We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous Somerset”
Review of Orchardleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchardleigh House
Ranked #2 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It was a wedding we were attending after all, but what a venue!

A beautiful mid Victorian country house set in acres of rolling hills. Our room was fit for royalty (of course) and possessed everything- (except a toilet brush in the bathroom). Must be health and safety gone mad!

For golfers there is an excellent course in the grounds but run by a separate management regime.

The rooms in the house were superb and hung with interesting paintings.Even a billiard room, available to guests. It felt as if you were staying in a private residence as an honored guest. Which I suppose we were!

The staff were plentiful and charming and were always available if needed.
I don't know how much the rooms cost as we didn't pay- but would return if we could afford it!

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the entrance and was guest room no1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We got married at Orchardleigh in March 2014. Having looked at numerous venues we chose Orchardleigh because they were so friendly and accommodating. Throughout the planning of the big day nothing was too much trouble and they were always available to talk to no matter how trivial the question.

Due to the distance some of our family had to travel, we rented a few of the cottages the night before. These were spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard with very comfortable beds. One tip - if you are staying the night before in the cottages, the golf club offers very good food both in the evening and for breakfast (and will serve early if you ask them to).

Due to there not being a wedding the day before ours, the staff were more than happy for us to come in early and set up and decorate so that we were not rushed on the day. On the day itself the bridal suite was immaculate and the bridal party were very well looked after. Everything ran incredibly smoothly. The only issue was that the wrong type of potato had been prepared for the breakfast but by the time we found out this had happened they had already cooked a new batch of the right potatoes (and added the wrong ones to our evening buffet) - a trivial issue but it could have been very stressful to us if it had been handled differently.

All of the food (canapes, breakfast and evening buffet) was perfect and more than sufficient. The staff were very efficient (without our knowledge they had arranged the post-ceremony Pimms into our initials on the table which was a lovely surprise) and they were more than happy for us to bring our own barrel of beer which they served to our guests for us.

The buffet breakfast served the day after the wedding was just what everyone needed, and we did not feel rushed to leave at any point despite there being another wedding the day after ours (the staff were very good at working around us without us feeling we were in the way). All of the guests commented on how lovely the venue was and those who had made it to bed had a very comfortable night.

We can't thank the staff highly enough, Particularly Karl (our wedding coordinator) and Nicola his assistant. We would definitely recommend this venue to anyone looking for a stress-free wedding.

Room Tip: Because Orchardleigh is not a hotel, the bride and groom must book and allocate the rooms to the gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here with a few friends while travelling through Somerset and had a wonderful stay here, both in the house and in one of the cottages. Lord and Lady Orchardleigh are wonderful hosts, should you be lucky enough to meet them. We were given a warm welcome and allowed to use the place like a home. The bedrooms are spacious, luxurious and comfortable, complete with fluffy slippers. There is an honesty bar and a great breakfast. I'll be going back next time I go through the west country.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DrDharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had our wedding at Orchardleigh in May this year and my sister also had hers the summer before. For both weddings we had a perfect day and the staff at Orchardleigh were always professional and efficient and ensured everything ran smoothly from the start of planning right up until the moment we left. I have since recommended the venue to two other couples who are now also having their wedding there – I can’t give a higher recommendation than that!

We hired out all the cottages the night before for 60 guests and had an afternoon tea and spit roast, as well as hiring in segways and clay pigeon shooting for the morning after the wedding. Both additional days meant we could enjoy the venue for an extended weekend and the staff were exceptional in helping us set up all the extra requirements we had.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aema_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here over a long weekend for a family wedding and stayed in one of the self catering cottages, the Dairy, and had a really lovely time. The cottage and all the other accommodation were really good and the main house provided an outstanding venue for the reception. The candle lit church was really pretty and we were able to walk everywhere which made everything very easy. I would thoroughly recommend this as a wedding venue with all the guests staying together and partying all weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We attended my sisters wedding in may. Without a doubt the bride and groom choose the most amazing venue.
The house and grounds were simply stunning. The service thoughout the day and the breakfast the following morning was exceptional.
The whole wedding was faultless and extremely well organised . Our room was superb.
We would highly recommend this venue to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LisaM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had the most fabulous wedding day at Orchardleigh House on 7th August 2014. The House and grounds are a stunning backdrop and we loved that all our friends and family could stay in one place. Garry and the staff at the House were fantastic, especially on the day, and our guests commented on how smooth and professional the service was. The groom was particularly grateful for all their help with last minute jobs before the wedding service and we both really appreciated Garry's calm and organised approach throughout the day and evening. All of our guests enjoyed their stay; they were impressed by the rooms and the quality and variety of the breakfast. We really couldn't find fault and would thoroughly recommend Orchardleigh House!

PS. The House isn't a hotel, and there is no reception desk, but it is the better for it and the staff are always on hand to help!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiger291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
194 reviews
4.3 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
496 reviews
1 mi away
Brookover Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
371 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#1 of 2 in Beckington
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchardleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchardleigh House

Address: Orchardleigh Park, Frome BA11 2PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £68 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchardleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South West's ultimate fairy tale Wedding Venue! Nestled at the heart of 500 acres of exclusive Parkland and Lakes, Orchardleigh House is situated on a gated and private Estate, 10 miles from the historic city of Bath. This elegant 19th Century Victorian Stately Home provides the ultimate fairytale setting for your Wedding Day, surrounded by a breathtaking countryside landscape, beautiful gardens, a Croquet lawn and an 18 hole Golf Course; and offers luxurious accommodation for up to 172 guests. The enchanting array of backdrops make Orchardleigh the perfect spot throughout the seasons, with stunning gardens for basking in the Summer sunshine and cosy open fires in Winter. Within the grounds of the Orchardleigh Estate sit two magnificent Churches, for which you don't need to be from the local Parish to marry, and Orchardleigh House is fully licenced to hold Civil Ceremonies for up to 144 guests. St Mary's Church is perfectly situated on it's own little Island and, due to its secluded spot, there is no electricity supply to the Church, so Wedding ceremonies are lit purely by candlelight - sounds rather magical doesn't it? St Mary's also the only Island Church in the World that has its very own helipad! There is plenty of accommodation on the Estate, for up to 172 guests, with 44 opulent rooms in the main House and a variety of splendid Estate Lodges and Cottages. The cottages are also available to hire the evening before weddings, which is a super way of extending the celebrations. Orchardleigh offers its very own fleet of Wedding Transportation for hire on your Big Day, ranging from a 1926 Rolls Royce Phantom Cabriolet de Ville to the Bell Longranger Helicopter and provide dedicated team of wedding coordinators who will be on hand to help throughout the planning process and on your Big Day. We are proud to hold the following awards: Somerset Wedding Venue of the Year winner. Voted 9th best UK Wedding Venue by Marie Claire Magazine. Voted 2nd best UK Wedding Venue by Perfect Wedding Magazine. Awarded BA Award for Excellence for Leading the Way within the Wedding Industry. Voted 13th by the Independent Newspaper as Best National Wedding Venue. Regular Bed and Breakfast guests are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orchardleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchardleigh House Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing