cottages are also available to hire the evening before weddings, which is a super way of extending the celebrations. Orchardleigh offers its very own fleet of Wedding Transportation for hire on your Big Day, ranging from a 1926 Rolls Royce Phantom Cabriolet de Ville to the Bell Longranger Helicopter and provide dedicated team of wedding coordinators who will be on hand to help throughout the planning process and on your Big Day. We are proud to hold the following awards: Somerset Wedding Venue of the Year winner. Voted 9th best UK Wedding Venue by Marie Claire Magazine. Voted 2nd best UK Wedding Venue by Perfect Wedding Magazine. Awarded BA Award for Excellence for Leading the Way within the Wedding Industry. Voted 13th by the Independent Newspaper as Best National Wedding Venue. Regular Bed and Breakfast guests are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orchardleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchardleigh House Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing